We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 31 Stone Town hotels

The Africa House Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Shangani Street, Stone Town, Tanzania
Hotel amenities
The Africa House Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Africa House Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #27 of 31 Hotels in Stone Town
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
AfricanDreamzy
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    37
    18
    23
    42
See reviews for
18
65
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (168)
  • Mar-May only
    (35)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (53)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (38)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (42)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Would love to thank Every staff member and the management at Africa house hotel . You made our stay magical, relaxing and absolutely beautiful. Everyone was so kind,helpful,charming and just amazing. It was our first time in Zanzibar and you surely made our trip worth it . We hope to visit you soon . I highly recommend anyone to pick... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We spent seven days at the hotel. Highlights were the outstanding service and hospitality from the staff and all the sunset-views from the terrace bar Sunset Bar! A week in Stone Town is far too much, but the hotel was really nice!

Was this review helpful? Yes
michael b, Guest Relations Manager at The Africa House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to post a review of your visit on Trip advisor. I am so very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. All of us at The Mark and High Class group of Hotels are dedicated to providing an exceptional guest experience and a clean... More 

Ad Dawha, Ad Dawhah, Qatar
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

I stayed there over a weekend and loved it. The staff were very helpful right from the moment i strayed in upto my departure time. The rooms were great, good quality sleep guaranteed. The sunset bar was awesome, great view of the sunset (as the name). Waiters were kind, interactive and helpful. The operations manager Lorna and her team were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
michael b, Guest Relations Manager at The Africa House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to post a review of your visit on Trip advisor. I am so very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. All of us at The Mark and High Class group of Hotels are dedicated to providing an exceptional guest experience and a clean... More 

Dar es Salaam, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

I would not recommend to stay in this hotel. We booked a room in advance but when we reached they took 2 hours to ready the room. And finally the room which we got was the worst one i have ever seen. There was no power in zanzibar so no AC, this was acceptable but then no fan, no light... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
michael b, Guest Relations Manager at The Africa House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Archaana , Every Guest is a Valued Guest, and we were delighted to be your chosen hotel during your recent stay in Zanzibar. Its paining to know the hardships you had to go through during your stay with us. I am thankful to you for bringing this to our attention. We have called back the Operation Manager at our... More 

Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014

Old colonial hotel, lovely spacious rooms, good and charming service. Decorated with taste, wonderful terrace over the bay BUT unless you feel like dancing your heart out on Friday night , do not stay there on Fridays. There is a disco in the hotel and you hear it loud in all rooms. All other nights are fine !

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
santoshkumar712, General Manager at The Africa House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We are thankful to you for putting your comments about our hotel. The noise problem on Friday has already been sorted out. We will be happy to host you on your next visit to Zanzibar. Regards, Santosh Kumar More 

Lusaka
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

I can recommend the Africa House Hotel without reservation. It's a great value and the staff and facility are second to none. I loved the large bathtub in our room and the decor was so authentic. I would recommend the mushroom soup and the Zanzibari fried fish (Samaki na nasi), served on terrace about the Indian Ocean.

Was this review helpful? Yes
santoshkumar712, General Manager at The Africa House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We are thankful to you for staying with us during your visit to Zanzibar and also for your review of our property. We get our happiness by providing happiness of our guests. Nothing gives us more satisfaction than a satisfied guest. Looking forward to serve you on your next visit to Zanzibar. Regards, Santosh More 

Chico, California
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

Central location right on the water in the heart of Stone Town--close to all shopping, the old town market, beaches, walks, the port and hydrofoil from Dar(5 minutes by taxi), and nearly 20 super restaurants. In spite of its age and the beating from the elements, this old home converted into a sizable establishment retains its charm, romance, and historical... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
santoshkumar712, General Manager at The Africa House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We would like to thank you immensely for your kind comments. We will continue to work harder to improve the short comings and to maintain the positives. Regards, Santosh More 

Henley Beach, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

Had the pleasure of visiting this hotel back in July this year. A beautifully renovated character hotel with magnificent rooms and amazing views of the sea. Pretty good food and drink as well. What really makes this place though are the staff that can't do enough for you. I'd practically like to thank the receptionist on the front desk who... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
santoshkumar712, General Manager at The Africa House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We are thankful to you for your valuable feedback. We look forward to welcome you again. Regards, Santosh Kumar More 

New Eltham
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

We didn't actually stay at this hotel, although it did look lovely, but went to the terrace for sunset downers, after being taken through many lanes and alleys to get there by our guide ! Get there about 6 so you can get a good seat, then sit back, relax and take in the views and the sunset. The staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
santoshkumar712, General Manager at The Africa House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Madam, We are thankful to you for taking out your valuable time to put your feedback about our hotel. It gives us a sense of satisfaction when we get to read such nice comments from you. We look forward to welcome you again. Regards, Santosh Kumar More 

Fleet, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

Cannot fault Africa House Hotel, the rooms were large, well cleaned each day and they had good air conditioning. The staff were welcoming, friendly and would do anything to make your stay more comfortable. The sunset bar in the hotel is stunning and many people come to the hotel just to sit and have a drink here. The location is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
santoshkumar712, General Manager at The Africa House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Madam, We are thankful to you for your feedback. We assure you of an even better experience the next time you visit us. Looking forward to serve you again soon. Regards, Santosh Kumar More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Africa House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Africa House Hotel

Address: Shangani Street, Stone Town, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Africa House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your The Africa House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Africa Hotel Stone Town
The Africa Hotel
The Africa House Hotel Zanzibar/Stone Town
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town

96 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (96)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (34)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
3:15
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (28)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay