We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bell Rock Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Church Street, Hugh Town | Hugh Town, TR21 0JS, England
Bell Rock Hotel
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    40
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
24
118
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (192)
  • Mar-May only
    (50)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (81)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (54)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
19 hotel reviews
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Reserved for the Easter school vacation and stayed for six days. Key reason is that they have a pool there which my son was very keen to use. The location is quiet and just one street away from the beaches. A nice spot. Breakfast service is swift and very polite. Nothing seems to be too much trouble for the staff.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

My husband and I stayed at the Bell Rock Hotel in September,we were very impressed with The service and friendliness of the staff. The rooms were clean, well kept and quite spacious. The location of the Hotel was excellent so close to the centre of St Mary's and lots of attractions,eg The beach front,island museum.( great on a wet day)and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

A very friendly hotel where all the staff make you feel really welcome. We have a lovely room which has large sash windows so you can see all that is going on in the main street.Summer 2014 was our 12th visit since 2002. It is ideally situated on the main street of St Mary's, only 5 minutes from the quay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Daniel-Lawson, Manager at Bell Rock Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Your words pretty much mirror my thoughts on a previous poor review, and so it's reassuring that we are actually achieving what we set out to do; and that's making people's holidays enjoyable. We shall see you again soon! More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014

We have already booked for next year, our third year at Bell Rock Hotel. The hotel is peacefully situated, giving us a very good night's sleep, yet is only a 5 minutes walk from the center of Hugh Town, and to each of the beaches. Our room is well-lit by daylight, through dual-aspect windows, and is suitably furnished for our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daniel-Lawson, Manager at Bell Rock Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing us. We are pleased to see you enjoyed various aspects of your stay at the Bell Rock, and over all you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff enjoy the professional, but informal approach and the interaction between guests and staff offers a friendly service that helps to create a rapport, in turn adding to guests'... More 

Olney, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

Thank you for the Christmas card and Newsletter. We have already confirmed our holiday booking for 2015. My wife and I have stayed at The Bell Rock every year for the past eight years and are always made welcome by all the staff who are always very friendly and helpful. The rooms are comfortable and very clean, the food is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
boscastle
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014

We are about to book a holiday at the Bell Rock for the 4th successive year. We have always found the hotel, like the Scilly Isles generally, welcoming and relaxing. The rooms are well-appointed and the beds very comfortable. The food is excellent and all the staff unfailingly cheerful, friendly, and eager to please. The atmosphere of the hotel is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Daniel-Lawson, Manager at Bell Rock Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. It was reassuring to read your comments regarding a previous poor review. It is encouraging that many of our guests wish to return and as you say, hopefully most people will be able to pass off the poor review as juvenile. I guess it's impossible to... More 

Leeds
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014

Thank you for sending us your Christmas communication. We very much enjoyed our stay in June 2014 and will be returning next summer if all goes to plan. We were made most welcome by the staff and, although the weather was superb, we still had a little indoor time to enjoy the excellent selection of books available for guests. Thank... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Daniel-Lawson, Manager at Bell Rock Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to see you will be joining us again this year for your holiday on Scilly. We enjoy being able to welcome our guests back to the hotel on their return visits. See you later in 2015! More 

Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

The Bell Rock was recommended to me 5 years ago by friends who were impressed by its location, the food and the friendly and helpful staff.I have stayed at the hotel either alone or with my wife on four occasions and will be confirming my booking for 2015. I cannot wait to get back! The breakfasts are magnificent, with variations... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Daniel-Lawson, Manager at Bell Rock Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Our high number of returning guests is something we are proud of, and we enjoy welcoming people back for more of what they enjoyed the first time they visited. We look forward to seeing you later in 2015, and hopefully you will enjoy yourself as much as previous visits. More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

Oh dear! What a disappointment. Felt like I was an extra on Fawlty Towers. Room was tiny. Pool was tiny. Rooms are positioned in very odd places. Breakfast OK. Never ate in the evening here but seriously to offer "Dinner" until 8:30… where's the Colonel? Manager was rude and disrespectful to me and my family. It is not a hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daniel-Lawson, Manager at Bell Rock Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I think it is a real shame that you have felt the need to be quite so insulting on this web page. Our guest info does quite clearly say to bring any grievances to my attention whilst staying so that I can try to sort them out for you. I would certainly never be rude... More 

Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

Comfortable room and bed. Staff friendly and you get shown to your room like the used to do in the good old days! Quiet location not far from the main shopping area and the 2 beaches. We had a room overlooking the swimming pool so not much of a view, but the room was a spacious with plenty of storage... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Daniel-Lawson, Manager at Bell Rock Hotel, responded to this review

*Apologies for missing word on my response on review above this one. Should read in last paragraph: "Staff work extremely hard" Thank you for your review. I can see from it that you were in one of our Long Wing rooms which as you say view over the pool area. These rooms are always popular due to there size and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (28)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question