We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 6 St Mary's hotels

Bell Rock Hotel

Save
You added Bell Rock Hotel to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Church Street | Hugh Town, TR21 0JS, England
Hotel amenities
Bell Rock Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in St Mary's
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St Mary's
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    38
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
115
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (188)
  • Mar-May only
    (49)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (81)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (54)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Olney, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Thank you for the Christmas card and Newsletter. We have already confirmed our holiday booking for 2015. My wife and I have stayed at The Bell Rock every year for the past eight years and are always made welcome by all the staff who are always very friendly and helpful. The rooms are comfortable and very clean, the food is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
boscastle
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We are about to book a holiday at the Bell Rock for the 4th successive year. We have always found the hotel, like the Scilly Isles generally, welcoming and relaxing. The rooms are well-appointed and the beds very comfortable. The food is excellent and all the staff unfailingly cheerful, friendly, and eager to please. The atmosphere of the hotel is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leeds
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Thank you for sending us your Christmas communication. We very much enjoyed our stay in June 2014 and will be returning next summer if all goes to plan. We were made most welcome by the staff and, although the weather was superb, we still had a little indoor time to enjoy the excellent selection of books available for guests. Thank... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Bell Rock was recommended to me 5 years ago by friends who were impressed by its location, the food and the friendly and helpful staff.I have stayed at the hotel either alone or with my wife on four occasions and will be confirming my booking for 2015. I cannot wait to get back! The breakfasts are magnificent, with variations... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

Oh dear! What a disappointment. Felt like I was an extra on Fawlty Towers. Room was tiny. Pool was tiny. Rooms are positioned in very odd places. Breakfast OK. Never ate in the evening here but seriously to offer "Dinner" until 8:30… where's the Colonel? Manager was rude and disrespectful to me and my family. It is not a hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daniel-Lawson, Manager at Bell Rock Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I think it is a real shame that you have felt the need to be quite so insulting on this web page. Our guest info does quite clearly say to bring any grievances to my attention whilst staying so that I can try to sort them out for you. I would certainly never be rude... More 

Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

Comfortable room and bed. Staff friendly and you get shown to your room like the used to do in the good old days! Quiet location not far from the main shopping area and the 2 beaches. We had a room overlooking the swimming pool so not much of a view, but the room was a spacious with plenty of storage... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daniel-Lawson, Manager at Bell Rock Hotel, responded to this review

*Apologies for missing word on my response on review above this one. Should read in last paragraph: "Staff work extremely hard" Thank you for your review. I can see from it that you were in one of our Long Wing rooms which as you say view over the pool area. These rooms are always popular due to there size and... More 

Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

Stayed for a week earlier in October 2014. This was my second visit and I have been totally satisfied. Booked on B & B basis only and the breakfast was first class. My single room was small but perfectly OK for my needs. Clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

The Bell Rock is an old-fashioned hotel with some positive and negative points. On the positive is the indoor swimming pool, pleasant reception/bar room, availability of games and books and the high standard of bedroom cleaning in a comfortable (but slightly cramped) room. On the negative are some aspects of the dining room and bar service: for example, breakfast butter... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

This is the second time I have stayed at the Bell Rock Hotel and the experience was equally good as the first. The room was located at the top of the building and had a nice view over the harbour towards Tresco. It was kept spotlessly clean throughout my four night stay. I really like the location of this hotel.... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nottingham
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

This hotel has become our first choice when visiting the Isles of Scilly. We stay here each October, principally for a weeks birdwatching. We always have DBB. The food is really nice, super breakfast that's sets us up for the day - cereals, juices, fruit, yogurts etc followed by an excellent cooked breakfast. Dinner is from a daily changing menu,... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Bell Rock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell Rock Hotel

Address: Church Street | Hugh Town, TR21 0JS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isles of Scilly > St Mary's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bell Rock Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Hotel Bell Rock
Bell Rock Hotel Isles Of Scilly, England

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (28)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay