We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sands Motel

1501 Coastal Hwy, Fenwick Island, DE 19944
Hotel amenities
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Sands Motel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

25 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2015

This is a vintage motel from the Fifties, preserved about as well as one could expect, at the seashore. Small room made more cramped with a huge king bed, cheap plywood walls, ancient TV, cheap carpet, period tile bath, window AC. Room was musty and walls were thin, so lots of noise from next door and overhead. Toilet seat loose... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dirk D
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2015 via mobile

This place fit my needs for a 2 night stay, just me & my dog, meeting up with friends. It's super close to the beach and within walking distance to shops, restaurants and mini golf. Yeah it's a bit outdated but I don't plan on spending most of my time inside looking at the walls. It's really clean, staff was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank mjmami137
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2015 via mobile

The motel is an older motel kinda dated but reasonably priced. Despite the General age of our room everything was clean the service was awesome and the bed was the most comfortable king sized bed I think I've ever slept on. We'll be back again

Helpful?
Thank jpindilli
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2015 via mobile

If you do not need fancy, but love personable, friendly, homey, vintage atmospheres, come here. I got upgraded because they could. The other visitors were charming. It is clean, cute, and small. Not much else to say. I'll definitely be back.

Helpful?
Thank Zolazoom
Jayson V, Manager at Sands Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We hope to see you again in the future. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2015

This motel, plain and simple, should stop renting rooms to anyone until it can offer a decent room to travelers. The shower was moldy, the carpet in the bedroom looked like you wouldn't want to walk on it barefoot, the ceiling light cable that runs on part of the ceiling had rust throughout, and some of the people hanging out... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank stephen b
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2015

We had a great stay at the Sands! The beach is right around the corner and never crowed. Terry & Jason were very accommodating, everyone is very friendly and always willing to get you anything you need. We didn't take our dog but maybe next year we will! It's also right between the boardwalks at OCMD and Bethany, DE

Helpful?
2 Thank Molly R
Jayson V, General Manager at Sands Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for coming down we will see you next year. More 

Dillsburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2015

We typically bring the RV to the beach, but this year we didn't plan on a beach vacation so we didn't reserve anything. We decided last minute to find a place where we could just drive down with the kids and spend two nights at the beach... I found the Sands Motel to be 40%+ cheaper than everywhere else, and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jeremy S
Jayson V, Manager at Sands Motel, responded to this review

We are happy you left the RV too. Was nice meeting you and look forward to seeing you again. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2015 via mobile

The Sands is the friendliest, relaxed, clean, quaint and inexpensive motel at the beach. Old time charm. The beach is just a short walk from our door. We finish the beach day at the motels clean and refreshing pool. Each room has its own entrance and two chairs and a table on the walk way. We end our evening sitting... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy G
Jayson V, Manager at Sands Motel, responded to this review

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon. More 

Dundalk, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2015

We usually have stayed in OC for vacation, but this year everything was too pricy. We found a great price here at The Sands! We arrived to find a friendly, welcoming staff. They are actually what made our vacation spectacular! Tasha and Carolyn were especially welcoming. Felt just like home... =) Anything we needed, they went out of their way... More 

Helpful?
Thank BoomPLaYa
Jayson V, Manager at Sands Motel, responded to this review

Thank You for giving us a try, and checking out Fenwick Island! More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2015 via mobile

My family and I had a great stay here at the Sands Motel! It's very convenient to alot of restaurants and shops and the beach is only a couple steps away! The pool was very nice and big not very crowded... just felt so welcomed here the people were very nice an polite and when we checked in we were... More 

Helpful?
Thank danielove5
Jayson V, Front Office Manager at Sands Motel, responded to this review

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

34 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fenwick Island
0.1 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#1 of 4 in Fenwick Island
4.5 of 5 stars 68 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fenwick Inn
Fenwick Inn
#55 of 109 in Ocean City
3.0 of 5 stars 436 reviews
5.0 mi away
Bethany Beach Ocean Suites
Bethany Beach Ocean Suites
#1 of 3 in Bethany Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
#17 of 109 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 stars 301 reviews
15.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
#3 of 12 in Dewey Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay