We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
8412 Valley Blvd, Blowing Rock, NC 28605
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Blowing Rock
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
William B
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    108
    56
    10
    6
See reviews for
117
100
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (280)
  • Mar-May only
    (48)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (92)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (106)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (34)
All months
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

It was ok but dated. there is hwy construction just in front and it was easy to miss the turn into the parking lot. the staff were friendly and our room was clean. The bed was very comfortable unlike many we have stayed in. There seems to be a newer Holiday Inn Ex just over in Boon this is also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hiexpressbr, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this review

William B, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! I am sorry to hear that your stay with us was merely okay rather than exemplary. I am very happy to hear that you found the staff to be friendly and the hotel to be clean. I am also happy to hear that you found our beds to... More 

Bristol
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed for one night during a road trip across the Appalachian Mountains. The rooms are comfortable and clean. We were looking forward to a nice swim in the pool. Unfortunately there are no changing rooms, therefore you have to shower off in your room prior to swimming and then trudge back to your room dripping wet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hiexpressbr, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this review

CandidOne, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am happy to hear that you found your room to be clean and comfortable and that you found the staff to be very friendly and professional. I am also happy to hear that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast. I am sorry to hear that you were displeased with... More 

Port Saint John, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were traveling from Florida up to Virginia and decided to make our stop for the evening at Blowing Rock. Holiday Inn had openings and so we booked us a room. The location of the hotel is in an excellent location and is very scenic. We were a little disappointed with the beds has they were really uncomfortable to sleep... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hiexpressbr, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this review

mikeyt89, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am pleased to hear that, overall, you enjoyed your stay. I am glad that you were able to enjoy some of the close-by scenic opportunities. Blowing Rock is a beautiful area! I am happy to hear that you appreciated the location of our hotel and our proximity to... More 

Raleigh, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I don't quite understand how anyone could rate this hotel with more than one star. I was in a room with a king bed. The paint was chipping off the ceiling, everywhere. There were stains on the furniture and bathroom door. There was mold in the shower. The room had an odd musty smell. The toilet seat lid does not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
hiexpressbr, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this review

Jennifer K Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the disturbance you have experienced during your stay due to the room conditions. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We value your comments and welcome the opportunity to serve you again. Please email me in a... More 

New Bern, North Carolina
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When searching for a room in Boone I compared the Holiday Inn in Boone and the one in Blowing Rock. Blowing Rock was $84.00 cheaper per day for the same stay. I have stayed at the one in Boone too. The one in Blowing Rock is just as comfortable although not quite as new. There is some highway construction going... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hiexpressbr, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this review

R_Seagle Thank you for the review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate the feedback from our guest. THe feedback we receive from the guest lets us know how we are doing. Thanks again for staying with us, we truly appreciate it. Hope to see you again soon. More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

Second time here...very clean and rooms are outstanding. Beds and linens are very comfortable and staff is friendly and helpful, they remembered us from a visit a year ago. Hotel is near several restaurants and is easy to get to.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hiexpressbr, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this review

Hondak47 Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. A positive guest experience is something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed yourself once again. Thanks again for staying with us, we truly appreciate it. Hope... More 

Asheville, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015 via mobile

We were in town for a Odyssey of the Mind state competition. This hotel was clean and had an indoor pool. Unfortunately, breakfast did not start until 7:00 am on Saturday which was a little late for us this time since we had to be at competition by 7:30. That being my only complaint, I would highly recommend it for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hiexpressbr, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. I apologize that you were not informed that we opened the breakfast at 6am to accommodate the guest that were leaving... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

We stayed for 2 night during Spring Break - I am a NC teacher. The hotel was clean, and staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good - much better than I expected. The room was comfortable and clean. Would stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
hiexpressbr, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this review

Kelljan, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay! I am happy to hear that you found your room to be clean and comfortable and the staff to be friendly and helpful. Our goal is to provide excellent accommodations and customer service and it is always great... More 

North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2015

Excellent stay- this HIExpess is super convenient to to amazing local restaurants, Both local and outlet shopping and ASU. It was considerably cheaper than the HIExpress right in Boone and we had such a quality stay- we will definitely now always choose Blowing Rock! Every single staff member we encounterd was not just helful but went above and beyond to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hiexpressbr, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this review

vjkNC, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel! I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay! I am happy to hear that you found the staff to be helpful and that you felt as if they went above and beyond to provide you with excellent service. I am also happy to hear... More 

Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

We stayed here for a long weekend and truly enjoyed the stay. The staff was very friendly and informative and the breakfast was all that was needed. Good nights sleep was had by all and we didn't even know there were others in the hotel it was so quiet. If any complaints: * we left with sinus problems - just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hiexpressbr, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, responded to this review

NCMOM1977 Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. It is feedback like this that allows us to make the changes necessary to make sure all our guest have a great experience with us. Thanks again... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

67 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (29)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities