We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Walpole Lodge

Corner Pier Street & Park Avenue, Walpole, Western Australia 6398, Australia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Walpole Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Walpole Lodge
Walpole Lodge
Walpole Lodge
Add Photo Write a Review

54 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    28
    18
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
22
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (54)
  • Mar-May only
    (16)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (11)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (14)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
28 hotel reviews
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We paid $90 for the family room as we wanted our own bathroom. The room was simple, although at the price it seemed expensive for what it was. The WiFi worked fine for us, the location was handy, but the pictures are obviously of better times. For one night, arriving late at night, it worked fine.

Was this review helpful? Yes
walpolelodge, Owner at Walpole Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Most of the photos on trip advisor are from before the premises were painted throughout over the last 2 years. In addition to painting we have recently upgraded each of the queen beds and replaced the sofa's in 2 of the ensuite rooms. Maintenance is an ongoing requirement and we endeavour to continue to make... More 

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good place for a couple of nights to explore the region! We had a room with shared bathroom and toilet which works fine for us! Place is neat and tidy and run by a lovely couple. Communal kitchen is well equipped. Keep in mind this place is not "new" but very functional.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place was awesome! Cheap but well catered for. Great big kitchen with everything you need. Extremely friendly people everywhere. Close to town. The bed was awesome! I slept a full 8 hours for the first time in years. I will defiantly go back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

This is the ideal budget option in Walpole. $65 for a double room, shared bathroom, kitchen, dining, lounge and garden facilities. Helpful hosts and a friendly atmosphere. Kitchen was clean and well equipped for self catering. The walls are thin and the bed not the most comfortable but still good value for the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015 via mobile

I stayed in a private en-suite family room with friends. This was $109 between 3 of us which was reasonable. The room was dated but provided everything we needed. The wifi worked but was a little on and off (more so when the 3 of us were on it at the same time).

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

We booked ourselves a private room at this hostel since there isnt really any alternative option available in that little town. The price for a private room of 65 AUD is more than ridicolous for the quality you receive. A few things that went terrible wrong: 1) Wifi didn't work - owners response: It works for some people but none... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
walpolelodge, Owner at Walpole Lodge, responded to this review

Thankyou for your feedback. Since you stayed at the Walpole Lodge we have reaffirmed to our managers how important it is that the Wifi is working and they now know how to rectify any issues. Our price for a double room with shared bathroom is $65 but we offer a 10% discount for multiple night stays and additional discounts throughout... More 

Winchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
44 hotel reviews
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

This just was not for us, to say the least! It's changed ownership in the last couple of weeks so the previous reviews in my opinion don't reflect its current status. The communal kitchen came complete with a dead fly or two on the worktop! The room we paid for was an ensuite and really was poor, the window at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
walpolelodge, Owner at Walpole Lodge, responded to this review

Thankyou for providing feedback. There hasn’t been an ownership change but there has been a change in management. Our managers thought that you had been happy with the room but made the decision to leave as you’d arrived early and wanted to continue onto Pemberton and instead you gifted your room to the backpackers noted in the review. If you... More 

Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014 via mobile

Walpole Lodge is in a great location for exploring the surrounding area. The manager was lovely and shared with us loads of great ideas about what to see in the area and wildlife to spot. Our room was basic but clean and cosy. We had a shared bathroom and this was also clean. We made the most of the garden... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Swansea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
56 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

Walpole lodge is situated in the ‘centre’ of town. The manager i apologise for forgetting her name was so helpful on check in she provided us with a lot of local information and recommendations for dinner however we ended up self catering in the lodge. The kitchen and cooking facilities were spotless and had everything you needed with the manager... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bern, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

nice budget place in walpole. the rooms are pretty small and basic, but the common areas with a big kitchen, a pool table, a tv and some computers are really nice; same goes for the bathrooms. there is also a big garden area, which is beautiful in the australian summer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay