We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 6 St Mary's hotels

Bell Rock Hotel

Save
You added Bell Rock Hotel to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Church Street | Hugh Town, TR21 0JS, England
Hotel amenities
Bell Rock Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in St Mary's
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St Mary's
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    37
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
22
113
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (184)
  • Mar-May only
    (49)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (81)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (54)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (0)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Oh dear! What a disappointment. Felt like I was an extra on Fawlty Towers. Room was tiny. Pool was tiny. Rooms are positioned in very odd places. Breakfast OK. Never ate in the evening here but seriously to offer "Dinner" until 8:30… where's the Colonel? Manager was rude and disrespectful to me and my family. It is not a hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daniel-Lawson, Manager at Bell Rock Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I think it is a real shame that you have felt the need to be quite so insulting on this web page. Our guest info does quite clearly say to bring any grievances to my attention whilst staying so that I can try to sort them out for you. I would certainly never be rude... More

Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Comfortable room and bed. Staff friendly and you get shown to your room like the used to do in the good old days! Quiet location not far from the main shopping area and the 2 beaches. We had a room overlooking the swimming pool so not much of a view, but the room was a spacious with plenty of storage... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daniel-Lawson, Manager at Bell Rock Hotel, responded to this review

*Apologies for missing word on my response on review above this one. Should read in last paragraph: "Staff work extremely hard" Thank you for your review. I can see from it that you were in one of our Long Wing rooms which as you say view over the pool area. These rooms are always popular due to there size and... More

Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed for a week earlier in October 2014. This was my second visit and I have been totally satisfied. Booked on B & B basis only and the breakfast was first class. My single room was small but perfectly OK for my needs. Clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Bell Rock is an old-fashioned hotel with some positive and negative points. On the positive is the indoor swimming pool, pleasant reception/bar room, availability of games and books and the high standard of bedroom cleaning in a comfortable (but slightly cramped) room. On the negative are some aspects of the dining room and bar service: for example, breakfast butter... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This is the second time I have stayed at the Bell Rock Hotel and the experience was equally good as the first. The room was located at the top of the building and had a nice view over the harbour towards Tresco. It was kept spotlessly clean throughout my four night stay. I really like the location of this hotel.... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nottingham
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

This hotel has become our first choice when visiting the Isles of Scilly. We stay here each October, principally for a weeks birdwatching. We always have DBB. The food is really nice, super breakfast that's sets us up for the day - cereals, juices, fruit, yogurts etc followed by an excellent cooked breakfast. Dinner is from a daily changing menu,... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

We have just had four nights at The Bell Rock Hotel on St Mary's, Isles of Scilly. Super welcome, very nice double bedroom for my husband and myself, my girl friend had a single room which she was very pleased with,not much of a view but very comfortable. All looked to be fairly newly decorated. We had the option of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lewes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

I came to stay at this Hotel as I had booked a holiday to the Isles of Scilly wit H F Holidays in September/October 2014. We were lucky that we had a large bedroom on the top floor for the two of us which was ideal as we wanted a twin beds. My friend had the the large double bed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Daniel-Lawson, Manager at Bell Rock Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We have HF Holidays bring small walking groups to the Bell Rock Hotel 9 times a year now. They have been a very popular way to explore the islands, being guided around to ensure as much as possible is seen within the 5 days (6 nights). Being a small group of 16 maximum, the size... More

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

This year was our fifth visit to Bell Rock in six years and we have stayed in room 18 every time. The views of sunset over Sampson are worth the climb to the top floor; ok, the hot water may struggle to get up there but just be patient!. Daniel (manager) and his team continue to excel in providing a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daniel-Lawson, Manager at Bell Rock Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, and for yet again returning to stay at the Bell Rock Hotel. We have many repeat guests and it is encouraging to see we can keep our service levels consistent to help you enjoy your holiday. It's interesting to hear your comment on the hot water in your room. We now have a high pressure... More

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

This was my first day in the Scilly Islands and the choice for the Bell Rock Hotel was superb! Not only was it in an ideal spot to access all the really cool shops but it was close enough to the dock to take trips or trek out for some outstanding walks around the island! Although it was cool at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daniel-Lawson, Manager at Bell Rock Hotel, responded to this review

We are really happy to hear your first visit to Scilly was enjoyable, and that staying with us at Bell Rock Hotel helped to contribute to your holiday's pleasure. We hope to see you again in the future for further exploring these beautiful islands. Many thanks for your kind review. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Bell Rock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell Rock Hotel

Address: Church Street | Hugh Town, TR21 0JS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isles of Scilly > St Mary's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bell Rock Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Hotel Bell Rock
Bell Rock Hotel Isles Of Scilly, England

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (28)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay