We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bald Head Island Limited

6 Marina Wynd, Bald Head Island, NC 28461
Hotel amenities
Bald Head Island Limited
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
baldheadlady Bald Head Island, North Carolina
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    8
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
7
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (31)
  • Mar-May only
    (6)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (14)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Bald Head Island, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you are looking for a 5 star resort go the crazy hilton head, if you are looking for solitude, time to recharge with your kids come to BHI. A 20 minute ferry ride brings you 2 miles out @ sea. Sit outside but prepared to get splashed with refreshing sea water. Unload in the harbor where the nicest tram... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014 via mobile

You start off on a ferry ride to a beautiful small island. Your mode of getting around is a golf cart, they have a store and a few places to eat. It's a must do once then you will know why we keep finding ourselves going back .

Was this review helpful? Yes
BaldHeadIsland, Public Relations Manager at Bald Head Island Limited, responded to this review

We agree, it's hard to stay away from BHI! See you back on the island soon! Thank you! More 

Fayetteville, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

Marsh Madness and the Shoals Club two of my new favorite places. My daughter was married on October 11, 2014 and we booked Marsh Madness to be the "home" for my family and extended family. There is a lot to learn on your first trip to the island, ferry times, tram service etc. Once you get it you got it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BaldHeadIsland, Public Relations Manager at Bald Head Island Limited, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we are pleased to hear you all loved the island, your home, The Shoals Club, and that the wedding was awesome! We look forward to seeing you back on the island soon. More 

Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

A picture is worth a thousand words, but I will spare you. I am writing this in the hopes that others will not be deceived as I was. Cattails is a duplex on Bald Head Island. The pictures of Cattails, 3B Scotch Bonnet, on the Bald Head Island Limited Property Management website looked cute and quaint. As I was relaxing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
TrishaNC, Public Relations Manager at Bald Head Island Limited, responded to this review

We received your review with reference to Cattails. We are sorry to hear of your experience with this home. We are checking with the cleaning crew that cleaned Cattails and will question why this was overlooked. Although we did offer to send another crew to re-clean the home. We are also looking into the updating and remodeling of this home,... More 

Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

As others have noted, the ferry is often not on time and the "tram service" - which are CO2 emitting, ozone destroying pseudo-carts used to get you to your rental from the ferry terminal are disorganized and uncormfortable. This island has so much to offer, but the support staff that run it seem hell-bent on overcharging the guests while maintaining... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
TrishaNC, Public Relations Manager at Bald Head Island Limited, responded to this review

Although our ferries strive to be on time, unfortunately we are very dependent on the weather/ tide schedules and delays related to medical emergencies. I do agree our trams are not very comfortable but they do serve the ambiance of the island and they are used for such short trips. They are the only gas powered vehicles you would be... More 

Bald Head Island, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

My son just got married at BHI club and we had a great rehearsal party with a band at the shoals. Everyone from the tram guys to guest services and the clubs went out of their way to give my guests a wonderful time! It was so great my daughter just got engaged and we are having her wedding in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
TrishaNC, Public Relations Manager at Bald Head Island Limited, responded to this review

Wonderful feedback! We are thrilled to hear everything went well and fell right into place for your son's wedding and the family attending! Looking forward to seeing you all back this year for your daughters wedding and we're very confident that everything will be just as wonderful and memorable for your daughters wedding as it was for your sons. More 

Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

Having been recommended highly we ventured to this remote island location only to start paying exceptionally high prices starting with parking at ferry then the ferry charges to and from island. Was very disappointed in the entire stay starting with check-in. Value very poor, remote, poor service at all dining venues. Will not be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 17
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Small but quite adequate for two. (No service was required.) Restaurants a little lacking, but food at the club (optional membership) is good. No cars - just golf carts (provided). Recommended. We will return.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TrishaNC, Public Relations Manager at Bald Head Island Limited, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We hope to see you back on the island soon. More 

Deep River, Connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

A great place to vacation with the whole family far from noise and bustle. Long, long beaches and no cars makes it peaceful and relaxing. The homes available are excellent and the company makes it easy to sort out arrangements.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TrishaNC, Public Relations Manager at Bald Head Island Limited, responded to this review

Great feedback! Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. More 

Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Unless you have a boat, the only way to reach BHI is the poorly managed ferry. As other reviews indicate, it does not run on time. We arrived at the ferry 10 minutes before the scheduled departure, and the ferry had just left for the previously scheduled departure, meaning it was 50 minutes late. The ferry was nearly empty so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
TrishaNC, Public Relations Manager at Bald Head Island Limited, responded to this review

Bald Head Island Transportation, Inc. takes our commitment to customer service and safety seriously. Without further details from you, such as the date and time of travel, we cannot provide anything more than a general statement as to how we were unfortunately unable to satisfy your commute. Our service is subject to many of the same influences as any transportation... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
2:50
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question