We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 8 Nannup B&Bs / inns

RedGum Hill Country Retreat

Lot -1 Balingup Nannup Road, Nannup, Western Australia 6275, Australia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added RedGum Hill Country Retreat to your Saves list
RedGum Hill Country Retreat
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
81%
Ranked #7 of 8 Nannup B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013
TimAndRebecca Perth, Australia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (11)
  • Photos (16)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (1)
  • More
true
Write a Review

11 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    1
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We spent four nights in "Gumnut Cottage" and loved it. Everything was neat and well-appointed, from the comfortable lounges and cosy bed down to a shelf full of Agatha Christie mysteries! The kitchen had everything you'd expect from a self-contained cottage and then some more besides, and the spa was a pleasant extra. Four nights gave us time to stay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NanaMolly, Owner at RedGum Hill Country Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you Tim and Rebecca for the review and lovely comments. Unfortunately we had some ferral pigs through the property some weeks ago but not through the main garden fortunately. These things happen in the country. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. I note there may have been a problem with the service in your rating. If so, could... More

Fremantle, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

What a gorgeous spot for a quiet getaway!Tried to book Gumnut Cottage for the weekend but it wasn't available so the owners offered us a special deal on Duffy's House and we certainly weren't disappointed. The facilities were excellent and there was nothing we could think of that was needed to make the weekend any more enjoyable. The cottage is... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
NanaMolly, Owner at RedGum Hill Country Retreat, responded to this review

Hello dear guests, Hope you trip home was special in the new car. Unfortunately the weather gets the better of us at times, but I think you missed the worst of it. We were so happy to see you both again and really enjoyed our chat. Take care and we will see you again soon. Thank you both for the... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Six girlfriends and I stayed in Duffy House over the long weekend and had a wonderful time. Dirk and Judith are excellent hosts who made us most welcome and nothing was too much trouble. The cottage was spotless and the bed linen clean and fresh. Plenty of wood for the wood heater which kept us toasty warm and there's a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NanaMolly, Owner at RedGum Hill Country Retreat, responded to this review

Hello Lisa, We had a wonderful time also. Such great happy guests. Lots of laughs coming from the cottage and it was lovely to meet you all. It's so nice to see people enjoying themselves and soaking up the country air and natural environment. We have people come down (rarely I must say) sit in the cottage all day and... More

Gosnells, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I went with friends. We were 8 and stayed at the "DUFFY'S PLACE" for 3 nights. The moment I entered the place I was over whelmed. Lovely rooms, very clean and comfortable bedding and lots of clean towels. The rooms were clean and everything you need in a comfortable home was there. The living room was comfortable and the fire... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NanaMolly, Owner at RedGum Hill Country Retreat, responded to this review

Hello Sharon I cannot tell you how lovely it was to have such happy smiling people stay with us. Even thought we are small, we are really proud of our country property and supporting accommodation. The garden looks beautiful now, your stay was a week too early but at least you saw all the rose buds and the little bird... More

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Still owed $540. Website sounds great but not true. 'Luxury Villa' is 3 separate cheap motel rooms, spa not operational. Colour TVs don't work has no digital tower and DVD player not working. Cooker does not work. Had to find alternative accomodation and refund refused. Owner Rude and Arrogant backed up by a wife whose only appearance was to tell... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
NanaMolly, Owner at RedGum Hill Country Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Guest We are most concerned at your tirade of complaints, criticisms and demands for a full refund when you said absolutely nothing to us during your stay re no TV (we did advise you of this) and the Cottage you stayed in after the first night does have a working spa. You were referred to us as your preferred... More

Perth, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I stayed at Redgum Hill with my girlfriend for a peaceful getaway from my busy lifestyle in Perth. Thoroughly enjoyed my stays... surrounds of the property are beautiful and very tranquil, just what I needed. Accommodation was very comfortable and great value for money, hosts were very friendly and made a point of making our stay as comfortable as possible.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NanaMolly, Owner at RedGum Hill Country Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your patronage. We enjoyed meeting you and look forward to having you stay once again. More

Perth, Australia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I have stayed at Red Gum Hill Country retreat over the past years and love the solitude and surroundings. I have stayed in the beautiful en-suite rooms with the absolutelty wonderful country feel; the rooms are spotless with lovely cottage decor. The beds are comfortable and the linen is crisp and clean . I have also stayed in the smaller... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
NanaMolly, Owner at RedGum Hill Country Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your wonderful review and we look forward to your stay in September in Duffy's Cottage. Please be advised, that should you or your party of 7 have any concerns at any time then please advise us immedately. As with all guests, we would like to hear about problems during your stay giving us the opportunity... More

Perth, Australia
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

we had very high hopes for this establishment but left feeling very disappointed. First up, we travel extensively and have never occupied holiday accommodation that hasn't even supplied tea, coffee, sugar and milk for the guests but not even a pitcher of cold water was left in the fridge. There was no television as the TV which had been, for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
NanaMolly, Owner at RedGum Hill Country Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Guests Thank you for your review and we respond as follows: We did advise you of the TV not being connected upon booking. It has been an embarrasment to us, but has now been rectified with satellite connections. We also have free DVDs. We have magnificent pure fresh rainwater on tap in stead of jugged water in fridge. There... More

Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I have stayed here several times, and was introduced to it by a friend who has stayed here over ten times. I cannot recommend this place highly enough. If you want peace and quiet, they have it. If you want nature, then you can leave crumbs on the verandah and watch the many local wild birds stop by and enjoy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NanaMolly, Owner at RedGum Hill Country Retreat, responded to this review

Hello Adam Thank you for your review and your continued patronage. Your friend is one of our most loyal customers and has been coming here before we even bought Redgum Hill. Hope to see you once again in the near future. More

Perth Western Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

I stayed at the Redgum Hil B & B last weekend and wanted to share my experience with anyone going to this area who is looking for qualiy and peaceful accomodation. The rooms were clean, comfortable and roomy wih amazing views into the lush gardens. It was extremely peaceful to wake up to the early morning sun and to see... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NanaMolly, Owner at RedGum Hill Country Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to seeing you again sometime at Redgum Hill Country Retreat. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage RedGum Hill Country Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to RedGum Hill Country Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RedGum Hill Country Retreat

Address: Lot -1 Balingup Nannup Road, Nannup, Western Australia 6275, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Nannup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your RedGum Hill Country Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

16 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Nannup with
any amenities

Amenities

Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Redgum Hill Country Retreat is nestled on 11 acres on the Blackwood River in the Blackwood River Valley on Tourist Drive 251 in the heart of the south west of Western Australia, an extremely convenient place to stay if travelling around to surrounding wineries, forests, beaches and general south west tourist attractions.Our accommodation comprises the owner's residence, AAA 4 star rated DUFFY'S COTTAGE being 1 x 3 bedroom, 1 x bathroom two storey self-contained loft cottage (sleeps 4 - 8), AAA 3 1/2 star rated GUMNUT COTTAGE being 1 loft bedroom two storey self-contained cottage (sleeps 2), AAA 4 star 2 bedroom 2 bathroom guest wing(sleeps 4 - 6) overlooking garden. All accommodation has covered verandahs or balconies overlooking the garden or the river from which guests can enjoy the birds or read in the serenity of the country environment. Duffy's Cottage is wheelchair friendly. The cottages have wood fires for winter and air conditioning for summer. Our cottages are quaint, comfortable, clean and elegantly casual. The guest wing has reverse-cycled airconditioning, ceiling fans and cross ventilation doors and windows. Redgum Hill Country Retreat boasts over 68 varities of birds including the splendid blue wren, golden whistler, brown honeyeater, firetailed finch, emu, red tailed cockatoo, carnaby cockatoo, button quaile, rainbow bee eater (occassionaly) and much more, a joy to sit and watch.Enjoy strolling through the 4 acre gardens and ponds or walk around the property to the arboretum. This walk is substantial but easy. With 48 hours notice we can provide gourmet weekend food hampers, fully cooked breakfasts, BBQ packs, dinner provided to your accommodation or a three course meal in the licensed dining room (minimum 8 people)by the fire. Redgum Hill Country Retreat is small, private country property in the picturesque Blackwood River Valley. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
4

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from RedGum Hill Country Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer