We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The New Inn

Certificate of Excellence
| Tresco, Isles of Scilly, TR24 0QQ, England
Hotel amenities
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
The New Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

86 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    39
    30
    9
    7
    1
See reviews for
18
49
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (86)
  • Mar-May only
    (21)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (37)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (22)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We went as a family of four, two adults and two children. A lovely outdoor seating area, but a bit of confusion about where to get our menus and order. Once this was sorted, we enjoyed a nice drink whilst perusing the menu. whilst doing this we observed one family taking it in turns to make use of the pubs... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great inn on lovely Tresco. Our room (15) was gorgeous with a wonderful view. Staff were helpful in a very chilled out way! Food was really good in very generous proportions. The swimming pool is a great facility and the pub garden is delightful. Free wifi though poor connection in our room. We were very lucky to be visiting when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TrescoIsland, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this review

Hello KAren, and thank you for a great review of The New Inn, Tresco. We're pleased you liked the room, and yes - the sea view from there is lovely! Sorry about the WiFi dropping in and outt; we do find buildings like The New Inn challenging for the provision of internet, as the Granite walls do tend to cause... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room was small in size however it was clean. The bathroom was large, no shower only a bath in our particular en-suite. The guest lounge is very plush compared to our bedroom decor, however we were staying in the old part of the building . Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast and dinner always had plenty of choice,freshly cooked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TrescoIsland, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this review

Hello - and thank you for your comments about The New Inn. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay and found the staff friendly and helpful, and the food of high quality. We will pass on your comments about the size and decor of the room to the Manager, so thank you for your constructive comments. We hope to welcome yuou... More 

Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

Having walked the coastline of Tresco on a hot , sunny day we were ready for a drink whilst waiting for the boat to take us back to St Marys. Good service at he bar and a lovely beer garden. We cannot comment on the food or the accommodation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TrescoIsland, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this review

Hi Curlew29 We're so pleased that you enjoyed the refreshments of the New Inn following your walk. The beer garden certainly is stunning on a beautiful sunny day! We hope to see you again soon. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015

We stopped to eat for lunch and the food was poor at best... My wife had the scampi and chips which was ok... I ordered the pulled pork burger and it was wet and messy... Uneatable. After returning the dish and being charged extra for the new burger, it then became a very long wait until the food arrived.... Not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert L, General Manager at The New Inn, responded to this review

Hello James S I am sorry to hear you didn't like the Pulled leg of pork cooked and marinated in Barbecue sauce and served as a burger. This is how the burger is meant to be served, and normally the concept and flavour is extremely popular. No refund was offered due to there being no problem with the product. We... More 

Buckland Newton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

Overall a really lovely five nights at the New Inn with consistently good food every day. Rooms clean, nicely fitted out and ours roadside very peaceful. The Inn does need a refresh building upon the pleasing colour schemes in the guest lounge. The restaurant offering excellent waiter service cries out ti be totally revamped and dragged into the 2000s! As... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert L, General Manager at The New Inn, responded to this review

Dear Tony2710 Thank you for your review. I can confirm that the items you have listed as development potential are indeed on my list to propose as winter works, and I very much hope these come into being. I would indeed like to see The New Inn looking smart and a little more developed. Your comments about the team are... More 

Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2015

We stayed on Tresco as guests of friends who have abtimshare on the island.This was our first visit although it is clear that many have visited many times. The new inn is one of 3options on the island, all owned by the same company. It's a pub and a good one. A good selection of beers and a varied,if slightly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Robert L, General Manager at The New Inn, responded to this review

Dear Peanutts9 It was a pleasure to host you on your first visit to Tresco, and by most accounts it seems you enjoyed yourselves very much. I think the individuality of the different premises is a tricky challenge for us to solve as we are all trying to achieve a high standard experience, sourcing food stuffs from the same suppliers... More 

Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2015

We stopped for a night on our honeymoon and thankfully picked the new inn on tresco for our overnight stay in the scilly isles. What a gorgeous island and the people are really nice and friendly. We stopped for dinner bed and breakfast and really enjoyed ourselves. The food was delicious. I had sea trout and plaice fishcake followed by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert L, General Manager at The New Inn, responded to this review

Dear Andy19772014 Thank you for your excellent comments. I am so pleased you found the break to be everything you wanted, and I am very happy to hear that the standard of service and food was excellent for you. We always try to satisfy a very unique stay experience which it seems you have embraced and enjoyed vastly. We very... More 

Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2015

We stayed at the New Inn just after the Gig Racing had taken place, the weather was windy, wet and foggy, but the plane managed to get us to St Mary's. When you book any accommodation on Tresco, the Tresco organisation takes care of your travel arrangement and your luggage. We travelled to Tresco on the ferry quite a rocky... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert L, General Manager at The New Inn, responded to this review

Dear Bishopval Thank you very much for your very positive review. I have informed the team of your comments and we are all very pleased that you enjoyed yourselves. You will be pleased to know that some services including the bathrooms are indeed very near the top of the shortlist for update at The New Inn. While we do attempt... More 

Cambridge
Level Contributor
186 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015

We popped in for a refreshing drink, during our trip to Tresco. It was a Thursday lunchtime and I had expected it to be much busier than it was. The drinks were a bit pricey, even for the Scillies and I thought the interior a bit dark. We drank in the garden area, which I would imagine would soon get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert L, General Manager at The New Inn, responded to this review

Dear Cotonboy I am very sorry that you found our pricing expensive. I know that on the draught side I have actually come down to match some pubs on the island of St Mary's. I do have to say I don't have this comment about pricing on drinks very often since I dropped them on my arrival last September. I... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (30)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tresco
1.7 mi away
Karma St. Martin's
Karma St. Martin's
#1 of 1 in St Martin's
4.0 of 5 stars 70 reviews
3.0 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 6 in St Mary's
4.0 of 5 stars 195 reviews
3.0 mi away
Schooners Hotel
Schooners Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hugh Town
4.5 of 5 stars 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Tregarthen's Hotel
Tregarthen's Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hugh Town
4.5 of 5 stars 201 reviews
2.8 mi away
Isles of Scilly Country Guesthouse
3.2 mi away
Colossus
Colossus
#9 of 39 in St Mary's
5.0 of 5 stars 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay