We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

Oceans Resort Whitianga

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
18 Eyre Street | 50 Metres Down the Drive, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    47
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
70
162
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (289)
  • Mar-May only
    (93)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (49)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (61)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (86)
All months
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My daughter recommended this property and having stayed I can understand why! We were given a 2 story town home with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms (one with a bath tub - not that common in many hotels), a kitchen, living and laundry room. It was immaculate, the hosts were very welcoming and helpful and understanding of the fact that we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed there for 2 nights during our ANZ trip in april 2015. The apartments are pretty good, but the one we had was pretty old. I think there are newer ones that looked much better. Still everything we needed was there and working. It was very spatious, and pretty clean. The carpet was getting very old, and needs to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
melbourne
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

We were welcomed and shown the apartment. We were taken back when we saw the ground floor with a bed room in the garage. mid level was fine - good size kitchen and dining space, upstairs to the master bedroom and kids room (they were relived they would not be staying in the garage). Our issues - kitchen appliances did... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

We stayed for one night whilst on a NZ Babymoon road trip. The location was fantastic and we had an apartment with a view to the bay. Outstanding service from the onsite management, couldn't have been happier with the stay. Thanks Pam for the coffee spot recommendation! you were right! :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
switzerland
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
62 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2015

The Ocean Resort has privately owned and decorated Townhouse units and are maintained, managed and rented through a onsite reception. Each apartment is slightly different, so I refer to my No. 61. The ground floor with garage and the entrance, a private laundry/dryer area and a garden view bedroom. Upstairs you find a fully equipped open plan family kitchen, dining... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
North East England
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
71 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015 via mobile

We booked a one bedroomed apartment and in fact got a two bedroomed one and were just asked not to use the second room. The apartment was spacious with a large fully fitted kitchen and sitting area and also our bedroom and bathroom all on the first floor. Everything was very clean and the apartment was serviced every day. On... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Birmingham
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
44 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

Whitianga is the best base for a Coromandel trip being in the largest of the small towns with the most locations. These time shares are really good in principle but you have to carefully select which you stay in as they all have a different outlook. We stayed in lodge 16. The main issue with this one is nothing to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment. We booked this place as it came with a washing machine and we'd been travelling a week and were boarding a cruise ship the next day so desperately needed to wash. The washing machine was on the ground floor in the garage, along with detergent, clothes rack, pegs etc - everything we needed.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wales
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
74 hotel reviews
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

I was blown away when I entered the accommodation. The rooms were tastefully decorated and contained everything you would want. balconies at the front and back of the property. Sadly views of the ocean were only available from the bedroom but then you only had to walk 100 yards and you were on the sea front. The only downside was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

We arrived after 2pm to be treated terribly by the reception lady. She was really rude to us and made us feel unwelcome. As we booked with Agoda she kept commenting that Agoda wouldn't be paying them until the end of our stay. She tried to charge us an additional $20.00 for having one child stay in a two bedroom... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
oceans18, Manager at Oceans Resort Whitianga, responded to this review

Hi PaulM, Thanks for your review. I'm sorry things were made a bit tricky for your reservation. When you booked through agoda, you booked for 3 people but then arrived with 4 guests, changing the bedding configuration (and price) you had been allocated. It was very awkward for me to then show you through 4 apartments until we found one... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

81 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (59)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay