We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

El Diablo Tranquilo Playa Suites

4826 Camino Costanera, Punta del Diablo 27202, Uruguay
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Diablo Tranquilo Playa Suites
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
El Diablo Tranquilo Playa Suites
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    35
    17
    11
    11
See reviews for
5
42
38
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (138)
  • Mar-May only
    (41)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (12)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (37)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (48)
All months
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We arrived at el Diablo towards the end of a road trip around Uruguay on a cool dark evening. The minute we walked in We were greeted by a warm homely open fire and a friendly hello from the staff and the guests. We felt at home straight away. The hostel has the most welcoming feeling. As there were 5... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lucerne, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We didn't stay in ohter places, but for us the hostel was the best option in punta del diablo. The staff is super friendly and you meet a lot of nice people there. The hostel has a lot to offer for activities, like funboard, bike rental, they can arrange back horse riding trips or help you planning your trip to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stuttgart, Germany
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The rooms in the hostel are very simple but comfortable. The staff is very friendly and helpful. This hostel is a very good place to meet many people from all over the world. It also offers many activities. Highly recommended is a horse ride through the National Park of Santa Teresa. One of my friends felt at night very ill,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed a full week in this amazing hostel. This was not planned at all but I stayed because it is an place. The staff is great and they organize a lot of activities! They all are perfect bilingual (English and Spanish) I loved my stay here and they will see my face again! Hopefully sooner than later!

Was this review helpful? Yes
DiabloTranquilo, General Manager at El Diablo Tranquilo Playa Suites, responded to this review

Hi there thanks for that and we are ready to welcome you once again. Saludos from all of us. More 

Surrey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hostel itself is pretty decent, they have great and helpful staff, always keen to help out, decent facilities and a great vibe, upon arrival late at night, we (six british lads) arrived and checked into our dorm, then went into the lounge area for beers. After chatting to the guy at reception he suggested we checked into their sister... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DiabloTranquilo, General Manager at El Diablo Tranquilo Playa Suites, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks for your review and good to know you enjoyed the private ocean view dorm room. We would really like to be number one of South America for you but the breakfast is subject to opinion, for South America the breakfast we offer can be categorized as normal and fits the budget. Just for anyone reading this, our... More 

Bologna, Italy
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

I stayed in the 8 beds dorm that was definitely too crowded (or too small for 8 people), I'm not sure if they change the sheets (as in many hostels I stayed in Latin America). The rooms, the bathroom and the common areas were dirty and full of spiders, also, I don't think that two showers and two toilets are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DiabloTranquilo, General Manager at El Diablo Tranquilo Playa Suites, responded to this review

Hi Silvia, we are not exactly sure why you left a review here because you were staying in our other hostel El Diablo Tranquilo Hostel, where strangely enough you also left a review. We have left a more extensive reply there for you. Best regards from everybody here. More 

Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

When we arrived in Punta del Diablo we've mainly been on the road for 3 days straight. We were soo looking forward to spend some days on the beach. The Diablo tranquilo was recommended to us by different people so there was no question where to stay. When we arrived we moved in in our clean and nice 8 bed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DiabloTranquilo, General Manager at El Diablo Tranquilo Playa Suites, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you so much for writing such an extensive review. We are very happy to read you enjoyed yourself, the hostel and the staff. We all wish the both of you safe travels. More 

Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

The view and location is stunning!!! My 6 bed dorm looked straight onto the ocean. I woke up to the view of the beach! Wow!! The staff were super friendly and helpful! ! Always willing to help and suggest ideas. The mattress like other Uruguay hostels offer sponge mattress so not a very comfortable sleep. The bathrooms are a bit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
DiabloTranquilo, General Manager at El Diablo Tranquilo Playa Suites, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave such extensive review. For the ones reading this and having questions we like to clarify a few points. Our breakfast is what's common here, plus a bit more: Freshly baked bread, jams, dulce de leche, tea, coffee, milk, orange juice and unlimited fruit. As for the wifi, unfortunately we've had some... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

Nice hostel, very well localisated (on the beach) of punta del diabolo. there is a terrasse where you can have the breakfast which is quiet simple but good (try the dulce de leche) The staff is really kind! i recomend this hostel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DiabloTranquilo, General Manager at El Diablo Tranquilo Playa Suites, responded to this review

Hi Victor, Thanks for your recommendation, we appreciate your effort. We wish you all good luck on your travels! Regards from the complete staff. More 

Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

I've been there for the new year's eve of 2015. It's a very fun place at an amazing location and view. But considering it is the most expensive hostel in punta del diablo I was expecting a better structure. If you wanna use the kitchen you need to go to their second hostel which is 10 min walking. Also the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DiabloTranquilo, General Manager at El Diablo Tranquilo Playa Suites, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks for your review and we are happy to read you had a good time here. There are a few things we like to clarify for the people who are reading this. Since El Diablo Tranquilo Playa Suites is right on the beach and surrounded by places where you can eat we do not offer a kitchen in... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

83 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (71)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question