We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hungry Trout Resort

Certificate of Excellence
5239 Route 86, Wilmington, NY 12997
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Hungry Trout Resort
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
The Hungry Trout Resort
Add Photo Write a Review

83 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    49
    24
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
26
30
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (83)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (32)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (21)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Hungry Trout earns its reputation and bragging rights due to their fly shop and fishing guides. I researched their website and inquired about their advertised fish and stay packages. I was told to book a room and contact the fly shop. So for us there was no "package", but the idea was to provide my husband (celebrating his birthday)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My only complaint about this "resort" term used loosely, is that my boyfriend called ahead to confirm our reservation but when we arrived it turned out that we didn't have a room for the first night. Turns out there was another reservation for someone with a very similar name for the period of time we were planning to stay. Since... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pocono Pines, Pennsylvania, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There is a path behind the property where you can walk to the river for fly fishing and mushroom hunting. When we were there, the water was very high and it was gusting down the river. Being a beginner of fly fishing, I was disappointed that I could not fish there upon arrival early afternoon. The room was clean, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rutland, Vermont
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015

What a wonderful hotel, friendly staff, clean and has everything I need. This area is beautiful, Whiteface Mountain close, lots to see, and they have a restaurant on the property, prices very reasonable, and they are pet friendly, low cost of 15 dollars for my dog!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Myersville, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Stayed here March 14th and 15th. I took my 12 year old son skiing. This was our 3rd trip of the year. Having the whole family, we had stayed in town on our prior visits. This place is perfect if you are just interested in skiing sleeping and eating. Actually there is a pub on site as well. Not to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

I stayed at the Hungry Trout during the NCAA skiing championship weekend at Whiteface. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable and I never heard a peep from my neighbors. The bathroom had a nice big shower head. The wifi was blazing fast and free. And being so close to Whiteface meant getting 20 more minutes of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
natparker
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

Very nice motel near Whiteface Mountain. Rooms were clean and well-maintained. Beautiful location. Wish a breakfast was included. Glad it had free Wi-Fi.Two restaurants on premises. Only ate in the pub so far which we have enjoyed many times. Looking forward to trying the more formal dining next time, although it does look a little pricey. Would be nice for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nesconst
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

Really...when I found this place online I told my husband we have to stay here...it's called the hungry trout!! We all love the name and Everyone I told about it thought it was a great name too. The place is clean and the woman who checked us in was very helpful when I picked her brain about whiteface mountain, skiing,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Woodstock, Vermont
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

Had a great time hunting Birds with Ed & Jerry - they worked us and the dogs hard and I didn't get skunked !! The accommodations were simple but served our needs and the dinners in their restaurant were the gourmet meals they advertised

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

We were enjoying a beautiful Lake Placid long weekend and thought it would be nice to enjoy some fine dining. Not at The Hungry Trout! Five of us dined at this restaurant the bill was roughly $200.00 American. I felt this was poor value. The chef apparently does not know that all food ordered unless otherwise specified should be properly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JerryBot, Owner at The Hungry Trout Resort, responded to this review

This review sounds like it was entered by either a disgruntled former employee or a sour competitor as two nearly verbatim reviews were entered under different names on the same date. If, however, that is not the case, we are humbled to accept the review as a particularly bad moment in my and our kitchen's recent past. However, our steaks... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (38)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmington
2.1 mi away
Mountain Brook Lodge
Mountain Brook Lodge
#1 of 9 in Wilmington
5.0 of 5 stars 223 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
9.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mountain Lake Inn
1.9 mi away
Alpine Country Inn & Suites
Alpine Country Inn & Suites
#2 of 9 in Wilmington
5.0 of 5 stars 47 reviews
8.9 mi away
Placid Bay Inn
Placid Bay Inn
#3 of 17 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 stars 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay