We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Le Cardinal Exclusive Resort

Travelers' Choice award winner
Royal Road, Trou aux Biches, Mauritius
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with HotelsClick to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Le Cardinal Exclusive Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Le Cardinal Exclusive Resort
Add Photo

163 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    137
    18
    2
    6
    0
See reviews for
18
132
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (163)
  • Mar-May only
    (45)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (37)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (38)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (43)
All months
paris
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

On an island where every resort is huge and crammed with people, this place is a gem : small, perfect rooms, comfortable, super equipped, super friendly staff, small beach but perfectly warm waters. Exquisite and sophisticated food for dinner, nice and simple for lunch. After a week though, dinner menu tends to be somewhat repetitive. Le Cardinal is a well... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Durban RSA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It is difficult to single out any single individual, as the entire team excelled themselves to make our 10 day stay memorable and most enjoyable, however we must mention that the chef went out of his way to make our dinners a gastronomic event, by creating dishes off the already superb a la carte menu. This is the perfect boutique... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

By nature as human beings our expectations are usually very high. When we spend hard earned money on our own well being, our expectations are almost impossible. Having said all that I can honestly say that the Le Cardinal team delivered exemplary service during our stay, exceeding our expectations. We found the confines of a small, unique, charming and small... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Direction11, Directeur général at Le Cardinal Exclusive Resort, responded to this review

We thank you for your very positive review and would just like to comment on the following :- •As a general rule, our Executive Chef caters for an international cuisine likely to meet the expectations of our guests from different nationalities. •All our team is at your disposal any time during your stay should you wish to have your meals... More 

London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2015

My husband and I spent 5 nights here on the second half of our honeymoon. There was some confusion over the first few days regarding what package we were on. The reception expected a voucher from us, and our tour operator, Kuoni, doesn't give vouchers to present on arrival. After we complained to the manager and our tour rep, the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Direction11, Directeur général at Le Cardinal Exclusive Resort, responded to this review

We would, first of all, like to thank you for your very positive review and would just like to elaborate on the following:- Each guest must hand over a hotel voucher upon check-in. It is, indeed, true that we had to clarify some of the contents of the package with your Tour Operator (special offer)… we cannot be held responsible... More 

surrey
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014

Lovely little boutique hotel different to the usual resorts in Mauritius. Very personalised service, beautiful rooms well equipped and homely / contempory in style. The food is a very high standard, decent size pool and all rooms face the beach. The piano bar is a nice way to spend a relaxed evening. Uk plug sockets , are a handy feature... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

We had a great time at this hotel. It's really quiet so if you are looking for something lively, give it a miss. This hotel is for total relaxation. From the minute you step over the door you are made to feel really wellcome. The staff are brilliant. Difficult to single anyone out as they are all soo nice. Nothing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

We recently had a great 11-night stay at Le Cardinal. In contrast to many of the giant hotels in Trou, there are just a handful of rooms. This helped make the place feel really special. The service was outstanding - with so few guests, the friendly staff were able to look after everyone exceptionally well. It also meant you could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Direction11, Directeur général at Le Cardinal Exclusive Resort, responded to this review

We thank you for your positive review and would like to comment on the following:- Our Restaurant is open every night from 19h30 to 22h00. Our guests come to dine during this time slot either indoors or at the terrace. Upon arrival, the receptionist enquires whether you need a specific diet: vegetarian, without sugar … We take the necessary measures... More 

England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

After a 2 flight trip via Dubai (excellent service with Emirates) we received a very warm welcome on arrival with hand towels, welcome drink and were then shown to a lovely room, generous in size and well laid out. All the rooms are beach facing so the views are just gorgeous. Mauritius is a lovely island, so if you'd rather... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Direction11, Directeur général at Le Cardinal Exclusive Resort, responded to this review

We thank you for your very positive review and would like to comment on the following:- · First and foremost, it is very difficult to reply with much precision when a guest chooses to use a pseudonym to express his opinion; as a general rule, we recommend, for reasons which are obvious, all our guests to inform us of any... More 

Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

Ideally situated, tranquil, comfortable with breath-taking views and friendly service makes Le Cardinal Exclusive Resort an idyllic getaway. The only slight downside for me, as a South African, was the steep wine prices which would, understandably, be considered reasonable for visitors who are in the fortunate position to be paying in Euros, British pounds and the like.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I read some bad reviews on tp about this hotel, but we can't agree to any of the mentioned points. Our stay was like beeing in paradise. There are only few rooms, all perfectly furnished with a romantic bathtub, super comfortable bed and great seaview (all rooms have seaview). Additionally, the breakfast and dinner are amazing. For breakfast you get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

196 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (192)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (33)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (32)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
View from room (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (63)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay