We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 7 Kisoro accommodations

Mutanda Lake Resort

Save Saved
You added Mutanda Lake Resort to your Saves list
Mutanda Road, Kisoro, Uganda
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (45)
  • Photos (66)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (5)
  • Location
  • More
Mutanda Lake Resort
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kisoro
Check In Check Out
true
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    19
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
8
19
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Was a great setting and very nice staff. we loved the food here as well - Mmmmm apple pie. Self contained rooms with great views of the lake. lots of bird and frog noises at night. Great setting for the restaurant. Would be keen to come again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carlsbad, California
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
34 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here after two gorilla trek, to enjoy the peacefulness of the lodge. Not luxurious but comfortable rooms; a main dining room and terrace overlooking the island dotted lake; friendly owners and staff. Some use this as a staging ground for trekking, but, but we recommend closer (albeit more expensive) accommodations to avoid the uber-early start. Meals are tasty... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
rose marie h, General Manager at Mutanda Lake Resort, responded to this review

Dear Bruce, thank you for commending on Mutanda Lake Resort and for your appreciation. You are right that it is about 1 hour drive from the lodge to the tracking site, but the vistas one has on the way are sooo stunning, that you wouldn’t like to miss. More

Davis, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent 3 nights here getting over jet lag & preparing for our gorilla trek at Rushaga. It is very remote & thus uses generators for power which you have for a couple hours in the morning & about 4 hours in the evening which is more than enough time to charge camera batteries etc. the internet service is spotty,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
rose marie h, General Manager at Mutanda Lake Resort, responded to this review

Dear Patty, What a joy to read your review! Thank you so much for appreciating Mutanda Lake Resort. In the mean time we had more people doing the Batwa trail and they all came back saying it was a great experience More

United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The room was comfortable, although the mosquito nets would be better on frames so they do not drape on your head during the night. For me the room seemed to be aspiring to something that it wasn't quite achieving, attempts at luxury that were only just average. I was grateful for the large fleece throw that I found in a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
rose marie h, General Manager at Mutanda Lake Resort, responded to this review

Dear Joffa. Thank you for your review. We regret that we have disappointed you, although you say it's only slightly. We are always open for remarks and willing to improve on the comfort for our guests. Some months back, when we had a designer developing the plans to renovate the rooms he got the message that it had to fit... More

Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This property is very remote and seems mainly to be used by tour groups small and large as a kicking off point for gorilla tracking in the Bwindi Area. Its location on the shore of Lake Mutanda is idyllic. Swimming and boating is possible. The views are gorgeous. Accommodation is in self-contained safari tents. (Don't be put off by the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
rose marie h, General Manager at Mutanda Lake Resort, responded to this review

Dear Mumbo, thank you for your positive review. I want to make a small remark though: we often hear our guests saying that they had the best hot shower of their trip and you write that hot water is barely avialble??? Each room has it's own eco-heater and water is ever there. We had a few days however that the... More

Kampala, Uganda
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Mutanda Lake Resort is a simple but breathtakingly located resort with a true touch of hospitality. We were here to go and do gorilla tracking at Rushaga area and it was lovely. The staff are so friendly and go out of their way to make sure you are happy. However, you will need to wake up early and set off... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
rose marie h, General Manager at Mutanda Lake Resort, responded to this review

Thanks so much Patrick for your supportive review. For sure we will keep it up! We really hope that the road conditions will improve. They have started at several places, but the pace is very low and is not consistent. this will reduce the time of getting to the gorillas. it's only 25km.! More

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Wonderful lodge to come and rest for a view days, to swim in the gorgeous lakes or to walk around on one of the guided tours around the beautiful villages around the lake. Or ofcourse as a base to do the gorilla tour (which we didn't do). We stayed 3 nights and got very comfortable at the romantic fire place... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
rose marie h, General Manager at Mutanda Lake Resort, responded to this review

Thank you Mleinie for your review. A pity we missed seeing you, but very good to know that our staff made your stay comfortable. Rose Marie More

Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We spent two nights in this beautiful lodge on the shores of the Lake Mutanda. The view is really outstanding. The staff is friendly, the managers are also very nice making you feel almost at home. They even extended the generator for us to watch the Switzerland football team play, thanks again guys !!! The food is very good. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
rose marie h, General Manager at Mutanda Lake Resort, responded to this review

Dear Dalelita, Thank you so much for sharing with others that you have liked your stay with us. We are very happy with your review. But what a pity that the Swiss didn’t make it to next round! Best regards, Rose Marie More

Geneva
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We stayed here 2 nights as a base for our gorilla trek and it was perfect. The setting is great just on the shores of the lake. Rooms are spacious and clean, staff is great and managers are extremely friendly, and make sure everything runs smoothly. Thanks for a great stay !

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
rose marie h, General Manager at Mutanda Lake Resort, responded to this review

Dear Mandel, Thank you so much for your appreciation. We feel supported by it and it encourages us to continue improving where possible. It was a pleasure to have you here. Rose Marie More

Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stayed here as a base for gorillas. The view was beautiful. We took the sunset cruise which was very fun. We decided to do it last minute so the guitar player wasn't available so book ahead. Staff was friendly but rarely at the reception desk which meant when our hot water didn't work we kept running between our room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
rose marie h, General Manager at Mutanda Lake Resort, responded to this review

Dear Sarah, We are happy with your positive remarks, but I also want to apologise for having been disturbed in your sleep by our policemen making phone calls at the reception during the night. We had told them that from 10 pm till 8 am reception is out of bounds. During our leave they had changed shifts and forgot to... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Mutanda Lake Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Mutanda Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mutanda Lake Resort

Address: Mutanda Road, Kisoro, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Kisoro

66 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (47)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mutanda Lake Resort is perched on private peninsula with stunning views on the Virunga Mountain Range.Situated between Kisoro town, Mgahinga and Bwindi National Parks the Resort makes a perfect base for gorilla trackers, volcano hikers,bird lovers as well as those looking for a secluded place in nature. Water recreation possibilities are plenty, like swimming, canoeing or a sunset boat cruise. Accommodation is in semi-tented cottages,built on an elevated wooden platform, each with private veranda and en-suite bathroom. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
13

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mutanda Lake Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer