We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 38 Whitianga B&Bs / inns

Wairua Lodge - The Hidden River Valley

251 Old Coach Road, Whitianga 3542, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Wairua Lodge - The Hidden River Valley to your Saves list
Wairua Lodge - The Hidden River Valley
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
98%
Ranked #4 of 38 Whitianga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
steph19844 London
  • Reviews (132)
  • Photos (112)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (23)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

132 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    120
    10
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
106
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I'm writing this review massively late (3 years and tripadvisor won't let me put the real date) but trying to catch up on places we've stayed in the past that were memorable and this is top of the list. It was such a beautiful place, we particularly enjoyed the onsite walks and bath house, one of the most romantic, special... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We have just returned from two days of total relaxation after staying at the Wairua Lodge. The hosts were so friendly and helpful, just how good hospitality should be. We walked around the property in the woods and along by the river to the swimming water holes. The room was comfortable and clean plus a good breakfast too. We would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We had a totsl of six nights to visit the North Island prior to our cruise.. This was the last night before we went to our ship. It was by far the most rural and isolated spot we stayed. It was everything that we expected. We arrived a bit late, as being from the US and driving ourselves, we tended... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We have stayed at Wairua Lodge twice now, and have never been disappointed. It is close to Whitianga town for when you need supplies, but far enough into the valley that you feel like you are in the middle of nowhere. Surrounded by bush and nothing but the sound of the river and the birds in the trees, makes for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful spot, totally relaxing, great value. Lots of lovely spots to sit and enjoy the lovely scenery and bush walks to take. Just a short drive from attractions but there is really no need to leave the place. You could not ask for more. Highly recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We booked Wairua for the remote location in the Coromandel forest. It didn't disappoint in this respect, the lodge is well into the jungle down many windy roads, so you have a great feeling of seclusion when you arrive. That said, you are still in easy reach of Whitianga and Coromandel town. The owners are very friendly people and really... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charltam, Owner at Wairua Lodge - The Hidden River Valley, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your feedback and the sensitive way you have presented it.The Hidden Valley is certainly as much about its natural structure as it is about the accommodation itself.We do not respond to reviews normally as we believe it is an international conversation between travelers.In this case thanks for your feedback directed to us and we will assess... More

Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Set amongst gorgeous native NZ bush, the lodge offers boutique, comfortable (although quite tiny) accommodations. We felt like this was like an upmarket camp/retreat; great for couples (the outside bath is amazingly romantic) or for groups. What makes the lodge very special is the couple who own, live and manage the property. Very friendly, approachable and thoughtful, they make guests... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wanganui, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Myself and my husband stayed here after our wedding and absolutely loved it, it was just what we needed! We had booked in to a king snug room but were pleasantly surprised to find that we had been put in the River Deck Suite for our honeymoon stay. It's a great suite with everything you need, plenty of room and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Fabulous secluded location and very friendly hosts. Room was a little compact, but more than compensated for by the setting. A great location from which to explore Coromandel and to get a feel for the native bush.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We spent 4 nights here and used it as a base to explore The Coromandel with day trips. The property itself is a little hidden secret and is truly a magical experience, with streams to swim in and an outdoor spa underneath the bright stars. Our hosts Tam and Charles were warm and welcoming offering insider local knowledge for our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Wairua Lodge - The Hidden River Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Wairua Lodge - The Hidden River Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wairua Lodge - The Hidden River Valley

Address: 251 Old Coach Road, Whitianga 3542, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Wairua Lodge - The Hidden River Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

112 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (97)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (26)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
It sits on a sunny ridge in a bush clad valley only 12 kilometres from Whitianga. 4 Hidden Valley snug rooms which gaze across the valley into Coromandel mountains, and The River Deck suite-a 2 bedroom fully self contained suite, overhanging a bushclad ravine.Swim in the river, walk the nature trails,soak in the Treetops bath house or in the Night sky spa pool.Centrally located for all days trips around The Coromandel. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
5

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer