We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hurumzistreet | P.O. Box 1117, Stone Town, Tanzania
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$50 (USD)
Save Saved
You added Clove Hotel to your Saves list
Clove Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
91%
Ranked #5 of 28 Stone Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013
Ken_Skis London, United Kingdom
  • Reviews (215)
  • Photos (133)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (26)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

215 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    103
    87
    12
    6
    7
See reviews for
24
100
33
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Clove Hotel
See the most recent reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Lisette and the staff at Clove were very helpful during my short stay in Stone Town. The rooms are clean, have comfy beds and nice ceiling fans. The breakfast on the roof terrace and honor bar were really nice touches. The staff organized my taxi to the airport, made good restaurant recommendations and provided an umbrella to use during a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Silver Spring, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We spent three days in this wonderful guesthouse. Situated in the middle of stonetown right next to the house of wonders it offers the most friendly staff you can imagine, nothing is impossible, only miracles may take a while to get processed. You will feel home away from home. Lisette is so helpful in all aspects and really a great... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Skanderborg, Danmark
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Ms. Director or Frnt disc (Lisa or Isert ) worst person in the hotel. Watch out if you ar man to speak with her. She´s very complex from men´s. I do not know why??? It is not suitable to work in the tourism, she did not know anything about hospitality The rest of the workers less than Ok. The room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Clovehotel, Owner at Clove Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time writing review. We regret that you didn't like it in Clove Hotel. It is indeed a risk which you take if you do your bookings through a tourcompany. Maybe you haven't communicated clearly enough with your tour agent. You told me you expected a room with seaview, but since we are in the middle... More

Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed at Clove Hotel for two nights in mid-October. Clove Hotel is great value for money - the rooms are basic but nice with decent beds. The roof terrace is again simple but beautiful - great sunset watching and a nice sea view. The staff are all really friendly and go a long way to make you feel at home.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Moscow, Idaho, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed four nights in early Sept. and had a wonderful experience. The room was clean and comfortable and had a balcony (we were on the third floor and didn't have any issues with noise), the staff were all very friendly and helpful, breakfasts were plentiful and tasty. We enjoyed taking breaks or winding down at the end of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Spent our first night in Zanzibar at the Clove hotel which was brilliant. Helpful and great staff. Loved the design of the hotel as well and the view from the rooftop terrace was amazing. Breakfast in the morning was great and the rooms were all you needed and good value to have your own bathroom as well. Would recommend this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We spent two nights at Clove Hotel after 21 nights of safari. It was exactly what we need. Clean, comfortable, central. The staff were exceptionally helpful. Breakfasts on the roof top were fantastic.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I recently stayed in the Clove Hotel for two nights and loved it! This place is super cute/clean and the hotel staff are very hospitable and welcoming! The location is amazing and you are walking distance from everything. The owner warned us before booking that our particular room on the first floor could get noisy at night, and she was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bukavu, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

At the end of the day if you want a less expensive hotel and still want to be in the town centre then you should also expect to wear earplugs. Yes the place is noisy because guess what, it's in the centre of town so if you want peace and quiet, you'll either have to find somewhere in a suburb... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kigali
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I liked this hotel a lot. I stayed there for two nights on my own in a smallish single room. The hotel is in a great Stonetown location, a short walk from many bars and restaurants and right next to the park. There is a nice relaxed rooftop area where you can sit and take breakfast or afternoon evening beers/soft... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Clove Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Clove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clove Hotel

Address: Hurumzistreet | P.O. Box 1117, Stone Town, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelWorld so you can book your Clove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clove Hotel Zanzibar/Stone Town

133 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (94)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (28)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Number of rooms
8

See which rooms travelers prefer