We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hurumzistreet | P.O. Box 1117, Stone Town, Tanzania
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$50 (USD)
Save Saved
You added Clove Hotel to your Saves list
Clove Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
90%
Ranked #5 of 29 Stone Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014
Canbay Istanbul, Turkey
Write a Review

210 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    83
    12
    6
    7
See reviews for
24
99
32
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed in two different rooms during our 3 days stay.The most important thing for us was the location of the hotel.It is close to The House of Wonders and Foradhani Park..The owners,Laurence and her husband and the staff was very helpful and friendly. The breakfast which was included to the price and served on the rooftop, was very rich... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Lovely, recently renovated hotel decorated with traditional Zanzibari furniture and local crafts. Rooms are spotless and very comfortable, though the one I was in lacked storage space. Breakfast is served on the rooftop terrace, with a view of Stonetown's meandering streets and the sea. The location is amazing, just a stone throw away from from the old Arab fort and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Laurence and her husband, new management, have renovated and planning a great menu. The terrase has an ocean view. They are one of the few places you can have a nice cold serengeti beer and after a hot day walking and touring its a godse d. The rooms are clean, new fans and they will be planning a room with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kortenhoef, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We have been in the Clove a couple of times and we love the atmospheric location in the old town at the beginning of Hurumzi Street, just behind the House of Wonders and close to Forodhani Gardens. To our surprise the hotel was taken over by a very welcoming French couple. They did a makeover of the whole place, new... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bukavu, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We chose Clove based on Tripadvisor reviews -- so now I'm reviewing in return to say we were not disappointed! Big thanks to the community out there for all their good guidance. Lisette can instantly sort you out with everything you need or want in town and outside it; she is a one-woman travel agent and you can book everything... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

This is a great little hotel/guest house right near the waterfront. The owner, Lisette, is a wonderful asset with a wealth of information providing travel tips, arranging guides and taxis and teaching her guests Swahili. There is a nice relaxing rooftop area for breakfast with a view over the town and the sea, the fridge is stocked with cold beers... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Lisette and the staff at Clove were very helpful during my short stay in Stone Town. The rooms are clean, have comfy beds and nice ceiling fans. The breakfast on the roof terrace and honor bar were really nice touches. The staff organized my taxi to the airport, made good restaurant recommendations and provided an umbrella to use during a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dar Es Salaam Region, Tanzania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We spent three days in this wonderful guesthouse. Situated in the middle of stonetown right next to the house of wonders it offers the most friendly staff you can imagine, nothing is impossible, only miracles may take a while to get processed. You will feel home away from home. Lisette is so helpful in all aspects and really a great... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Skanderborg, Danmark
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Ms. Director or Frnt disc (Lisa or Isert ) worst person in the hotel. Watch out if you ar man to speak with her. She´s very complex from men´s. I do not know why??? It is not suitable to work in the tourism, she did not know anything about hospitality The rest of the workers less than Ok. The room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Clovehotel, Owner at Clove Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time writing review. We regret that you didn't like it in Clove Hotel. It is indeed a risk which you take if you do your bookings through a tourcompany. Maybe you haven't communicated clearly enough with your tour agent. You told me you expected a room with seaview, but since we are in the middle... More

Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed at Clove Hotel for two nights in mid-October. Clove Hotel is great value for money - the rooms are basic but nice with decent beds. The roof terrace is again simple but beautiful - great sunset watching and a nice sea view. The staff are all really friendly and go a long way to make you feel at home.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Been to Clove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clove Hotel

Also Known As:
Clove Hotel Zanzibar/Stone Town
Address: Hurumzistreet | P.O. Box 1117, Stone Town, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Stone Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Stone Town
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Clove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clove Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.