We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 18 Whitianga hotels

Oceanside Motel Whitianga

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   32 Buffalo Beach Road | Whitianga, Whitianga, New Zealand
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free, Sky TV, WIFI.
Oceanside Motel Whitianga

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Agoda.com Orbitz.com
and 6 more sites!
89%
Ranked #5 of 18 hotels in Whitianga
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
sydney011 London, United Kingdom
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    19
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
41
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Alan and Jo are Friendly Helpful people. I left some jewellery behind which the found and sent back to England for me. Highly Recommend to all. Clean accommodation with great views. A lovely walk to the Harbour too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alan and Jo M, Owner at Oceanside Motel Whitianga, responded to this review

Sydney, Thanks for excellent review. Very glad to hear that your jewelry arrived safe and sound. Next time in NZ please make sure you stay at the Oceanside, we would love to host you again! More

Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We had a ground-floor apartment, but still enjoyed great views of Buffalo Beach. Had separate bedroom and living room/kitchen plus outdoor space. Bathroom facilities a bit disjointed, but suited us fine. Very clean and well-equipped. Shame we only had one night there. Easy walk into town and located in a very pleasant area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alan and Jo M, Owner at Oceanside Motel Whitianga, responded to this review

Frank n Fair, Thanks for taking the time to submit a great review. We agree, superb sea views and cleanliness are the points of difference for the Oceanside. We look forward to hosting you again. More

SE England
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
66 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We had an upstairs Executive Studio and the star of the show is definitely the view over the road to the sea from the large, mainly covered, balcony. In general the room was well furnished and equipped and of a good size. The bath with a shower over is raised and there is a step to get into it and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alan and Jo M, Owner at Oceanside Motel Whitianga, responded to this review

Brusk, Thanks for fine review. I agree the sea views from upstairs are spectacular, and a nice quiet location. Please come again More

Marton, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

Top location, just cross the road from the beach, and view from the room straight up the bay. Just cross the road and great surf casting, pretty much on your doorstep. The hosts were great too. Only downer was the strange setup in the bathroom. Short walk to shops, restaurants etc.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alan and Jo M, Owner at Oceanside Motel Whitianga, responded to this review

Muzzanaz, Thanks for great review. I hope you managed to land a fish or two off the balcony! Please come again. More

Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
91 hotel reviews
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

This is a spruce, modern motel with picture windows/balcony overlooking the sea with fine views. It is quietly situated, yet only a few minutes from restaurants, shops, etc. Having toured the whole peninsula we were glad we stayed in Whitianga, and would not hesitate to return here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alan and Jo M, Owner at Oceanside Motel Whitianga, responded to this review

Thanks for excellent review and glad to see you enjoyed the Oceanside experience. More

Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I booked this for us as a last rest before travelling onto Auckland. View was spectacular and accomodation very comfortable the owners were great and helpful. Ideal location for the coromandel and not too far from the hot beach and cathederal cove, location is very quiet would recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alan and Jo M, Owner at Oceanside Motel Whitianga, responded to this review

Brusk, Thanks for excellent review. You should always leave the best to last, now you will have to come back! More

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as we stopped to see the coromandel. I wouldn't have typically booked this place as it was a bit far from hot water beach and cathedral cove, and was the only accommodation I could book the night before. The view was amazing, viewing out over a beautiful and calm beach. I wouldn't expect the beach to look... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alan and Jo M, Owner at Oceanside Motel Whitianga, responded to this review

Matt, Sorry we cannot alter our location to be closer to Cathedral Cove! We have however a prime beachfront location with superb views as you described. Our pricing I believe is spot on as evidenced by our 98% occupancy for Feburary We look forward to hosting you again. More

Formby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

The owners were great and very helpful and the location is great, but our room was nothing special. The bedroom itself was small (space for only one bedside table) and there was no wardrobe. The toilet and shower were also compact, with the hand basin in the corridor. We would probably look elsewhere on our next visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alan and Jo M, Owner at Oceanside Motel Whitianga, responded to this review

Very sorry to read your review, our first average review in over two years. I wish you had come to us with your concerns as we could have possibly upgraded you. A couple of points to note, all bedrooms have wardrobes, and this is the first comment we have had on bedroom sizes. These One Bedroom units are our most... More

Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my elderly parents in early Feb 2014. Picked this hotel for the view of Buffalo Beach and value for money and was not disappointed. Our visit was only 2 nights but the sunrise breakfasts and sunset dinners were amazing. All the creature comforts were supplied and I had no issues with the wifi. Also, try "fush and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alan and Jo M, Owner at Oceanside Motel Whitianga, responded to this review

Culturaldiva, Many thanks for excellent review. I agree, our view is one of our point of difference from our competitors and thanks again for highlighting this. Please come again. More

Tadworth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic location in a lovely town. We enjoyed the warmest of welcomes and would not hesitate to recommend. All facilities incl. laundry, wifi etc are available. Great views, great people and a hop, skip and jump to the sea!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alan and Jo M, Owner at Oceanside Motel Whitianga, responded to this review

Hi Steve, Glad to see you had a great time at the Oceanside, even the sea was warm! Many thanks for taking the time to post a superb review. More

Been to Oceanside Motel Whitianga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanside Motel Whitianga

Address: 32 Buffalo Beach Road | Whitianga, Whitianga, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > The Coromandel > Whitianga
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 hotels in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oceanside Motel Whitianga 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Oceanside Motel Whitianga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceanside Motel Whitianga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Oceanside Motel Whitianga to your Saves list