We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

Oceans Resort Whitianga

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
18 Eyre Street | 50 Metres Down the Drive, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    46
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
69
160
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (286)
  • Mar-May only
    (90)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (49)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (61)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (86)
All months
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for one night whilst on a NZ Babymoon road trip. The location was fantastic and we had an apartment with a view to the bay. Outstanding service from the onsite management, couldn't have been happier with the stay. Thanks Pam for the coffee spot recommendation! you were right! :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
switzerland
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
62 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Ocean Resort has privately owned and decorated Townhouse units and are maintained, managed and rented through a onsite reception. Each apartment is slightly different, so I refer to my No. 61. The ground floor with garage and the entrance, a private laundry/dryer area and a garden view bedroom. Upstairs you find a fully equipped open plan family kitchen, dining... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
North East England
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
71 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We booked a one bedroomed apartment and in fact got a two bedroomed one and were just asked not to use the second room. The apartment was spacious with a large fully fitted kitchen and sitting area and also our bedroom and bathroom all on the first floor. Everything was very clean and the apartment was serviced every day. On... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Birmingham
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
44 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Whitianga is the best base for a Coromandel trip being in the largest of the small towns with the most locations. These time shares are really good in principle but you have to carefully select which you stay in as they all have a different outlook. We stayed in lodge 16. The main issue with this one is nothing to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment. We booked this place as it came with a washing machine and we'd been travelling a week and were boarding a cruise ship the next day so desperately needed to wash. The washing machine was on the ground floor in the garage, along with detergent, clothes rack, pegs etc - everything we needed.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wales
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
73 hotel reviews
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was blown away when I entered the accommodation. The rooms were tastefully decorated and contained everything you would want. balconies at the front and back of the property. Sadly views of the ocean were only available from the bedroom but then you only had to walk 100 yards and you were on the sea front. The only downside was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We arrived after 2pm to be treated terribly by the reception lady. She was really rude to us and made us feel unwelcome. As we booked with Agoda she kept commenting that Agoda wouldn't be paying them until the end of our stay. She tried to charge us an additional $20.00 for having one child stay in a two bedroom... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
oceans18, Manager at Oceans Resort Whitianga, responded to this review

Hi PaulM, Thanks for your review. I'm sorry things were made a bit tricky for your reservation. When you booked through agoda, you booked for 3 people but then arrived with 4 guests, changing the bedding configuration (and price) you had been allocated. It was very awkward for me to then show you through 4 apartments until we found one... More 

Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in a three bedroom apartment, which had all the facilities you could ask for. Modern decor, spread over three levels. The entry level contained a bedroom, ensuite and laundry, the second level had the lounge and full kitchen facilities and the top level contained two bedrooms and bathroom. This is an ideal place to stay for both a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed here two nights on a visit to New Zealand. Clean, spacious, well-equipped suite with kitchen, living area, bedroom and laundry. Just a few steps to the beach and a short walk to the town centre and the marina. The woman who checked us in was very helpful. There is wifi available in the suites, but it is quite... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

When you book a nonaffiliated hotel on the beach you expect an "eclectic" experience. I was very pleasantly surprised by this well-appointed, well furnished two bedroom apartment. The lounge/kitchen area was modern and supplied with all the amenities needed for stylish self-provisioning. The large windows had balconies either overlooking the ocean or a small garden. On the upper floor there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

81 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (59)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question