We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius

5.0 of 5 Turtle Bay, Balaclava, Mauritius (Formerly The Grand Mauritian Resort & Spa)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    16
    13
    1
    4
See reviews for
19
57
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (98)
  • Mar-May only
    (0)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (0)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (47)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (51)
All months
Bury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Unfortunately we lost one day of our stay because of a cyclone delaying our flight and then we experienced a number of heavy rain showers over the remaining 12 days and extended rain on 1 or 2 of them. However it was always warm and this lovely hotel helped to compensate. We also had spells of really hot sun to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Solihull
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Just returned from a 10 day break for our thirtieth wedding anniversary. Island and hotel were everything we hoped it would be. Unfortunately we flew into a grade 2 cyclone warning, with rain lashing down. This meant we couldn't make the most of the beautiful hotel grounds for the first couple of days. This hotel is beautifully designed. with a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
CapeTownDFM, General Manager at The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius, responded to this review

Dear Colin B, Thank you for detailing the brilliant moments you have had at The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa Mauritius; it’s a real delight to read your warm touching review. We are glad to note that you have captured incredible moments at our resort and you have also been charmed by our hospitality. We are pleased to read... More 

Somerset West, Western Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I would like to congratulate the Westin on the most perfect holiday. We spent our 10year wedding anniversary here for 7 days. Our room were well located close to all the hotel amenities, and the hotel has everything to offer. The cuisine at all the restaurants were exquisite and every day offering something different. The service was the best we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
CapeTownDFM, General Manager at The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius, responded to this review

Dear Christiaan V, We are appreciative that you have taken the time to share your experience. It was a privilege to have you as our guest and we are thankful for your valued feedback. I will surely convey your message to the team. We, at The Westin Turtle Bay Mauritius, are ready to go all the way out towards making... More 

1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I visited this hotel in Nov for a week in mauritius 2014 im from UK myself. The service was hreat food was delicious view was amazing view just incredible the list goes on. Special thans to krishna engineer at The Westin and all other staff who made my stay at The Westin... The Best

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
CapeTownDFM, General Manager at The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius, responded to this review

Dear Ryan T, I would like to thank you for your kind comments. I will surely convey your message to the team. You are most welcome at the resort for your next stay in Mauritius. Wishing you a rejuvenating 2015! Be well, Roman Goetsch General Manager More 

Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have just had 7 days at the Westin Turtle Bay Let’s start on a very positive note and say that the staff are some of the best we have ever met on our travels, absolutely nothing was too much trouble and they were fantastic, a big thank you must go out especially to the staff at the Grill House,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 13
CapeTownDFM, General Manager at The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius, responded to this review

Dear TamboRambo, I would like to thank you for taking your time to share your review about The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa Mauritius. We do note that you were not satisfied with your stay amongst us. Please be assure that we have a dedicated team who looks after our guests and we ensure that they do spend a... More 

Bayerisch Gmain, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I love mauritius and this hotel contributes in developing our love for this island. The food at the hotel is excellent and Laura a head waitress in the restaurant is just perfect! She's gorgeous with her smile and give us a perfect service. Laura, Laura, Ask for Laura! :) I will re visit only for her 5 star + service.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
CapeTownDFM, General Manager at The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius, responded to this review

Dear Pola r, Greetings from The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa! I would like to thank you for sharing your comments with us. I am glad to hear that our team has been able to come up with your expectations. I will surely send your message to Laura and team. Looking forward to welcome you again with your family... More 

Mississauga, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was one of our best holidays, great staff specially Sam on arrival and departure, Pamela at SPG Lounge, Nancy at reception, Kishan & Roody at Concierge, Richie at restaurant. good pool and activities and beach side grill has some excellent food. Kangan - Indian restr had some mouth watering dishes Only disappointment was no upgrade for Gold/Platinum member and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CapeTownDFM, General Manager at The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius, responded to this review

Dear Bhagu123, I would like to thank you again for choosing our resort for your recent stay in Mauritius. Thank you for your kind comments towards our staff and I am glad to see that the culinary team has been able to meet up your expectations. I will surely convey your message to respective staff. You are most welcome at... More 

1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went to celebrate our New Years as two families along with our kids for 6 nights. We booked thru SPG for two heavenly suites. On the last day after talking to one of the front desk staff we realised that hotel just gave us one heavenly suite and the other one was a lower category. We proved to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
CapeTownDFM, General Manager at The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius, responded to this review

Dear 327abhishekg, Thank you for having chosen The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa for celebrating the festive season. It was indeed a pleasure having you with us and I am happy to hear that, overall, your stay was a very pleasant one. I was quite alarmed, however, that you felt you had been cheated. Please rest assured that the... More 

Breda, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

During our recent trip to Mauritius we stayed at 2 different SPG locations. We started at the Westin Turtle Bay which is located in the North West part of Mauritius. We drove from the Airport to the resort and we only had difficulties at the end of the trip because no indications or signs of the hotel are displayed. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Lusaka, Zambia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is an amazing hotel, very beautifully designed and snuggled in lush wonderfully manicured gardens with an amazing swimming pool and water pools and ponds everywhere. The rooms are very nicely designed, comfortable and well furnished. The food was excellent, the buffet in the main restaurant has a marvelous and wide selection of culinary delights suitable for most tastes and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CapeTownDFM, General Manager at The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius, responded to this review

Dear Muchinga, Thank you for your recent comment on your stay at the resort. I will surely convey your message to the team and rest assured that I will personally look into the matter about the concierge. You are most welcome at the resort for your next stay in Mauritius. Be Well Roman Goetsch, General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius

Address: Turtle Bay, Balaclava, Mauritius (Formerly The Grand Mauritian Resort & Spa)
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius 5*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Mauritian Resort And Spa
The Grand Mauritian Hotel Balaclava
The Westin Turtle Bay Resort & Spa, Mauritius Balaclava
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
#3 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
#3 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava

135 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (39)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (96)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (26)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (15)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (29)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay