We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 30 Stone Town hotels

Warere Town House

Behind Cine Afrique, Stone Town, Tanzania
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Warere Town House
Best prices from these 2 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Warere Town House to your Saves list
91%
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Stone Town
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
ExploreFirst Cape Town Central, South Africa
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    85
    12
    7
    2
See reviews for
29
88
39
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (239)
  • Mar-May only
    (36)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (77)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (60)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (66)
All months
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I enjoyed my stay at Warere Town House, including airport collection, both on arrival in Stone Town and again on my return from the east coast. The location isn't in the very heart of the town, but it's within walking distance of everywhere and very close to Mercury's, the fab sunset venue named after the lead singer of Queen, born... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed 6 night recently. Very happy, it's cheap, simple and clean. Great staff and helpful. Rooms are small but I was solo and barely spent time there. Its a little far from town but still reasonable location. Very pleased with warere overall.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel was way above our expectations. Refreshing cold towels and a fruit juice on arrival. Clean spacious room with a little bacony. Bed was quite high up but reasonably comfortable. Hotel staff were extremely helpful and organised a spice tour for us as well as letting us store our bags there while on the tour after we had checked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It's a beautiful little place, and very close to the ferry; a little distant from Stonetown restaurants and shops. Our major problem was the young man managing the day-to-day operations. He seems to have a problem with honesty. He lied to us numerous times and tried to over-charge us by $20 USD. The manager was unavailable repeatedly throughout a 24... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review

Dear Michael K, Thank you for your comments. The “young man” you refer to has been with us for three years and I can assure you that in all that time he has proved to be a formidably honest, hardworking employee. You booked your room through booking.com and reserved a SINGLE room. When you arrived you came with your wife.... More

Gainesville, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is place is great - especially for what you pay. I wouldn't say it's exactly in the thick of things in Stonetown, but it's not a far walk to get to the House of Wonders or down to Forodhani Gardens. It's also really close to the port, so getting to and from the hotel from the ferry is super... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dundee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Myself and two friends stayed for 9 nights when we were working in the hospital on the other side of town. Ok for location, just don't travel any further North. The room was good for what we paid, my bed made a bit of noise but this is a minor complaint. They were kept clean and the hot shower was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

My wife and I stayed in four hotels in Zanzibar over a two week period to 29 June 2014, and the Warere Town House stands head and shoulders above the others, including notably a four star hotel reviewed separately. The professionalism, warmth, and helpfulness of the staff were immediate, and sustained over the 4 days we stayed there. They made... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hanoi
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

For the price this place is a great and central. Nothing fancy about the place but its clean and with working wifi. The beds are for some reason unusually high up to the point where I had to take a running jump to get on but you can walk everywhere from here (Although I wouldn't advise it at night and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review

Dear HunterSony, Thank you for reviewing the Warere. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and came back for a further two nights! Our taxi service, which is $40 to/from anywhere on Zanzibar Island, is one of the cheapest taxi services you will find from any hotel on the island. It is, however, more expensive than just taking... More

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

I really liked this hotel. Location is good with just a short walk to the main part of the town and an even shorter walk to the port. The staff were very helpful and organised taxis and trips. The room was very nice and good value at $70 a night I felt. The breakfast was fine. It is served on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Very nice 3-night stay, excellent breakfast on the roof overlooking the city, very friendly and helpful staff who were able to book all manner of trips and excursions for us at good prices. Only downside was the very short bed with a footboard, making pretty uncomfortable for anyone over 6 foot tall. Apart from that, excellent place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Do you own or manage Warere Town House?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Warere Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warere Town House

Address: Behind Cine Afrique, Stone Town, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Stone Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Warere Town House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warere Town House Hotel Stone Town
Warere Town House Zanzibar/Stone Town

111 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (106)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay