We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shaheen's Motel

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hotel website
314 Park Street, Tupper Lake, NY 12986
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tupper Lake
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Shaheen\\
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

112 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    69
    37
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
29
49
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (112)
  • Mar-May only
    (13)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (63)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (29)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Very friendly owners, very clean and homey..i left something behind on one of my business trips and when i returned 2 wks later they still had it and returned it to me. They also hve a pool which is well taken care of. The rooms are up to date and sound proof. Great place to stay..i would recommend this motel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
liz6656, Owner at Shaheen's Motel, responded to this review

Hi Crickett13662: Your comment that you would recommend this motel to all your friends and family was the best ending to a positive review; thanks so much!! We think it's important to treat people with honesty and courtesy; and make their stay easy and comfortable. We look forward to seeing you again on any return trips you may have in... More 

West Milford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very nice for an older hotel. Typical style for this area. Grounds and room are very well kept. Green environment and recycles. Convenient for anything you wanted to do in the area. Staff was helpful in finding the better restaurants. Good for families and not far from a park.

Was this review helpful? Yes
liz6656, Owner at Shaheen's Motel, responded to this review

Dear Herbert D: Using environmentally safe cleaning products are not only great for our earth but also protect our guests and employees! Thanks for noticing all our green initiatives, it's nice to hear people appreciate our efforts. AAA lists us as a "Classic", which we were proud of because it defines our property (dictionary definition!) as one with enduring style... More 

Chicago
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Love the old fashioned, family-run feeling of Shaheen's. We were on our way to visit family and stopped here to check out the Wild Center nearby. Gathering room was really clean and ship-shape -basic, but not Spartan. I didn't get to use the pool, but it looked lovely. There was one odd thing: the tv volume would only go to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
liz6656, Owner at Shaheen's Motel, responded to this review

Hi Bettywhitebeach: Terry & I were pleased to read your comments; thanks very much for your five circle review. We do try to specialize in making people feel at home and enjoy running our business in a family, friendly manner. We were glad to help you with the volume adjustment. Hope you had safe travels back home. Robyn & Terry More 

White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stopped here for the night and were greeted by the friendly manager. The room was clean and comfortable, the pool was cold and refreshing! We got there too late to play mini golf and cornhole. We also left too early for the continental breakfast. But if you have kids, these amenities are a nice touch. This is fine place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
liz6656, Owner at Shaheen's Motel, responded to this review

Dear kttrue: It sure has been a great summer to enjoy the weather, especially for you all to plan a bicycle touring trip. Thanks for putting Shaheen's Motel on your travel agenda, we appreciate the business. Glad that you were able to take a dip in the pool and get refreshed. We have had lots of guests who have enjoyed... More 

Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were a bit skeptical, but no more! This is a motel, and not new, but so well kept and cared for it's amazing! The people were so friendly and helpful, and the immaculate room with comfy beds and super clean bathroom was just what we needed while visiting family who was camping nearby. I absolutely recommend this motel to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
liz6656, Owner at Shaheen's Motel, responded to this review

Hi 193mayogirl: That's quite a compliment to note that we ranked above some 4 star hotels you've stayed in; a BIG thank you for that!! We are a 2 diamond AAA property and take great pride in our business. In twenty years of ownership, we've continued to upgrade and improve Shaheen's Motel so those who visit Tupper Lake can rest... More 

Burdett, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our 8th stay at Shaheen's and it is by far the greenest, cleanest motel in the ADK with great amenities and service. We will be going back again and again. The management has taken great pains to recycle, install energy saving devices and instituted many other green measures. On top of that the two owner's break their backs... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
liz6656, Owner at Shaheen's Motel, responded to this review

Dear KestrelHaven: "Greenest & Cleanest".... just might be a new advertising blip for us! When other potential guests read that you've been back for an 8th visit, it's a definite assurance that you were pleased with Shaheen's Motel. Thanks for noticing and commenting on all our sustainable practices; we plan to look for new ways to continue our greening process.... More 

Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My child's camp listed motels and B&Bs that they suggested for parents' visiting weekend, along with a note not to expect too much from local accommodations. Well, I heard horror stories about other lodging, but I was so happy to be at Shaheen's! The room was very generously sized, the shower was wonderful - large and great water pressure, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
liz6656, Owner at Shaheen's Motel, responded to this review

M P Hi M P: Thanks for choosing Shaheen's Motel as your lodging destination while you were picking your child up from Camp. We're glad we were able to accommodate all your needs and were especially pleased to read your wonderful comments regarding our Motel. It's like a "pat on the back" when our guests notice our hard work and... More 

Dobbs Ferry, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went to the Shaheen Motel during a busy weekend Aug 8th. We are so glad to have picked this motel. We were met with a smile and made to feel very welcome. The room was very clean and stocked with bathroom necessities. Having experience "non-smoking" rooms with horrible odors we were thrilled to enter a clean smelling smoke free... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
liz6656, Owner at Shaheen's Motel, responded to this review

Hi Debbie & Jeff: A five circle is like a "thank you gift" you just gave us with you kind comments and positive thoughts. It lets other potential guests know that you enjoyed your stay; we sure appreciate that. Thanks for noticing our "green" efforts, our fresh and clean rooms, and our upgrade to our complimentary breakfast. We always love... More 

Derby, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were pleasantly surprised with this motel. The room very clean and the beds were very comfortable. We will definitely return the next time we are in Tupper Lake. The continental breakfast was pretty basic-only offered cereal and baked goods. We decided to eat elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
liz6656, Owner at Shaheen's Motel, responded to this review

Dear Darrah D: So glad we pleasantly surprised you, that's our goal to provide our guests with clean, comfortable, affordable accommodations with modern amenities. The best comment was that you would return again and stay with us! We appreciate that. Our continental breakfast is a jump start for most people, but for those who want a full hot breakfast, Tupper... More 

Syracuse NY
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Perfect Adirondack motel! Family owned and run, clean, big rooms with screens on the window and doors, Yes, there is a room airconditioner if you need it. But, fresh air in the Adirondacks can't be beat! It's very affordable especially with the continental breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
liz6656, Owner at Shaheen's Motel, responded to this review

Ann H: Thanks for commenting that we had a "prefect motel"!! We so appreciate your review and agree that the Adirondack fresh air is the best, especially now in the August evenings when you get that cool night breeze which flows through your window while you sleep. We do feel fortunate to live in such a beautiful area. So nice... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tupper Lake
17.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mountain Lake Inn
23.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
23.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Gauthier's Saranac Lake Inn and Hotel
23.0 mi away
Placid Bay Inn
Placid Bay Inn
#3 of 17 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 stars 239 reviews
22.3 mi away
The Whiteface Lodge
The Whiteface Lodge
#1 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 stars 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities