We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 30 Stone Town hotels

Protea Hotel Mbweni Ruins

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 km south of Stone Town | P O Box 2542, Stone Town, Tanzania
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Protea Hotel Mbweni Ruins to your Saves list
Protea Hotel Mbweni Ruins
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
77%
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Stone Town
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Elizebeth T
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    33
    10
    10
    4
See reviews for
14
37
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at this Protea hotel for a few days after a work trip in Kampala. My room was clean and very nice, and the beach was wonderful. Every morning I had the beach to myself for hours! I took advantage of the kayaks (fun) and also took the free shuttle to Stone Town twice (also really fun). I didn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel Mbweni Ruins, responded to this review

Dear Elizebeth T Good day, thank you for staying with us and taking time to write this review. I am really glad to hear that you had a great stay with us. I have noted your comment about the food, we have a new F&B TEAM who are working on the menus and other aspects of the department. I am... More

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is great! admittedly a lot of the people who stay here are just going to chumbe island, as my girlfriend and myself did, but i would have definitely extended my stay here if I had the time. It is an average location in terms of there is not much to do there, but a good location as it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel Mbweni Ruins, responded to this review

Dear Alex R Jambo from Protea Hotel Mbweni Ruins, thank you for staying with us and taking time to write this great review. I am really glad that you had a fantastic time and the TEAM ensured your comfort. I will share your feedback with them. We look forward to host you again soon. Thanks and regards, Dinish Antony Group... More

Centurion, South Africa
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
44 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

There was really nothing I could say that was good about the hotel and my stay. The food is really not great, the rooms needs attention. The bathroom is out dated. Reception's admin is a mess. I stayed only a few days during a business trip in DAR. Yes, the beach is nice and the sunset is good, and a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel Mbweni Ruins, responded to this review

Dear Lynn0416 Good day, thank you for staying with us and taking time to write this review. We took the property over an year back and quite a lot has been done in terms of upgrading the facilities & services. But i note from your review that we did not manage to satisfy your needs as a traveler and I... More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

This hotel is set in fantastic grounds with the gardens, the ruins and the beach. The rooms are on the small side but they are clean and well equipped. The staff are friendly and cannot do enough for you, the restaurant is good and the views over the ocean can not be beaten. A great place to relax.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel Mbweni Ruins, responded to this review

Dear GUEST Jambo from Protea Hotel Mbweni Ruins, thank you for staying with us and taking time to write this great review. I am really glad that you had a fantastic time and the TEAM ensured your comfort. I will share your feedback with them. We look forward to host you again soon. Thanks and regards, Dinish Antony Group General... More

Germany
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Plus Points: rooms are clean, the beach is very nice and the compound is well kept. AC works very well. Minus points: triple rooms are small for three adults with just a little shelf for clothes. Rooms have little light. Food at the restaurant is decent but service is rather poor. Specifically, waiters are overanxious to take plates away even... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel Mbweni Ruins, responded to this review

Dear GUEST Jambo from Protea Hotel Mbweni Ruins, thank you for staying with us and taking time to write this candid review. Thank you for both the positives and the negatives you pointed out. We will be renovating our existing facilities and expand the hotel starting Jan 2015. All the facilities related issues will be addressed then. We will however... More

Matemwe, Tanzania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Thank you for a very pleasant stay at Mbweni Ruins- we were very well taken care of and all the staff was helpful, quick and smiling. We felt very welcome and came to relax very easily. We came late in the evening and had to check out at 10 am but we were most welcome to stay and relax the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel Mbweni Ruins, responded to this review

Dear karinkarinkarin Jambo from Protea Hotel Mbweni Ruins, thank you for staying with us and taking time to write this great review. i could not have described hotel and what it offers any better! I am really glad that you had a fantastic time and the TEAM ensured your comfort. I will share your feedback with them. We look forward... More

Milan, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We chose this hotel as it was close to the airport and moslty because it is in front of the docking bay from which Chumbe Island boat transfers start. When we reached the hotel we were also very pleasanty surprised by the warm and efficient welcome of the resident manager and overall by the staff. The hotel premises are very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel Mbweni Ruins, responded to this review

Dear Samantha_Max Jambo from Protea Hotel Mbweni Ruins, thank you for staying with us and taking time to write this detailed review. I am really glad that you had a fantastic time and Dolf, the Resident Manager, and his TEAM ensured your comfort. I will share your feedback with them. We look forward to host you again soon. Thanks and... More

bangalore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I just sopped by this hotel for lunch while visiting the Mbweni Ruins and found it to be a hidden gem. While the ruins themselves were a slight dissapointment the hotel had magnificiant views of the ocean, great food and a spa at the ruin sites!!!!! Very interesting I thought.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel Mbweni Ruins, responded to this review

Dear GUEST Good day, thank you for visiting our hotel and dining with us. I am glad to hear that our TEAM looked after you well and that you appreciated the view, ambiance and the facilities. We hope to host you some time soon. Thanks and regards, Dinish Antony Group General Manager Protea Hotels - Dar es Salaam/Znz gm@proteadar.com More

Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Protea Mbweni is a beautiful hotel with very friendly, efficient staff. The food is delicious food and very well served and presented. The hotel is in a stunning location, you step out of your room onto a beautiful beach.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel Mbweni Ruins, responded to this review

Dear GUEST Good day, thank you for choosing us as your final pit stop after a successful Kili climb. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to host you again soon. Thanks and regards, Dinish Antony Group General Manager Protea Hotels - Dar es Salaam/Znz gm@proteadar.com More

Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Everyone seems to like this peachy hotel for vacation, and I couldn't agree more. The location is marvellous in every respect and the staff is so warm-hearted, always helpful and very professional. For the first two days of our stay we had chosen Mbweni Ruins Hotel, however, as the location for a workshop. A truely perfect choice: The hotel management... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel Mbweni Ruins, responded to this review

Dear Wolfgang H Jambo, thank you for staying with us and choosing our hotel facilities for your workshop. I am really glad that you had a fantastic time with us. I will share your feedback with the TEAM. We look forward to host you again soon. Thanks and regards, Dinish Antony Group General Manager Protea Hotels - Dar es Salaam/Znz... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Protea Hotel Mbweni Ruins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Protea Hotel Mbweni Ruins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Mbweni Ruins

Address: 6 km south of Stone Town | P O Box 2542, Stone Town, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Mbweni Ruins 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Otel, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Protea Hotel Mbweni Ruins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mbweni Ruins
Protea Hotel Mbweni Ruins Zanzibar/Stone Town

64 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (58)
Viewed
3:52
Videos (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Stone Town with
any amenities