We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Riverside Cottages

4 Molloy Street, Augusta, Western Australia 6290, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Riverside Cottages
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

63 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Perth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Look you've all read the negative reviews and let me assure you they are bang on! If quaint means.. rundown, dirty and ready for the bulldozer you've come to Riverside Cottages. We visited previously some 3 years ago and thought things would have changed. Well they have..price has skyrocketed and the experience is even more unpleasant. Thankfully one hour later... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Barry A
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We're from Sydney. We booked 6 cottages for 3 nights during the Xmas & New Year break. We were very apprehensive and was expecting the worse due to the negative reviews we've read. However we took a chance since we had 6 families with kids and there wasn't anywhere big enough to accommodate our group. Upon speaking to Julia (customer... More 

Helpful?
Thank Linh D
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2015 via mobile

I did not think such sub-standard accommodation was still around. It is pokey, a bedroom doesn't even have a door on it and a "dining" table that rocks more than a cork on the ocean. This would have to be the worst accommodation I have ever stayed in.

Helpful?
1 Thank Milkman F
Riverside-Augusta, Front Office Manager at Riverside Cottages, responded to this review

Hi Milkman F. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are a budget family style accommodation and we accommodated over 3500 guests this year and regularly have guests coming back to stay with us. We are aware the cottages are of old style but we always make sure they are clean and tidy... More 

Travelers are raving about these Augusta hotels

Kuala Selangor, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2015

Booked this accommodation online. The customer service is great (i make date changes two times). I called the customer service for the 2nd changes cause of im feeling guilty cause of my changes. The women on the other side of the line are very friendly. Arrived to this accommodation around 8.00pm. Its kinda hard to find even with GPS since... More 

Helpful?
Thank Muhammad Farid M
Riverside-Augusta, Front Office Manager at Riverside Cottages, responded to this review

Hi Muhammad Farid M. Thank you very much for your detailed review, we really appreciate it. I am very happy to let you know we have installed a sign to make it easier for guests to find us. We are looking forwards to having you stay with us again! Have a great day and Happy New Year! More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2015

Like a previous review we were apprehensive about our stay after reading some of the negative reviews but seriously it was fine. Riverside Cottages first of all is budget accommodation in an amazing location in Augusta. We (3 adults) just got back from 2 days in a 3-bedroom iconic fibro cottage (# 12). The cottage was extremely clean. The beds... More 

Helpful?
Thank ardentaussie
Riverside-Augusta, Front Office Manager at Riverside Cottages, responded to this review

Hi Ardentaussie. Thank you very much for your detailed review, we really appreciate it. We are looking forwards to having you stay with us again! Have a great day! More 

Perth
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2015

When we arrived, the cottage we were given was not up to expectation with mould growing in places and dirty. After a phone call we were given a code for another similar cottage which had duct tape on the front door and a disabled smoke alarm hanging dejectedly from the ceiling. We were finally given the option to go to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Judy W
Riverside-Augusta, Front Office Manager at Riverside Cottages, responded to this review

Hi Judy W. We are always trying to do what we can to satisfy all our guests needs which is why we without hesitation happily moved you to a different cottage since you did not find the first one suitable for you. We are a budget accommodation and I am sorry that the cottage was not as you expected it... More 

Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2015

We were a little apprehensive about our stay here, after reading some terrible reviews, but once we got there we really couldn't fault it! We had got a deal on GroupOn, it was about $200 for the stay, and an extra $25 for a pet deposit as we were taking our dog. We were given a spacious 6 person cottage,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ChloeMT89
Riverside-Augusta, Front Office Manager at Riverside Cottages, responded to this review

Hi CloeMT89, Thank you for reviewing your stay with us! We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we really hope to have you stay with us next time you visit Augusta. More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2015 via mobile

A dump spent 30 minutes there then left. Wasted our money but for $5 extra a night we found the amazing Leeuwenhoek chalets. Felt like booking at visitor centre was a scam in hindsight- only one cabin left think it's gone will ring back- it's gone but you can have the 2 bedroom for the same price. Towels dirty, laminex... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah O
Riverside-Augusta, Front Office Manager at Riverside Cottages, responded to this review

Hi Deborah O. The cottages are of older style but we can assure you they are always kept clean and in a good standard for our guests. I am very sure there were no dirty towels since we order linen and towels from a professional laundry service which never has disappointed us before. We always do our best to make... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2015

Not what I expected - advice is read all the material you are sent as you need to provide your own towels and also switch on the fridge and make sure the hot water is on as well. For couples/small families looking for a budget end place to stay I think this works and is a short drive to town... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank David364
Riverside-Augusta, Front Office Manager at Riverside Cottages, responded to this review

Hi David, I am sorry our cottages did not fulfill your expectations. We do provide fresh towels and linen in all our cottages so I am very sorry you did not get a towel. Did you contact us during your stay regarding this matter? I can promise you we would have made sure you got a fresh towel as soon... More 

Mandurah, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2015

Our 3 day package starting 19 August was cut short. Wine was white and could not be swapped as they waiting on delivery of red. Had to ring agent first night as frypan was growing fungi from previous food still stuck to it - was replaced with other frypan which needed a good scrub as well. Some dishes unclean, dish... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Phil B
Riverside-Augusta, Front Office Manager at Riverside Cottages, responded to this review

Dear Phil B We are concerned to see you wrote such a negative review on trip advisor as we make a huge amount of effort to make sure the cottages and grounds are at a high standard of cleanliness and condition, unfortunately the cottage you occupied had been cleaned by a cleaner who is no longer an employee for reasons... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Augusta
0.3 mi away
Baywatch Manor Augusta
Baywatch Manor Augusta
#2 of 10 in Augusta
4.5 of 5 stars 52 reviews
0.3 mi away
Augusta Molloy Motel
Augusta Molloy Motel
#1 of 2 in Augusta
3.5 of 5 stars 56 reviews
1.9 mi away
Augusta Sheoak Chalets
Augusta Sheoak Chalets
#5 of 10 in Augusta
4.0 of 5 stars 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Augusta Escape
Augusta Escape
#4 of 10 in Augusta
4.5 of 5 stars 38 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alouarn Apartments
Alouarn Apartments
#7 of 10 in Augusta
4.5 of 5 stars 14 reviews
23.9 mi away
Margarets Beach Resort
Margarets Beach Resort
#6 of 10 in Margaret River
4.0 of 5 stars 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay