We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 30 Stone Town hotels

Princess Salme Inn

Mizingani Road, Malindi | P.O Box 2310, Stone Town 255, Tanzania
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Princess Salme Inn to your Saves list
Princess Salme Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
75%
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Stone Town
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013
Jan R Bremen, Germany
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    47
    11
    7
    8
See reviews for
7
34
21
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (99)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (24)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (22)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (29)
All months
There are newer reviews for Princess Salme Inn
See the most recent reviews
Bremen, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay. The room was clean, had a/c and a fan. We stayed 7 nights and really enjoyed our stay. the laundry-service was good, the breakfast was very good. the staff was really nice and helpful. They offer almost all tours you can do on Zanzibar to decent prices. We were asked everyday if our room needs... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We went to princess salme inn since we saw it recommended in other places. Truth to be told for that price you can not expect more. Decent room with a/c and roof fan. Clean except the bed full of ants... They have free internet access goes slow, not their fault at all. The entrance of the hostel is close to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
52 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I stayed here for more than a week as I found it is a good value. Rooms are clean and comfortable with Zabzibar beds and 24-hour hot shower. Quiet, Fast wifi. Even an electronic safe in the room!. Friendly staff. Especially wonderful breakfasts everyday with lots of fruits and tasty juice. Free coffee and tea any time. They even served... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dahab, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Princess salme is very close to where the ferry's arrive in Stone town, and close enough to walk anywhere in stonetown. We would walk about 2km to the fancy new cocktail bar at '6 degrees south' or 'africa house' (next door to each other), watch the sunset (probably best places to watch it in stonetown), then slowly walk back towards... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edmonton
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
31 hotel reviews
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

This place is right next to Warere House, near the port. Both places are convenient for ferry travellers but really - it's just 10 minutes to the centre where there is nicer lodging. The staff here is very nice and friendly however the rooms are downright dismal! Unless you are someone who is looking for a rock bottom price -... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Valledupar, Colombia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. The staff made us feel welcome since the first moment and they were very helpful all the time. The arrange tours and serve a nice breakfast on a rooftop terrace! It is very near the ferry terminal which was ideal for us! Definitely recommend it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
21 hotel reviews
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

to me it is impossible to believe this place got "best hotel" prize from tripadvisor for 2013... I will tell what happened, decide for yourself. (I can prove all, since I complained to Visa and to my bank with proper documents as well). After reading reviews in tripadvisor, I booked the place through a website for 3 nights. It was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SalmeZanzibar, Manager at Princess Salme Inn, responded to this review

We won the award from Trip advisor because some of our customers were happy and accepted our services, which is the most satisfying gift from our customers. We were not expecting any award, however we always work very hard every day to make sure we do satisfy our customers and exceed their expectations. Despite all the efforts, at times we... More

Arusha, Tanzania
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I was recommended this hotel by some friends who had been here a week previously. The staff were absolutely lovely and made sure we felt right at home. We were given a tour of rooms upon arrival so we could decide which one we'd like. There was a great rooftop terrace where breakfast was served and where you could relax... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Landau
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I have really enjoyed my stay at the Princess Salme Inn. Everyone working there was helpful, kind and you just felt very welcomed. The room was very nice and clean. I felt at home, instantly. Breakfast consisted of fruits, bread, tea, juice, bagia etc. I liked it a lot. I had to leave rather early, at 6 am, in order... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
dar el salamm
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Located a few minutes walk from the ferry terminal, this hostel is clean although a little spartan. The staff are very helpful, the accommodation is at the budget end although 35 dollars for a room with shared bathroom seemed a little on the high side. The breakfast was awesome though. Once again as with so many of our hotels in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Do you own or manage Princess Salme Inn?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Princess Salme Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Salme Inn

Address: Mizingani Road, Malindi | P.O Box 2310, Stone Town 255, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Princess Salme Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Salme Hotel Stone Town
Princess Salme Inn Zanzibar/Stone Town

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Princess Salme Inn