We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

New Inn

Certificate of Excellence
TR24 0QQ, England
New Inn
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    39
    28
    8
    7
    1
See reviews for
16
48
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (83)
  • Mar-May only
    (21)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (34)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (22)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having walked the coastline of Tresco on a hot , sunny day we were ready for a drink whilst waiting for the boat to take us back to St Marys. Good service at he bar and a lovely beer garden. We cannot comment on the food or the accommodation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TrescoIsland, Owner at New Inn, responded to this review

Hi Curlew29 We're so pleased that you enjoyed the refreshments of the New Inn following your walk. The beer garden certainly is stunning on a beautiful sunny day! We hope to see you again soon. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stopped to eat for lunch and the food was poor at best... My wife had the scampi and chips which was ok... I ordered the pulled pork burger and it was wet and messy... Uneatable. After returning the dish and being charged extra for the new burger, it then became a very long wait until the food arrived.... Not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert L, General Manager at New Inn, responded to this review

Hello James S I am sorry to hear you didn't like the Pulled leg of pork cooked and marinated in Barbecue sauce and served as a burger. This is how the burger is meant to be served, and normally the concept and flavour is extremely popular. No refund was offered due to there being no problem with the product. We... More 

Buckland Newton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Overall a really lovely five nights at the New Inn with consistently good food every day. Rooms clean, nicely fitted out and ours roadside very peaceful. The Inn does need a refresh building upon the pleasing colour schemes in the guest lounge. The restaurant offering excellent waiter service cries out ti be totally revamped and dragged into the 2000s! As... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert L, General Manager at New Inn, responded to this review

Dear Tony2710 Thank you for your review. I can confirm that the items you have listed as development potential are indeed on my list to propose as winter works, and I very much hope these come into being. I would indeed like to see The New Inn looking smart and a little more developed. Your comments about the team are... More 

Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed on Tresco as guests of friends who have abtimshare on the island.This was our first visit although it is clear that many have visited many times. The new inn is one of 3options on the island, all owned by the same company. It's a pub and a good one. A good selection of beers and a varied,if slightly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Robert L, General Manager at New Inn, responded to this review

Dear Peanutts9 It was a pleasure to host you on your first visit to Tresco, and by most accounts it seems you enjoyed yourselves very much. I think the individuality of the different premises is a tricky challenge for us to solve as we are all trying to achieve a high standard experience, sourcing food stuffs from the same suppliers... More 

Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stopped for a night on our honeymoon and thankfully picked the new inn on tresco for our overnight stay in the scilly isles. What a gorgeous island and the people are really nice and friendly. We stopped for dinner bed and breakfast and really enjoyed ourselves. The food was delicious. I had sea trout and plaice fishcake followed by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert L, General Manager at New Inn, responded to this review

Dear Andy19772014 Thank you for your excellent comments. I am so pleased you found the break to be everything you wanted, and I am very happy to hear that the standard of service and food was excellent for you. We always try to satisfy a very unique stay experience which it seems you have embraced and enjoyed vastly. We very... More 

Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2015

We stayed at the New Inn just after the Gig Racing had taken place, the weather was windy, wet and foggy, but the plane managed to get us to St Mary's. When you book any accommodation on Tresco, the Tresco organisation takes care of your travel arrangement and your luggage. We travelled to Tresco on the ferry quite a rocky... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert L, General Manager at New Inn, responded to this review

Dear Bishopval Thank you very much for your very positive review. I have informed the team of your comments and we are all very pleased that you enjoyed yourselves. You will be pleased to know that some services including the bathrooms are indeed very near the top of the shortlist for update at The New Inn. While we do attempt... More 

Cambridge
Level Contributor
184 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015

We popped in for a refreshing drink, during our trip to Tresco. It was a Thursday lunchtime and I had expected it to be much busier than it was. The drinks were a bit pricey, even for the Scillies and I thought the interior a bit dark. We drank in the garden area, which I would imagine would soon get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert L, General Manager at New Inn, responded to this review

Dear Cotonboy I am very sorry that you found our pricing expensive. I know that on the draught side I have actually come down to match some pubs on the island of St Mary's. I do have to say I don't have this comment about pricing on drinks very often since I dropped them on my arrival last September. I... More 

UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015

The staff make Tresco, especially the new inn. Absolutely everything, apart from the climate and the vegetation on this island is about the people who service the visitors to the island . They are all young energetic and enthusiastic but may be working within parameters that have become tired with time. Hospitality, welcome and client attention are all first class,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert L, General Manager at New Inn, responded to this review

Dear jempsUK Thank you for your review. I am pleased that most of the comments made are exactly as you informed me when you left the Inn as I have already put tracks into improving our provision and service upstairs. I agree with your comments on departure that more attention to details need to be implemented, and a little encouragement... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

We haven't stayed at the New Inn for very many years and wondered how it would have changed and whether it would be as good. We needn't have worried. One key change is that we had a really comfortable bed, which I rarely find in hotels. Our room was lovely and so quiet. The bathroom was rather cosy, but it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert L, General Manager at New Inn, responded to this review

Dear Kate F Thank you for visiting us at The New Inn, and I am so pleased that your had an excellent experience. The team are extremely happy with your comments and I have had the pleasure of telling them to the whole team as well which is great! I am sorry about the pool. We were anticipating an earlier... More 

Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015

We had a very nice room, though it was the cheapest category. Good service, luggage was trasferred from the quay to the hotel and back. My friend had twisted her ankle, so they arranged a walking stick (special thanks to Karen from the island office). Weather was brilliant, so we had meals on the terrace. Food was good but not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robert L, General Manager at New Inn, responded to this review

Dear Anke P Thank you for visiting The New Inn. I'm glad you found the island such a friendly and helpful setting, and it was a pleasure to have looked after you here. I hope your travel back was comfortable and just as simple as we endaevour to make the transfers once on the Scillies. Your compliments about the transfer... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (30)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tresco
1.7 mi away
Karma St. Martin's
Karma St. Martin's
#1 of 1 in St Martin's
4.0 of 5 stars 47 reviews
3.0 mi away
Schooners Hotel
Schooners Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hugh Town
4.5 of 5 stars 130 reviews
3.0 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 6 in St Mary's
4.0 of 5 stars 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Tregarthen's Hotel
Tregarthen's Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hugh Town
4.5 of 5 stars 194 reviews
2.8 mi away
Isles of Scilly Country Guesthouse
3.2 mi away
Colossus
Colossus
#13 of 39 in St Mary's
5.0 of 5 stars 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities