We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Baileys at the Beach Motel

66 Buffalo Beach Road, Whitianga, New Zealand
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Baileys at the Beach Motel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Baileys at the Beach Motel
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    4
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
8
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (15)
  • Mar-May only
    (6)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (3)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (5)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
Queenstown, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had the most fantastic stay here, great location right across from the beach! The nice Lady and her Fiancee were more than helpful providing us with local maps and 'hot spots' to visit. The room was very clean and facilities we could not fault. We had such a great night we decided to stay for two! Thank you very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glencoe, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

Baileys is a simple place with a great view in a great location on the Coromandel peninsula. The new owners are terrific, couldn't be nicer & will go way outof their way to ensure you have a good experience--from bringing up breakfast, doing your laundry to drying your shoes after a hike through a river.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Katikati, New Zealand
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

While premises are lovely and new the Owner (not management) was not helpful at all when giving out kayaks. One life jacket was inadequate and told to put petite 4 yr old child into the adult jacket and pull it tight, as father didn't need one. Shocking!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ben D, Owner at Baileys at the Beach Motel, responded to this review

Hi There, We have reviewed our bookings from last year (as we only re-opened after Christmas) and cannot see any record of guests having stayed that fit your description. We are keen to get to the bottom of this, please get in touch so we can address this as it is definitely not our policy to ignore safety requirements. Regards,... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

We stayed here for one night and found it very clean and well kept. There was plenty of room and a massive bathroom. The staff were very friendly and let us view all the rooms before choosing the one we wanted. They provided laundry facilities and were generally very obliging, even with us checking out late. It is located close... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Although newly refurbished, the walls are paperthin and you hear next door breathing and worse.. This was for the luxury studio at 190$ a night! Could not sleep all night and management was rude when I complained. STAY AWAY!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ben D, Owner at Baileys at the Beach Motel, responded to this review

Hi there. We are sorry that you had a negative experience, and are in fact the only complaint we have received about the walls. The walls you are referring to are brand new Fire Walls, with their construction exceeding the commercial firewall standards for both the fire and sound requirements. Our manager has changed since you last stayed, we would... More

Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

This motel is a good value for the location. The wonderful beach is right across the street. The rooms are large and comfortable. Free use of laundry room was a real bonus. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed our stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Porirua, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We chose this place on the spur of the moment while driving past and are very glad we did. The charming owner/manager gave us three keys to choose our room from - upstairs luxury (newly renovated), downstairs unrenovated (concrete-block walls and rather small) or newly renovated downstairs. We chose the last and really loved it. The double room in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
España
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
46 hotel reviews
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

This motel was recently (dec 2013) remade and is excellent value. We stayed two nights. It is immaculately clean, has laundry, kayaks, super friendly and helpful hosts (miss you Masti the dog!) and is right in front of the beach. Stay there!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Napier, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We have just returned home after taking the "Managers Winter Special" deal of three nights for $250. Newly refurbished unit, well equipped and just across the road from the beautiful beach. Unit serviced daily and friendly helpful service from Ambuj the manager. Recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This hotel was recommended by a friend who stayed during the Easter weekend. The location suited our family. It's in a quiet part of town but just across the road is the beach. The place was clean, especially the bathroom, lots of towels to go around. Our unit could fit 5 persons comfortably. We were just 2 adults and 2... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Baileys at the Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baileys at the Beach Motel

Address: 66 Buffalo Beach Road, Whitianga, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Baileys at the Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

12 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Other (13)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay