We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Warere Town House

Travelers' Choice award winner
Hotel website
Behind Cine Afrique, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Warere Town House
Professional photos View all
Warere Town House
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    92
    14
    7
    2
See reviews for
30
102
45
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (268)
  • Mar-May only
    (42)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (77)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (69)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (80)
All months
Greater Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Had a wonderful stay at Warere. The staff were very friendly and helpful, able to recommend good restaurants and places to see as well as providing us with a map of the town. Good location too, just a short walk into town and very close to the ferry. The rooms were comfortable and clean and the breakfast at the rooftop... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review

Hi Stephanie G, Thank you for your lovely review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future! More 

Austin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015 via mobile

Wonderful budget guest house in historic Stone Town. Lovely roof-top breakfast setting,with fresh eggs and fruit every morning. Very knowledgable, helpful staff who can help arrange any trip and know the best guides. Restuta and Patrick were great hosts. If you are leaving town late in the day, you can check out and then come back and take a shower... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review

Hi RebTX, Thank you for your great review! We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Karibuni tena when you are next in Zanzibar More 

Buffalo
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

The Warere felt like a little secret tucked away in Stone Town. They offer a pick up from the airport that I would suggest taking advantage of as the house can be a little difficult to find the first time you go. We stayed there for 3 nights and form the time of the pick up form the airport to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review

Hi lyteqwest, Thank you for taking the time to review the Warere. I was thrilled to read your review as everything you mention is exactly what we aim to achieve. Clean, comfortable rooms at an affordable price, with a good breakfast and great customer service. I was particularly glad to read you found our drivers prompt and welcoming. We hope... More 

Zanzibar Island, Tanzania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

We stayed at the Warere for two nights and really enjoyed our stay. The ginger welcome juice and fresh towel on arrival is a lovely touch worthy of much more expensive hotels. The breakfast was good with a nice range of food on offer. We peaked into some of the rooms and they are all different, some bigger, some smaller,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review

Dear 90zanzibargirl90 Thank you for reviewing the Warere. We are glad you found our rooms comfortable and well priced. Karibuni tena! More 

Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

Very spacious room - nice decoration and attention to detail. We disliked: - Mouldy smell in the room with a too strong fragrance trying to achieve a good smell - No door for the toilet - Slow service at the breakfast once coffee or juice was finished We liked: - umbrellas to borrow - huge beds with great mosquito nets... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review

Dear Moepmoep, Thank you for taking the time to review the Warere! We are glad that you enjoyed our rooms and found the little touches such as free umbrellas helpful. We want to apologise for the mouldy smell in your room. Unfortunately during the rainy season everything becomes quite humid and our dryer broke down right before your stay. It... More 

Tromsø, Troms, Norway
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2015

Stayed at this charming town house one night after a week in a luxury resort in Nungwi. My review may of that reason be a bit colored from the standard we left to what met us in this little hotel. Warere town house has a central location, although hard to find if you don’t get help by any locals (e.g.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review

Dear Sigurd k, Thank you for taking the time to review the Warere! At an average price of $25-$35 per person per night we certainly do not compete with the more luxurious hotels on the island! We aim to provide a quality budget experience, with a good breakfast, and basic in room amenities, including hot water, AC, fan, nets and... More 

Zanzibar Island, Tanzania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

Great small hotel, near the ferry. The staff is wonderful, rooms are clean and the breakfast is delicious! Staff can arrange tours in the reception and give good restaurant advises. Felt like home while staying there. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review

Dear 2015travelling2015 We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Karibu tena! More 

Geraldton, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

Bit hard to find, but a little gem once there. Rooms were comfortable, air con good, and pretty and peaceful balcony. The rooftop restaurant/ bar was great, nice breakfasts and an honour fridge for beers, help yourself and make a note of how many you have and pay next day! The Scandinavian lass on the front desk was very friendly,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review

Hi janie29, Thank you for taking the time to review the Warere. We look forward to seeing you again! More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015 via mobile

We spent two nights at Warere over the weekend of Sauti za Busara, and thought it was excellent. Good location around 10 minutes walk from the Old Fort and House of Wonders, allowing a nice quiet sleep away from the hustle and bustle followed by a short (and safe) stroll into town the following day. The staff were always helpful,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review

Hi IanandBeth, We are really glad you enjoyed your stay at the Warere! Karibuni tena! More 

Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

We were received with fresh ginger lemonade and wet towels to get off the first dirt after the ferry ride (desperately needed :) ). Really cute and clean place (rooms are a bit small but we did not mind), wonderful cinnamon soap and really helpful staff. Dinner seemed overprized so we did not eat there...

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

139 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (108)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities