We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oceanside Motel Whitianga

Hotel website
32 Buffalo Beach Road | Whitianga, Whitianga, New Zealand
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

125 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This accommodation is absolutely fantastic. Alan & Jo obviously take pride in all that they do to make your stay memorable. Everything is spotless and the bed linen beautiful to sleep in. It overlooks the beach which is just over the road. Kayaks and body boards are available to use free of charge. Loads of parking at the rear. Highly... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stephen F
Alan and Jo M, Owner at Oceanside Motel Whitianga, responded to this review

Stephen, We really appreciate your superb review. Great to see you enjoyed the Oceanside points of difference, location, and cleanliness. Please come again. More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here recently for 4 nights with my wife and son. The main selling point of the motel is the stunning sea view from the balconies on the first floor. It is really breathtaking, especially the sunrises. It is about a 10 minute walk into the centre of Whitianga. Room is spacious and comfortable but in need of a bit... More 

Helpful?
Thank djsage86
Alan and Jo M, Owner at Oceanside Motel Whitianga, responded to this review

Thanks for really positive review. We agree the Oceanside point of difference is the location and the sea views. our climate is such that air conditioning is rarely needed, the ranch sliders do provide a cooling sea breeze. We would love to host you again More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We can't add much more to the previous reviews .... Yes - spotless, large and perfect location .... They even threw in a sunset when the weather wasn't great. 😊 if you are downstairs you do hear the walking and moving of chairs (?) from upstairs but it didn't really matter. Just a little warning - the toilet door is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Aliyore
Alan and Jo M, Owner at Oceanside Motel Whitianga, responded to this review

Thanks Aliyore for excellent review. Glad you enjoyed your time at the Oceanside, please come again! More 

New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2016

We paid to have the executive upstairs suite which included a spa bath, kitchenette, queensize bed and balcony overlooking Buffalo Beach. The room was clean and tidy and the host friendly and informative about the facilities in the room and town. Unfortunately during our stay we were rudely awoken in the early hours of the morning by the smoke alarm... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jill S
Alan and Jo M, Owner at Oceanside Motel Whitianga, responded to this review

Jill S, Thanks for your review. The smoke alarm was unfortunate but difficult for us to control. The wine carrier I accept, we did source another one for you but you left before the reception opened in the morning. More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2016

We stayed at this place twice during 2013 X'mas holidays (we the couple) and 2014 X'mas holidays (with children and grand child). The place is fabulous Comfortable studio a good size bed, a couch, settees, garden chairs and tables. The rooms we stayed on level 1 had a huge balcony and the view from the rooms is unbeatable. The hosts... More 

Helpful?
Thank Samuel T
Alan and Jo M, Owner at Oceanside Motel Whitianga, responded to this review

Samuel T, We really appreciate your detailed review. Very pleasing to hear that the Oceanside points of difference we pride ourselves on and enjoyed by you and your family. We certainly hope to see you next Xmas holidays! More 

Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2015

A really nice motel with excellent accomodation and facilities, positioned right across the road from the beach. The hosts were really friendly and helpful. Would definatley stay here again if visiting the area and would recommend to family and friends.

Helpful?
Thank travellercs2015
Alan and Jo M, Owner at Oceanside Motel Whitianga, responded to this review

Very pleasing to hear travellersc2015, that you would gladly recommend the Oceanside. Thanks for that and we would love to host you again in the future. More 

Perth, WA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2015

We stayed the first time at Oceanside Motel 5th/6th November 2015; it's in a fantastic location, with terrific ocean views that you can't help but relax. This motel is well kept, neat and tidy and excellent value. We experienced both a ground floor deluxe unit, (Unit 4); and a ground floor standard unit, (Unit 1). Both are extremely well equipped... More 

Helpful?
Thank BarbGrae
Alan and Jo M, Owner at Oceanside Motel Whitianga, responded to this review

BarbGrae, Thanks for the perfect review! Next time in Whitianga let us know and we will ensure a good deal awaits you at the Oceanside. More 

Bendigo, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2015

Booked last minute, got a great deal. Totally rapt with our room. Clean, spacious, well appointed. Fantastic view out front door across the ocean. Only a short 5 minute stroll to the shops, with the beach directly across the road. Stayed two nights and will definitely stay again on returning to Whitianga. Staff over-the-top helpful.

Helpful?
Thank Cindy N
Alan and Jo M, Owner at Oceanside Motel Whitianga, responded to this review

Thanks Cindy, Great to see you enjoyed the Oceanside experience, please come again! More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2015 via mobile

After checking in, the owner brought us to our room and ask us if we're happy with the place. We stayed in a one bedroom with a double bed and a sofa bed. There's kitchenette and a big outdoor space overlooking the sea. The room is clean and tidy with all necessity. Second floor is a suite and can be... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ChDamien
Alan and Jo M, Owner at Oceanside Motel Whitianga, responded to this review

Thanks Ch Damien for your excellent review, great to see our points of difference, cleanliness and sea views are appreciated. We would love to host you again, More 

Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2015

Stayed 2 nights. We really enjoyed our stay here, the location is perfect, the staff were very friendly and helpful and the only negative is that the outside light was left on all night and this shone straight into our bedroom window. Would certainly stay again.

Helpful?
Thank Scarlet45Australia
Alan and Jo M, Owner at Oceanside Motel Whitianga, responded to this review

What a great review, much appreciated Scarlett 45. Nice to see you enjoyed your Oceanside experience, shame you did not mention the light issue to us, we would have been happy to have turned it off for you. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

72 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (50)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
View from room (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
0.4 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 stars 352 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baileys at the Beach Motel
Baileys at the Beach Motel
#7 of 18 in Whitianga
4.0 of 5 stars 36 reviews
12.1 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
0.9 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 stars 255 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 stars 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay