We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 31 Stone Town hotels

Mtoni Marine

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mtoni Street 992, Stone Town, Tanzania
Hotel amenities
Mtoni Marine
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Mtoni Marine to your Saves list
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Stone Town
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
LoveTravelLady Lillesand
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    66
    21
    15
    7
See reviews for
48
46
14
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (174)
  • Mar-May only
    (34)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (44)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (55)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (41)
All months
Lillesand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is the perfect place to stay if you want to experience Stone Town, but not to sleep in the middle of the city. There is a beautiful swimmingpool right on the beach and the sunset is marvellous from here. The Pal Court rooms are spacious and well equipped. Do have dinner at the beach one night, it's a fantastic... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MtoniM, Direttore at Mtoni Marine, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am so delighted to hear that you had a very enjoyable stay with us at Mtoni Marine. Your lovely feedback is such a praise to our beach restaurant with its magic atmosphere at the night time. Thank you so much for mentioning it! I am pleased that you liked your spacious room, the pool and the location... More

Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Whatch out when booking hotel and flights at this hotel. They also own Coastal Aviation and is keen to book you on their own airline back to Dar Es Salaam. After the owner at the hote told me that Coastal air will wait for me, they refused me at their check in desk at Zanzibar airport, ,refuse to refund me... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MtoniM, Direttore at Mtoni Marine, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I was quite caught off guard this morning when I found your unpleasant comment posted on Trip Advisor. I am truly sorry for your bad experience with us but what you described is missing of some important details. On Nov 1st at 12:40pm I was at the reception desk when you appeared running and wheezing like you were... More

Tanzania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a wonderful time at Mtoni Marine. The hotel is well situated at a walking distance to the old palace and a very short taxi drive away to stone town. The hotel has a wonderful garden forest and a great pool. The room we stayed in was nicely decorated, very clean with attention to detail and all worked perfectly.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MtoniM, Direttore at Mtoni Marine, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your lovely posting. We are very pleased to learn about your positive impression on our staff and rooms. It always a great pleasure to hear extremely satisfied guests! I am delighted that you were well looked after and that we took care of everything you needed. I am happy to read that you... More

Kolhapur, India
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were thoroughly spoilt by the Sopa lodges earlier so were a bit disappointed with the ambiance etc but then the staff slowly warmed up and were quite helpful, even getting us the fantastic clove soaps nice simple hotel .it is very close to stone town ,as we were there for only 2 nights it was very convenient. The management... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MtoniM, Direttore at Mtoni Marine, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are so pleased that you had a wonderful and relaxing stay with us. We are happy to read that the location of the Hotel worked well for you and that you liked our special soaps, one of our little touches! I do hope that we will have... More

Austin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Don't expect too much relaxation. The resort vibe is loud and social. The sports bar had terrible service (staff unattentive, had to ask for everything, nearly half hour wait from ordering to getting two simple lunch plates at 3pm in nearly empty restaurant). Our room safe malfunctioned immediately after putting our valuables into it, and it took 3 hours for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MtoniM, Direttore at Mtoni Marine, responded to this review

Dear Guest, on receipt of your very detailed feedback on your recent stay with us, allow me to foremost express our sincere and heartfelt regrets for not meeting your expectations at Mtoni Marine. We would sincerely like to apologize for the lack of our services that you have commented upon. We work hardly in ensuring that all our customers are... More

Mombasa, Kenya
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited Mtoni Marine in October 2014 and enjoyed my stay. I loved the fact that it is close to Stone Town as the airline (Kenya Airways) had a 5.35am flight only! The staff are extremely good, Rama & Mohammed at the reception top the list -Very helpful chaps. There is also the older gentleman who is the watchman. He speaks... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MtoniM, Marketing Manager at Mtoni Marine, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting such a detailed and informative review about our hotel and your stay with us. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and that you are able to recommend us to others. We would like to thank you for providing necessary information to others and appreciating our services. We are however... More

Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

This is a quick note from Kevin and myself to say a HUGE BIG thank-you for the wonderful hospitality and blessed time that we had at Mtoni Marine – Stone Town Zanzibar. We enjoyed every minute of every day and it was well worth the trip. I would however like to bring some constructive criticism to your attention please: Room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MtoniM, Marketing Manager at Mtoni Marine, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel with us. Your feedback is very important to us as it only helps us improve to serve you better. We are disheartened to know that you found the eating areas rather dirty. We apologize for all the inconveniences you faced during your stay with us. Our aim is always... More

washington dc
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

Recently stayed at Mtoni Marine after a Tanzania safari. Found the hotel to be very nice. Everyone was very nice and welcoming. The hotel grounds were well maintained. The rooms are spacious and basic. The toiletries and amenities in the rooms are basic. The food in the restaurant was good. There is free wifi. The hotel is only a 10... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MtoniM, Marketing Manager at Mtoni Marine, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your time. We appreciate you sparing your time to post a review about your stay with us and we are happy to know that you like our hotel. We would also like to thank you for recommending the concert and dinner at the Mtoni Palace Ruins to others. We look forward to you visiting us... More

Arusha
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

I loved staying at Mtoni Marine. On top of its beautiful pool, great food and very comfortable and bright, comfortable rooms, the staff and management were incredibly friendly and helpful. On the number of times I have returned to Mtoni Marine, I have felt comfortable and safe each time. I was on business in Zanzibar and needed somewhere relatively close... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MtoniM, Marketing Manager at Mtoni Marine, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for taking your time to post a review about our hotel. We are very glad to know that you felt comfortable and safe while at our hotel. It is our prime intention to make our guests feel as comfortable and satisfied as possible. Your feedback is always very helpful as it helps us improve and gives us... More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at Mtoni Marine. We arrived in the evening and after being welcomed we were guided to the amazing Mtoni Palace ruins on the beach where we dined while watching a performance of Taraab music and local dancing, which was absolutely wonderful. The ruins were lighted with candles and beautiful white cloth was hanging from the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MtoniM, Marketing Manager at Mtoni Marine, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel and the Mtoni Palace as well for the concert and dinner program. I am happy to know that you could describe our hotel as "unique". We sure do believe that we do stand out from the rest. Many thanks & we hope we will visit us again soon. Best... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Mtoni Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mtoni Marine

Address: Mtoni Street 992, Stone Town, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mtoni Marine 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Mtoni Marine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mtoni Marine Stone Town
Mtoni Marine Hotel Stone Town
Mtoni Marine Zanzibar/Stone Town

88 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (64)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Near Mtoni Marine

Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby