We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Africa House Hotel

4.0 of 5
Shangani Street, Stone Town, Tanzania
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Africa House Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Africa House Hotel
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    43
    19
    23
    43
See reviews for
20
68
25
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (176)
  • Mar-May only
    (40)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (53)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (38)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (45)
All months
Nuremberg, Germany
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I was booked here on a recommendation from a friend. While at one point this hotel was nice and has a very historic colonial lineage as state in Lonely plan it has more then slipped. It has fallen on it's face in the mud. This place needs an overhaul. I am not one to whine but I want clean (I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Corona, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

This property is amazing...rich with History, in the heart of Stone town, ocean views amazing, you can walk everywhere in Stone Town, Affordable, Service outstanding. Wide variety of food and all was delicious. Perfect all around Hotel. If you are looking for beach resort this is not it, looking for Very Nice Historical Hotel, with Ocean views, access to everything... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

Staying here is an experience in itself. It is an old colonial house that used to be British male-only club in the distant past. Luckily now it is open to all, and the previous dwellers of this building can no longer have the most amazing sunset views to themselves! There are lots of fascinating nooks and crannies, and the on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

Would love to thank Every staff member and the management at Africa house hotel . You made our stay magical, relaxing and absolutely beautiful. Everyone was so kind,helpful,charming and just amazing. It was our first time in Zanzibar and you surely made our trip worth it . We hope to visit you soon . I highly recommend anyone to pick... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
michael b, Guest Relations Manager at The Africa House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to post a review of your visit on Trip advisor. I am so very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. All of us at The Mark and High Class group of Hotels are dedicated to providing an exceptional guest experience and a clean... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015 via mobile

We spent seven days at the hotel. Highlights were the outstanding service and hospitality from the staff and all the sunset-views from the terrace bar Sunset Bar! A week in Stone Town is far too much, but the hotel was really nice!

Was this review helpful? Yes
michael b, Guest Relations Manager at The Africa House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to post a review of your visit on Trip advisor. I am so very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. All of us at The Mark and High Class group of Hotels are dedicated to providing an exceptional guest experience and a clean... More 

Ad Dawha, Ad Dawhah, Qatar
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

I stayed there over a weekend and loved it. The staff were very helpful right from the moment i strayed in upto my departure time. The rooms were great, good quality sleep guaranteed. The sunset bar was awesome, great view of the sunset (as the name). Waiters were kind, interactive and helpful. The operations manager Lorna and her team were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
michael b, Guest Relations Manager at The Africa House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to post a review of your visit on Trip advisor. I am so very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. All of us at The Mark and High Class group of Hotels are dedicated to providing an exceptional guest experience and a clean... More 

Dar es Salaam, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

I would not recommend to stay in this hotel. We booked a room in advance but when we reached they took 2 hours to ready the room. And finally the room which we got was the worst one i have ever seen. There was no power in zanzibar so no AC, this was acceptable but then no fan, no light... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
michael b, Guest Relations Manager at The Africa House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Archaana , Every Guest is a Valued Guest, and we were delighted to be your chosen hotel during your recent stay in Zanzibar. Its paining to know the hardships you had to go through during your stay with us. I am thankful to you for bringing this to our attention. We have called back the Operation Manager at our... More 

Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014

Old colonial hotel, lovely spacious rooms, good and charming service. Decorated with taste, wonderful terrace over the bay BUT unless you feel like dancing your heart out on Friday night , do not stay there on Fridays. There is a disco in the hotel and you hear it loud in all rooms. All other nights are fine !

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
santoshkumar712, General Manager at The Africa House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We are thankful to you for putting your comments about our hotel. The noise problem on Friday has already been sorted out. We will be happy to host you on your next visit to Zanzibar. Regards, Santosh Kumar More 

Lusaka
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

I can recommend the Africa House Hotel without reservation. It's a great value and the staff and facility are second to none. I loved the large bathtub in our room and the decor was so authentic. I would recommend the mushroom soup and the Zanzibari fried fish (Samaki na nasi), served on terrace about the Indian Ocean.

Was this review helpful? Yes
santoshkumar712, General Manager at The Africa House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We are thankful to you for staying with us during your visit to Zanzibar and also for your review of our property. We get our happiness by providing happiness of our guests. Nothing gives us more satisfaction than a satisfied guest. Looking forward to serve you on your next visit to Zanzibar. Regards, Santosh More 

Chico, California
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

Central location right on the water in the heart of Stone Town--close to all shopping, the old town market, beaches, walks, the port and hydrofoil from Dar(5 minutes by taxi), and nearly 20 super restaurants. In spite of its age and the beating from the elements, this old home converted into a sizable establishment retains its charm, romance, and historical... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
santoshkumar712, General Manager at The Africa House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We would like to thank you immensely for your kind comments. We will continue to work harder to improve the short comings and to maintain the positives. Regards, Santosh More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

101 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (101)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (35)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
3:15
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (29)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question