We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Walpole Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
Corner Pier Street & Park Avenue, Walpole, Western Australia 6398, Australia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Walpole Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Walpole Lodge
Walpole Lodge
Walpole Lodge
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    17
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
21
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (52)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (11)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (14)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This place was awesome! Cheap but well catered for. Great big kitchen with everything you need. Extremely friendly people everywhere. Close to town. The bed was awesome! I slept a full 8 hours for the first time in years. I will defiantly go back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is the ideal budget option in Walpole. $65 for a double room, shared bathroom, kitchen, dining, lounge and garden facilities. Helpful hosts and a friendly atmosphere. Kitchen was clean and well equipped for self catering. The walls are thin and the bed not the most comfortable but still good value for the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015 via mobile

I stayed in a private en-suite family room with friends. This was $109 between 3 of us which was reasonable. The room was dated but provided everything we needed. The wifi worked but was a little on and off (more so when the 3 of us were on it at the same time).

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

We booked ourselves a private room at this hostel since there isnt really any alternative option available in that little town. The price for a private room of 65 AUD is more than ridicolous for the quality you receive. A few things that went terrible wrong: 1) Wifi didn't work - owners response: It works for some people but none... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
walpolelodge, Owner at Walpole Lodge, responded to this review

Thankyou for your feedback. Since you stayed at the Walpole Lodge we have reaffirmed to our managers how important it is that the Wifi is working and they now know how to rectify any issues. Our price for a double room with shared bathroom is $65 but we offer a 10% discount for multiple night stays and additional discounts throughout... More 

Winchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
43 hotel reviews
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

This just was not for us, to say the least! It's changed ownership in the last couple of weeks so the previous reviews in my opinion don't reflect its current status. The communal kitchen came complete with a dead fly or two on the worktop! The room we paid for was an ensuite and really was poor, the window at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
walpolelodge, Owner at Walpole Lodge, responded to this review

Thankyou for providing feedback. There hasn’t been an ownership change but there has been a change in management. Our managers thought that you had been happy with the room but made the decision to leave as you’d arrived early and wanted to continue onto Pemberton and instead you gifted your room to the backpackers noted in the review. If you... More 

Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014 via mobile

Walpole Lodge is in a great location for exploring the surrounding area. The manager was lovely and shared with us loads of great ideas about what to see in the area and wildlife to spot. Our room was basic but clean and cosy. We had a shared bathroom and this was also clean. We made the most of the garden... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Swansea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
56 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

Walpole lodge is situated in the ‘centre’ of town. The manager i apologise for forgetting her name was so helpful on check in she provided us with a lot of local information and recommendations for dinner however we ended up self catering in the lodge. The kitchen and cooking facilities were spotless and had everything you needed with the manager... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bern, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

nice budget place in walpole. the rooms are pretty small and basic, but the common areas with a big kitchen, a pool table, a tv and some computers are really nice; same goes for the bathrooms. there is also a big garden area, which is beautiful in the australian summer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
36 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

Clean and convenient hostel very close to valley of the Giants and tree top walk. Walpole is a sleepy town in which this accommodation is your best option. Staff is friendly, beds are comfortable and there's a large kitchen to serve your needs.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night, and wish I could have stayed for longer. Received a warm welcome and the Hostel is very well run and clean. Lots of information and advice available and so much more to do in Walpole than I had realised. Very well-equipped kitchen. Lots of outdoor space too, all very peaceful and relaxing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question