We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Warere Town House

Travelers' Choice award winner
Hotel website
Behind Cine Afrique, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Warere Town House
Professional photos View all
Warere Town House
Add Photo Write a Review

272 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    155
    94
    14
    7
    2
See reviews for
30
102
47
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (272)
  • Mar-May only
    (43)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (80)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (69)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (80)
All months
South Africa
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked airport transfer With Warere House, highly recommended and on landing our driver was there (Salman) with a nice vehicle and sign with our names on transfer $10 per car and stress free! We were treated on arrival to a cool towel and fresh juice. Checked in helpfully despite power cuts into a small room with a large bed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review

Hi Francesca, Thank you for your lovely review! We are glad you enjoyed your meal with us and enjoyed our tours. We look forward to having you again! More 

Auckland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at Warere Town House for 2 nights. I chose a budget room and this was fine. Standard double bed, own bathroom (the shower is not separated from the basin and toilet so this does mean the tiled floor gets wet around the basin and toilet until it has dried off). There was an air conditioning unit but I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review

Hi Rosie C, Thank you for taking the time to review the Warere. Room 19 is indeed compact, but it has everything a single traveller needs ;) we are looking at redesigning the bathroom to avoid the wet tile problem, but this is a major job, so will likely happen next May during our annual refurbishment. We are also replacing... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015

Stayed only 1 night, in a tiny hotelroom perfect for 1 person. Good service, and clean rooms! They were fully booked, but he managed to get me a room for 25$, which I think was really nice. Really good drink at the arrival to! Thumbs up for a sentral and nice hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review

Hi Birgitte S, Thank you for your review! You must have stayed in our teeny tiny budget single at $25. This room is not online as it is quite small and a bit dark but budget travellers love it as it has ensuite bathroom, AC, fan and mosquito netting and the $25 includes breakfast and wifi access! We look forward... More 

Greater Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

Had a wonderful stay at Warere. The staff were very friendly and helpful, able to recommend good restaurants and places to see as well as providing us with a map of the town. Good location too, just a short walk into town and very close to the ferry. The rooms were comfortable and clean and the breakfast at the rooftop... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review

Hi Stephanie G, Thank you for your lovely review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future! More 

Austin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015 via mobile

Wonderful budget guest house in historic Stone Town. Lovely roof-top breakfast setting,with fresh eggs and fruit every morning. Very knowledgable, helpful staff who can help arrange any trip and know the best guides. Restuta and Patrick were great hosts. If you are leaving town late in the day, you can check out and then come back and take a shower... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review

Hi RebTX, Thank you for your great review! We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Karibuni tena when you are next in Zanzibar More 

Buffalo
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

The Warere felt like a little secret tucked away in Stone Town. They offer a pick up from the airport that I would suggest taking advantage of as the house can be a little difficult to find the first time you go. We stayed there for 3 nights and form the time of the pick up form the airport to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review

Hi lyteqwest, Thank you for taking the time to review the Warere. I was thrilled to read your review as everything you mention is exactly what we aim to achieve. Clean, comfortable rooms at an affordable price, with a good breakfast and great customer service. I was particularly glad to read you found our drivers prompt and welcoming. We hope... More 

Zanzibar Island, Tanzania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

We stayed at the Warere for two nights and really enjoyed our stay. The ginger welcome juice and fresh towel on arrival is a lovely touch worthy of much more expensive hotels. The breakfast was good with a nice range of food on offer. We peaked into some of the rooms and they are all different, some bigger, some smaller,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review

Dear 90zanzibargirl90 Thank you for reviewing the Warere. We are glad you found our rooms comfortable and well priced. Karibuni tena! More 

Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

Very spacious room - nice decoration and attention to detail. We disliked: - Mouldy smell in the room with a too strong fragrance trying to achieve a good smell - No door for the toilet - Slow service at the breakfast once coffee or juice was finished We liked: - umbrellas to borrow - huge beds with great mosquito nets... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review

Dear Moepmoep, Thank you for taking the time to review the Warere! We are glad that you enjoyed our rooms and found the little touches such as free umbrellas helpful. We want to apologise for the mouldy smell in your room. Unfortunately during the rainy season everything becomes quite humid and our dryer broke down right before your stay. It... More 

Tromsø, Troms, Norway
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2015

Stayed at this charming town house one night after a week in a luxury resort in Nungwi. My review may of that reason be a bit colored from the standard we left to what met us in this little hotel. Warere town house has a central location, although hard to find if you don’t get help by any locals (e.g.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review

Dear Sigurd k, Thank you for taking the time to review the Warere! At an average price of $25-$35 per person per night we certainly do not compete with the more luxurious hotels on the island! We aim to provide a quality budget experience, with a good breakfast, and basic in room amenities, including hot water, AC, fan, nets and... More 

Zanzibar Island, Tanzania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

Great small hotel, near the ferry. The staff is wonderful, rooms are clean and the breakfast is delicious! Staff can arrange tours in the reception and give good restaurant advises. Felt like home while staying there. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Warere, General Manager at Warere Town House, responded to this review

Dear 2015travelling2015 We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Karibu tena! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

139 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (108)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay