We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Imani Beach Villa

Certificate of Excellence
Bububu, Stone Town 3248, Tanzania
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Imani Beach Villa
Professional photos View all
Imani Beach Villa
Imani Beach Villa
Imani Beach Villa
Add Your Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    35
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
11
64
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (144)
  • Mar-May only
    (23)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (40)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (40)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (41)
All months
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed at Imani for a couple of nights in 2012 and returned the next time we were in Zanzibar for the relaxed vibe, yummy food and beautiful tree house - perfect for candlelit dinners. We loved the bedroom - huge antique bed, huge bathroom and beautifully decorated. Staff are very friendly and helpful and can organise lots of trips... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Air-con turned off every 10min, shower did not run at all, and beach is a bit of a thoroughfare. On the other hand the food is good (but expensive) and WiFi is pretty reliable. We had lower rates as it was the off-season, but if it was full price I probably wouldn't stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SimonBububu, Owner at Imani Beach Villa, responded to this review

Hi Jen, thank you for your review. It is frustrating for us, and our team of staff, that you did not explain earlier in your stay that you were having a problem with your air con and shower. The air con works perfectly fine, but perhaps you needed some guidance setting and controlling it. Furthermore, it would have been a... More 

Windsor, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were picked up at the airport by a local taxi driver who was arranged by Imani and greeted when we arrived. They took care of the payment and just added it to our bill. When we arrived, we were not asked for any I.D. just asked what kind of room we wanted (1 or 2 beds as both were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent 2 nights here after 4 days in stone town. We loved it! It had a unique character including slightly short beds (if over 6ft), a 3 legged dog named hop (very friendly and well looked after) and a stunning tree top bar overlooking the water. It is only 10km from stone town and very close to the spice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

We were booked in here by our travel agent in the uk saying it was close to stonetown. Sadly when we arrived we were not greeted by anyone in fact we were asked if we even had a booking which even our driver thought was very unprofessional. They pulled one of the workers from the mosque on his day off... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SimonBububu, Owner at Imani Beach Villa, responded to this review

We always take guests comments very seriously, especially disappointed guests. We are sorry to hear that Imani was not what you were expecting. In the first instance, we can only apologise that the staff were not expecting you on the day of arrival. The email with your arrival times was found in the Deleted folder unopened, and this was an... More 

Madison, WI
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

We stayed here over Christmas, 2014. Overall, the hotel is a small, charming place with attentive and very friendly staff. If you're expecting a generic, sterillized mega-resort and pristine beach, this is not it, but if you want a good hotel that feels like Zanzibar, this is the place. The good: -The Staff here are great. The Chef is as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

I actually stayed here back in October 2011, but it was so memorable I feel the need to sing their praises still. My friend and I kicked off a month long stay in Tanzania here, for only 2 nights (regrettably), but it set a nice tone for the trip. Our luggage was lost by the airline and Simon took it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Galway, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights to finish off our holiday in Zanzibar. Imani was a beautiful place to stay with lovely views of prison Island. The treetop restaurant had beautiful views of the sea and the food was nice. Imani have their own driver and the price of trips are charged by the hotel. All costs were really reasonable and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

I just returned from 4 nights at Imani Beach Villa, which was a wonderful haven after our climb up Kilimanjaro. The Villa is tucked away down a bumpy road surrounded by fishing villages, but is a peaceful, comfy place to relax and enjoy the sunsets from the treehouse! I could have spent all day in the treehouse, from a delicious... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Perfect place to sit back and relax, staffs are very informative, friendly and are really helpful, the hotel is located a bit off the stone town (about a 10-15mins drive). Suitable for people who are looking for a place to stay away from the hustle and bustle. I spent a night there had a lovely time although the WIFI is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

144 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (137)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
View from room (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (41)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question