We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Wainscott B&Bs / inns

Wainscott Inn

3720 Montauk Highway, P.O. Box 667, Wainscott, NY 11975
Hotel amenities
Wainscott Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Wainscott B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wainscott
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    7
    2
    2
    8
See reviews for
10
7
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bronx, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My sisters and I stay at this Inn every summer, we were there early this month and just had a great time. We love the location, accommodations, its clean, quiet and cozy. The owners are so hospitable, just really down to earth people. Look forward to next year!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
San Antonio, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

My wife and I spent 2 nights at the Wainscott Inn and had a terrific time. Steve and his Bro share the desk and maint duties and both are very personable and capable. The room was large, updated, and clean. Continental breakfast was very adequate and very good coffee. Just far enough out of East Hampton (2 mi) to avoid... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Was there for 3 nights. Room was fine, clean. Like staying at a friend's house. Mattress was too hard for my taste but my husband liked it. Nice continental breakfast in the weekend. Pool area was good except they should get normal size pool towels (ones they provided were tiny & you needed 2 or 3 per chaise). Also would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My friend and I rented a studio at the Wainscott for a girls' trip/vacation. Pulling up to the property, my first impression was how pretty the grounds were. The owners were very friendly and accommodating when we checked in. We opted for a studio, which is separate from the main building. My first impression on walking in was how bright... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I should have known when they were the only available hotel in the area for the weekend. I also should have known based on my first phone conversation and the abrupt manner in which I was spoken to. I also should have known when they said 3 night minimum, ok we will let you stay for 2 and then reduced... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Spring Hill, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed on a recent family vacation room temperature was at 86 degrees it was one of the hottest weekends in July , all the more reason to have your units working . When we complained the owner said there's not much we can do about it . Second night of our uncomfortable stay we invited him up to our room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jimhat, Owner at Wainscott Inn, responded to this review

Ditto for this guest ! More

Long Island, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed on a recent Hamptons visit and would never return again to the Wainscott Inn! Location is ideal, but that is about it. Place is run-down, owners a rude and unhelpful and rooms are not air conditioned in the summer as advertised. Yes, it was a hot weekend in July, but the air conditioning in the rooms was completly non-existent.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jimhat, Owner at Wainscott Inn, responded to this review

These are the same guests with in one family who had their rooms paid for by someone else! They were rude and blew their chance of any discount because of their behavior. Notice only one review ! These are undesirable guests and are not allowed back on the property. More

Concord, NC
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Air conditioner got cool about 3AM and not before. The only cool place was the managers office. No pool towels, we had at least 10 rooms for a wedding and we all complained to ask for more air conditioning and to no avail. No discount for being hot. As mother & father of the bride it was so hot getting... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jimhat, Owner at Wainscott Inn, responded to this review

This was the hottest week of the year. The guests were arrogant and rude, even after I added a additional AC Unit in their room and had a service man check the system.. The room was 72 degrees, hardly sweltering. These guests were looking for any way to get money back. More

New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

In the plus column:reasonable pricing, nice staff, frig, microwave and sink, high ceilings. In the minus column during stay: No Verizon cell phone reception in room, hair on bathroom floor, very large ants, wi-fi not working (a major problem as had been counting on that for work), very high, continual road noise, terrible foam pillows, cheap polyester bedding, tiny shower/bath,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
jimhat, Owner at Wainscott Inn, responded to this review

This person did not get her way which was she wanted only one night on a weekend stay which required a two night minimum. The rest of my customers that weekend were staying two nights and did not have any problems. I cannot change the policy for one person especially when others respect the hotel policy. She had a problem... More

Alaska
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We are exploring New York for the first time. For a few days we have no plans just stopping at end of day and finding a place to stay. The Hampton's are amazing. So charming with the New England styles and we are here in the off season. Affordable was the main priority for my husband when looking for a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jimhat, Owner at Wainscott Inn, responded to this review

I strongly disagree with this guests comments. I was on duty the entire length of their stay, and I was never informed of any problems. There is no record of any guest complaints for the same room that they occupied. I always give the hotel a chance to rectify the situation. More

Been to Wainscott Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wainscott Inn

Also Known As:
Wainscott Hotel
Wainscott Hotel Wainscott
Address: 3720 Montauk Highway, P.O. Box 667, Wainscott, NY 11975
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Wainscott
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wainscott
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open year round, The Wainscott Inn is more than a summer resort, allowing guests to enjoy the ambiance that each season brings to the Hamptons. Our central location to Southampton, Water Mill, Bridgehampton, East Hampton, Amagansett and Sag Harbor provides guests the opportunity to enjoy the pleasures of these nearby villages. Visit wineries, ocean beaches, farms, art galleries, antique shops, boutiques, historical landmarks, theaters, museums, restaurants, or take the ferry to Shelter or Block Island. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wainscott Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Wainscott Inn to your Saves list