We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chimes Spa Retreat

Certificate of Excellence
Mt Shadforth Scenic Drive, Denmark, Western Australia 6333, Australia
Hotel amenities
Chimes Spa Retreat
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #11 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Denmark
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2015
ggm250 Australia
Add Photo Write a Review

159 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    78
    46
    17
    10
    8
See reviews for
5
121
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (159)
  • Mar-May only
    (46)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (29)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (42)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (42)
All months
Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2015

Can't say we were overly impressed, it could be so much more. Would certainly not recommend the spa, hygiene in the steam room was terrible and treatments were expensive and not very good. Rooms were good, breakfast very impersonal. I think this was once a lovely property, somewhere they lost the way.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SWOzChimes, Owner at Chimes Spa Retreat, responded to this review

Statiscally every so often you get a review that's totally out of kilter with the majority of other reviews. We don't know how to respond to this one because it doesn't make sense. May had more quiet days than is usual so perhaps there were not so many guests at breakfast and it felt quiet and there was no buzz... More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

A nice place to stay close to the town and tourist attractions. Not overly wonderful in the spa department if you are looking for the beauty spa then look elsewhere. The king bed was uncomfortable and the hallway noisy. Kitchen smells wafted through the rooms. Not the best value for money we have spent. Hosts are pleasant.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SWOzChimes, Owner at Chimes Spa Retreat, responded to this review

Each of these beds is new and is a 5 star commercial bed with a luxury mattress topper as well so the fact that it was uncomfortable is probably your personal preference to add to your other general criticisms. You were unlucky to experience a noisy hallway and I'm sorry that it was noisy for you and yes it can... More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

Elevated position on Mount Shadworth affords some great views of the Wilson inlet, whilst only 3 - 4 Km from the town centre . The retreat is tidy, relaxed and the owners and staff are very welcoming indeed. We stayed in an king bed ocean view room with a spa and balcony, which was perfect, apart form the bed was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SWOzChimes, Owner at Chimes Spa Retreat, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Your bed would have been room number 8 in the East Wing which we replaced 12 March. Rm 8 & Rm3 were both replaced on this day and were the last beds to be replaced. More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

I love staying here, have stayed twice now, one with a girlfriend and another with my boyfriend. The rooms are lovely with all the amenities you need. I prefer staying in one with a balcony and a spa. The breakfast which consists of homemade freshly baked breads, muffins, damper, jams, oats and cereals is so lovely and relaxing. The spa... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

Stayed for a night on a quick weekend trip from Perth. Michelle and Kane were very friendly and welcoming, the room was wonderful and the breakfast was great too. The location was excellent, not too far from the town with nice gardens, peaceful surrounds and a nice view. My partner thoroghly enjoyed the massage I booked as a surprise, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

We stayed for a valentines day escape. We had a spa package which was amazing value and of a high quality. I have visited the spa before its my favorite place to be pampered. We then had lunch and a stayed in one of the ocean suites that had the most amazing views that you could enjoy from the spa... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Albany, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

We recently enjoyed a beautiful weekend here. A warm welcome from Michelle and after a brief tour of the facilities (lovely breakfast room) we were shown to our room. It was clean and beautifully prepared. Our view looked over towards the ocean and we enjoyed being able to kick back and relax. Couple of things I did note was that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
West Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

We stayed here for three nights in January and absolutely loved it. The location is fabulous, with great views out over the Denmark estuary - and because it is high up, there is a wonderful cooling breeze. Total peace and quiet, apart from the glorious dawn chorus of a huge variety of birds. Michele is a fantastic host, the homemade... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015

What a charming place to spend a few days. Michelle was very welcoming and her home made bread and damper for breakfast, complimentary cakes for afternoon tea and ports when we returned home from dinner were wonderful bonuses. We also got to enjoy some treatments in the spa which were very relaxing. We went across the road to Castellis for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Western Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

Situated a few k's out of Denmark on Western Australia's south coast is a gem. We first visited Chimes some 8 years ago and had a cooked breakfast " to die for". this time we went for the Spa. Following some 4 1/2 hrs drive down from Perth, we were greeted by Michelle - super friendly, vivacious and very knowledgeable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (33)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denmark hotels
0.9 mi away
Karma Chalets and Karisma Spa
7.5 mi away
Sensational Heights Bed and Breakfast
2.7 mi away
Aiyana Retreat
Aiyana Retreat
#3 of 28 in Denmark
5.0 of 5 stars 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Celestine Retreat
Celestine Retreat
#2 of 28 in Denmark
5.0 of 5 stars 57 reviews
4.6 mi away
Misty Valley Country Cottages
2.6 mi away
31 on the Terrace
31 on the Terrace
#6 of 15 in Denmark
4.5 of 5 stars 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay