We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 18 Whitianga hotels

Admiralty Lodge Motel

5.0 of 5 Motel   |   69-71 Buffalo Beach Road | P.O. Box 123, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Admiralty Lodge Motel to your Saves list
Admiralty Lodge Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
93%
Ranked #5 of 18 hotels in Whitianga
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Amy f
  • Overview
  • Reviews (145)
  • Photos (44)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (47)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

145 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    103
    33
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
31
81
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stumbled across this hotel as a one-night stopover point, and couldn't leave! Just kept on adding days to our vacation so we could enjoy the luxurious accommodations and the warm hospitality of the manager and staff. One of the best parts was sleeping each night to the sound of the gentle waves on the beach across the street. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stylish and clean apartments. Great spa bath with lots of room. Great sea views and comfy beds. Area outside for smokers. We had no problem with traffic noise. Everything you could want in a hotel for a weekend away.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zwijndrecht, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and the location was a bit disappointing. It’s indeed opposite Buffalo Beach, however with Highway 25 in front of the hotel it’s not real a Beachfront hotel. The highway is quite busy, so it was quite noisy on the poolside in front of the lodge and also on the terrace in front of our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
admiraltylodge, Manager at Admiralty Lodge Motel, responded to this review

I am sorry for the disappointment with your stay. Unfortunately I feel some of the comments left are incorrect; we do not have lining in the bathroom as all the walls have ceramic tiles which are in perfect condition. We do not have signs in the bathroom asking guests to avoid using the spa, rather it is luxury we offer... More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Wota hotel.. clean comfortable and spacious. Realy is a 5star!! Manager was awesome and makes the nicest pizzas, will be getting another one today!! Will definitely be back when another get away is required. A must stay!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
admiraltylodge, Manager at Admiralty Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review and I am glad you enjoyed the freshly baked Pizza. Hope you will be back with us for a longer stay and more Pizzas. More

British Columbia Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed here based on Tripadvisor reviews and totally agree that it is positioned well for Hot Water beach etc. The owner was welcoming and helpful. The rooms are huge and have new carpet and are fairly clean. However, you can tell they are old rooms regardless of the renovations and have a few quirks that made our stay a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hamilton, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

My family of 4 stayed here last December. We love the spacious apartment, very clean & comfortable. My teen & pre-teen were so happy with the fast unlimited Internet. Great location for Cathedral Cove & Hot Water Beach as well as shops & restaurants. Peaceful & quiet at night. Fantastic view being just opposite Buffalo Beach. Owner is warm &... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
admiraltylodge, Manager at Admiralty Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and it is exciting to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. If your travel plans bring you to Whitianga again, we hope you will choose to stay with us. More

Alice Springs, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

A great place to stay in a convenient location to the rest of the region. Large rooms with nice furnishings and a great little kitchen with everything you need. Relaxing and enjoyable atmosphere. Order breakfast with your stay as the breakfast is amazing. Poached eggs perfectly done and a great yoghurt special. You have a bit of noise from the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Whitianga, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Very very friendly & competent manager! Large cosy rooms. Perfect kitchenette, awesome seaview. The heated pool invites to swim before breakfast! Very clean all around. We stayed longer than planned, because we liked this place so much.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

A great place to stay we were here for a week and really enjoyed our break. The pool is wonderful as is slightly heated so were able to make use of it morning and night. The staff are all very friendly and do a great job. Room is good size and traffic noise is not a problem

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

It's our 2nd time staying here and it is the best in whitianga We last stayed here 3-4 years ago and even with a change of ownership it's good to see same high standard is carried through. New owners and management are so lovely. And the motel pet dog MASTI is the best and kept our daughter occupied for ages.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Admiralty Lodge Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Admiralty Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiralty Lodge Motel

Address: 69-71 Buffalo Beach Road | P.O. Box 123, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Admiralty Lodge Motel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Admiralty Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Whitianga with
any amenities

Amenities

Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#4 Family Hotel in Whitianga #4 Luxury Hotel in Whitianga #4 On the Beach Hotel in Whitianga #4 Romantic Hotel in Whitianga
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Admiralty Lodge has everything you require in the way of accommodation for an exceptional and very enjoyable vacation. Enjoy spectacular views across beautiful Mercury Bay and Buffalo Beach while you relax in the privacy of your spacious and very comfortable apartment. We provide you with climate-controlled air conditioning, double glazing, full kitchen, spacious bathroom (spa bath an option), 50-channel SKY TV, Free WiFi, DVD & VCR, stereo, and a guest safe. Our rooms are serviced daily and you can enjoy our year-round heated swimming pool. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
18

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Admiralty Lodge Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer