We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hungry Trout Resort

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
5239 Route 86, Wilmington, NY 12997
The Hungry Trout Resort
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    22
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
25
28
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (79)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (29)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (21)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
Myersville, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here March 14th and 15th. I took my 12 year old son skiing. This was our 3rd trip of the year. Having the whole family, we had stayed in town on our prior visits. This place is perfect if you are just interested in skiing sleeping and eating. Actually there is a pub on site as well. Not to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Milford, Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed at the Hungry Trout during the NCAA skiing championship weekend at Whiteface. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable and I never heard a peep from my neighbors. The bathroom had a nice big shower head. The wifi was blazing fast and free. And being so close to Whiteface meant getting 20 more minutes of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
natparker
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

Very nice motel near Whiteface Mountain. Rooms were clean and well-maintained. Beautiful location. Wish a breakfast was included. Glad it had free Wi-Fi.Two restaurants on premises. Only ate in the pub so far which we have enjoyed many times. Looking forward to trying the more formal dining next time, although it does look a little pricey. Would be nice for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nesconst
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

Really...when I found this place online I told my husband we have to stay here...it's called the hungry trout!! We all love the name and Everyone I told about it thought it was a great name too. The place is clean and the woman who checked us in was very helpful when I picked her brain about whiteface mountain, skiing,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Woodstock, Vermont
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

Had a great time hunting Birds with Ed & Jerry - they worked us and the dogs hard and I didn't get skunked !! The accommodations were simple but served our needs and the dinners in their restaurant were the gourmet meals they advertised

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

We were enjoying a beautiful Lake Placid long weekend and thought it would be nice to enjoy some fine dining. Not at The Hungry Trout! Five of us dined at this restaurant the bill was roughly $200.00 American. I felt this was poor value. The chef apparently does not know that all food ordered unless otherwise specified should be properly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JerryBot, Owner at The Hungry Trout Resort, responded to this review

This review sounds like it was entered by either a disgruntled former employee or a sour competitor as two nearly verbatim reviews were entered under different names on the same date. If, however, that is not the case, we are humbled to accept the review as a particularly bad moment in my and our kitchen's recent past. However, our steaks... More 

Middletown, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

This hotel is one of my favorite places ... and from me, that's quite an endorsement. I travel at least once a month and am fortunate to go some pretty amazing places. The rooms are very nicely appointed in a warm, woodsy ambiance, with very old fashioned (note I do mean "old-fashioned" and NOT "old") pine-related and deep forest green... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sudbury, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

Great place to share good times with friends! Jerry & Linda are consumate hosts, making our stay in the gorgeous surroundings perfect. Siiting on the patio of the Pub overlooking the beautiful river with outdoor fire chimneys warming us was a fun place to gather. And food in both the fine dining restaurant & the Pub was delicious.I'd give it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

The rooms are comfortable, spacious, and clean. The staff is great and we felt comfortable from the minute we stepped out of the truck! Great setting and the Pub is a neat place to eat. Folks in the fly shop were terrific.

Was this review helpful? Yes
France
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We've been going here every July for the past five or six years and it just keeps getting better. The owners take great care of the place . In the past, we've stayed at other places but this is by far the best! Everthing is ok

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (38)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question