We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 38 Whitianga B&Bs / inns

Ferry Landing Lodge

Save
You added Ferry Landing Lodge to your Saves list
1169 Purangi Rd | Ferry Landing, Whitianga 3591, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Ferry Landing Lodge
Ranked #8 of 38 Whitianga B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitianga
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    21
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
40
103
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (159)
  • Mar-May only
    (59)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (6)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (78)
All months
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We found our stay here poor value for money, ungenerous and a slightly odd experience. Breakfast of a little cereal and toast with no further choices was not adequate. We were given no peace at breakfast and felt talked at. The bedroom was out of date and like a dark and dingy cave. The accommodation was not up to description... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
recycled-rockandroll, Owner at Ferry Landing Lodge, responded to this review

Jenny, Thank you for taking time to provide feedback. We were very surprised to read your comments as your disappointment was certainly not visible. Its a shame you didn't say something at the time as we could have addressed the issues you raise which are addressed below. 1) Poor Value; we provide excellent value. 150+ reviews & 5 stars are... More 

Poissy, Ile-de-France, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

very quiet, alongside the water, charming welcome from the owners, great breakfast, large appartment for 5 (sunflower), very convenient to go quickly for dinner in whitianga, available kayak and close to the beaches - we highly recommend !

Was this review helpful? Yes
recycled-rockandroll, Owner at Ferry Landing Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback, kind words and for recommending us. It was lovely to meet you all and a pleasure to share our little corner of Coromandel with you. Best wishes for 2015 and your trip around New Zealand. More 

Makassar, Indonesia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A fab trip to the Coromandel where Ferry Landing Lodge was the perfect base and Pam and Rob fantastic hosts. They were excellent looking after the littlest member of our crew (18 months) and we loved the breakfast spread and informative walk with Rob, as well as all the tips and maps to the local area. Great hosts and place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
recycled-rockandroll, Owner at Ferry Landing Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your lovely words. We really enjoyed meeting you all and your little Henry 'captured' the hearts of all of us! Such a delightful little boy who is amazing for his age. Glad to provide the informative walk, tips and maps and glad the 'healthy' breakfast was enjoyed. Thank you for 'highly recommending' us. Happy New Year... More 

Ascot, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were warmly welcomed by Pam and Rob who made us feel very much at home. We stayed in Sunflower Cottage, being part of the main house, which was very spacious for our family of four adults. Pam and Rob are very genial hosts around the breakfast table with a wealth of knowledge and suggestions for places to visit. This... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
recycled-rockandroll, Owner at Ferry Landing Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely comments. Its always been such a pleasure to meet travellers enjoying the beautiful Coromandel countryside so its been easy to share our little 'corner of paradise' with mainly overseas guests. New Zealanders have always known of the 'specialness' of the Coromandel Peninsula and in the last 13 years we have seen it grow as a tourist... More 

Switzerland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely and quiet accommodation with a splendid view down to the harbour, especially when staying in the Harbour View Suite. Just 2 minutes walk from where a regular ferry service takes you in 3 minutes across to Whitianga (operating from early morning till late at night). Healthy breakfast buffet to start your day off with. Pam and Rob will give... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
recycled-rockandroll, Owner at Ferry Landing Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to add your feedback. I enjoyed viewing your travel blog, even before you came and still able to follow it! Looks like you are having a wonderful time too. We are glad we had the opportunity to host your Coromandel holiday. Happy New Year to you both. More 

Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent location - nicest people ever - also one of the cleanest B&B I've visited. Make sure and take the ferry across the bay for dinner- also check out the walk to the PA behind the B&B. Breakfast was very nice - all handmade jams.

Was this review helpful? Yes
recycled-rockandroll, Owner at Ferry Landing Lodge, responded to this review

Happy New Year to you both. Thank you kindly for your feedback which is always appreciated. I thought I better explain your "-it wont last long!" comment to other travellers reading these reviews. Ferry Landing Lodge, bed and breakfast family accommodation near Hot water beach and Hahei, will be closing the doors at the end of this summer. The new... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

We recently stayed in the Sunflower Cottage, and for the first time in a long time I wanted to wake with the birds... just so I could hear them ! The surrounding gardens of the lodge are just beautiful and having the ferry so close is excellent as you can be enjoying your coffee in one of Whitianga's Cafes within... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
recycled-rockandroll, Owner at Ferry Landing Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely comments. When someone else see and feels about a place the way we do, its synergy. So much natural beauty surrounds us in this secluded little peaceful paradise. The NZ birds that frequent the bush, the wood pigeons that 'use the drive' as a 'flight-path' , the abundant fruit waiting to be bottled, its a an... More 

London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

We stayed at Ferry Landing Lodge in November for 4 nights. The location is truly beautiful, as our room overlooks the river the township of Whitianga. It's a lovely quiet spot, private, and not overrun with tourists. We enjoyed the company of our hosts Rob and Pam, as we shared brekkie together and talked at length. Pams variety of home... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
recycled-rockandroll, Owner at Ferry Landing Lodge, responded to this review

It was lovely to meet you both, and we're so glad you joined us for the rocknroll class at the Mercury Bay Club in Whitianga. You were great participants, picking up a couple of group dances really well. Everyone enjoyed meeting you both. November is a lovely time of year before the population 'swells'. Even when summer is at its... More 

St. Albans, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

Stunning location, loved the home made muesli, fruit and jams, great welcome and Rob and Pam's really helpful guidance about the history, life and what to do in the area. Enjoyed Shakespeare's Cliff, Cathedral Cove and Hot Water Beach all in a day, following the sunshine!

Was this review helpful? Yes
recycled-rockandroll, Owner at Ferry Landing Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks Martin, for your lovely comments. So glad you enjoyed your very brief visit to the Coromandel and glad that we were able to add to the experience. And even though the weather wasn't perfect, you still managed to stay dry and squeeze a lot into the time you had. The weather this week has been 'perfect', isn't it always,... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014 via mobile

Ferry Landing Lodge is a fantastic place to stay. Everything is of a very high standard and the facilities and cleanliness can not be faulted. The breakfast was generous and delicious with homemade muesli, a wide selection of homemade jams and marmalade as well as beautiful fresh fruit. Pam and Rob are very helpful and knowledgable about the area and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
recycled-rockandroll, Owner at Ferry Landing Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you Julie for your lovely comments and recommendation. The weather wasn't that great but you still found plenty to do and it was great having you here. Thanks again. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Ferry Landing Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferry Landing Lodge

Address: 1169 Purangi Rd | Ferry Landing, Whitianga 3591, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3

115 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (52)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (63)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Family/play areas (20)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay