We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn

2.0 of 5 175 North Genesee Street, Utica, NY 13502
Click for phone number
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    39
    41
    15
    12
See reviews for
40
45
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (120)
  • Mar-May only
    (22)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (62)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (33)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My son and I stayed at this hotel as it was within 20 minutes of a college we we're visiting. The room was decent and clean. However one had to go to the front desk to request a blanket. I found that strange especially since the door opened on a breezy corridor and it was chilly. Our lighting didn't work... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice hotel, front desk staff very helpful, we had a couple of issues with our room which were our fault not the hotel's but on speaking to the man on the front desk he got them sorted out pretty quick for us he was extremely helpful, rooms adequate for a short stay, bathroom tiny, there also needs to be a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We always look for low cost accommodations when travelling so my requirements are Clean, Comfortable, Quiet. BW Gateway Adirondack met those easily. The room and bathroom were clean, the bed comfortable, and our room at the back of the hotel was super quiet. This hotel IS dated. The headboards, fixtures, and paintings look like something from my Grandma's house, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
buffalo, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

in Utica for personal business have stayed at other hotels in area before,checked them out one now to pricey other we where told had gone down hill.gateway had reasonable price and we found it clean and neat will stay again

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chat P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. You will be happy to know that we are starting a complete renovation of the hotel in October. More

Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for one night! It has to have been the very worst hotel we have stayed in. It is VERY dated, old and not well maintained at all. Our room was very unclean! The carpet was filthy!! There was mold on the wall in the bathroom. I was happy that I had my sani wipes with me....I used... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chat P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn, responded to this review

I am very sorry for the experience you had at our hotel. Most guest find our rooms to be very clean. We are starting a complete renovation of the property in October. More

Madison, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was the worst motel we have stayed in. The motel was dated and rather run down. The room had no heat because the manager had not turned on the heat. It was 42 degrees outside so we were given blankets. The door did not fit well and let in a cold breeze. The hair dryer had no heat and... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chat P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn, responded to this review

I am very disappointed with the experience you had at our hotel. This is not the norm for us. We are starting renovations next month and hope that you will get to see the improvements that we are making. More

Barrie
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Tired house that is being maintained fairly well. Cosmetic repairs are done on a budget. No pool. No spa. Breakfast area is not bad but the service space for the food is cramped. Any more than 4 people and you are bumping in to each other. You get what you pay for.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Chat P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are in fact starting a complete overhaul of the hotel. I hope that you can come stay with us again after the renovations and see all the improvements we are making. More

Peoria, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

Our rooms were clean and smelled very fresh.However, the facility looks to be quite old and the outside wa smuch in need quality repairs. the front desk staff looked like they had just craweled out of bed.clothes werelooked rumpled and dingy. hair was a mess. we stayed on two separate dates and found the front desk to still look the... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Chat P, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are actually starting renovations next month. More

Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
43 hotel reviews
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

We only stayed one night - arriving at 9:30pm and leaving at 9am so our visit was brief. the check in was easy, the room was clean, the breakfast was good and the location was perfect for our needs. it was a good value for the money...I would stay here again on our way to the Adirondacks.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

This is our third visit to this property and we have consistently found it clean, affordable, and comfortable. The breakfast is nice and the desk staff and management are helpful. We made reservations that involved changing rooms due to a sold-out weekend. Once checked in, the staff made accommodations, which eliminated the hassle of switching (3) rooms.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn

Address: 175 North Genesee Street, Utica, NY 13502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Utica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Gateway Adirondack Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gateway Adirondack Hotel Utica
Best Western Utica
Utica Best Western

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay