We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Riverside Hotel

3.0 of 5 Riverside Drive, Branston, Burton upon Trent DE14 3EP, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riverside Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    61
    51
    28
    16
See reviews for
27
108
10
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (210)
  • Mar-May only
    (34)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (55)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (71)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (50)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was a last minute booking to enjoy some time together and cycling. The deal on Booking.com seemed too good to be true, but it wasnt. Great value (wont say the price, but hurry) and everything was just perfect. OK, its not flash but its honest, it was warm (important on a cold January day), it was friendly, the food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review, we're really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and if you visit again for another cycling adventure then we hope you return to visit us! More 

Northallerton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed as two couples travelling from different parts of the country for a social weekend. I cannot understand the negative reviews on this hotel as it is difficult to find any faults. Possibly the low prices attract customers who are not used to staying in pubs/hotels (two main courses for £9.99). All, the staff we encountered were wonderful, cheery,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

The whole team were truly pleased to read your feedback and very humbled that you recognised our hard work here. We really hope that you come and visit us again soon. If you don't manage to return this year then have a wonderful 2015 from the whole team at The Riverside. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited late one night for a quiet dinner and a drink. I eventualy decided and enjoyed a fish shop dinner. Fish, sausage, squid and curry sauce. fantastic value for money. Helpful staff. Probably because it was so quiet at 10 pm (yes I know a late dinner) will visit again. Thank you amber

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Your feedback is greatly appreciated and I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed dining with us and that you found the team to be polite and welcoming. We hope to see you again soon! More 

Coalville, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stopped here on 3 January room 21 is dirty and cobwebs must be six months old and that is not enough room to swing a cat round Very disappointed with the hotel looks really really run down And the food wasn't up to much as well If you're a big man you wanted me able to the toilet because you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your feedback, Im sorry that on this occasion we didn't meet your expectations in terms of the standard of food and cleanliness. I can assure you that we have taken your comments on board and are working to make improvements so that this doesn't happen again. Many thanks More 

Travelers are raving about these Branston hotels

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Where to start with this place.. It use to be such a good place I visited here last year with friends for a drink however it seems to have rolled down hill To say the least ! Last time we were greeted by two present girls Sophie and Nicola lovely members of staff but they all seem to have disappeared!We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Telford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This evening was very poor we booked months ago and were really looking forward to a splendid night as we had spent NY 2013. We recommend to friends and on our recommendation they booked with us. Travelling from Shropshire they had to book a hotel ( no room at the Riverside) pay for a taxi etc. On arrival no management... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, I'm sorry that New Years at the Riverside wasn't what you had hoped for. We had positive feedback from the guests in regard to the buffet so I'm surprised these weren't to your satisfaction but never the less I have taken your feedback on board for next year. The entertainment we used happened to be... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014

We got married at the riverside on 5th october. Everything ran smoothly & had a fantastic day! All our guests loved it! It was quite warm so guests sat outside while having our photos taken. Great views of the river & our photos are beautiful!! Food was served lovely & hot & everyone said how lovely it was. At night... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou so much for your review, we're really pleased that you enjoyed your big day with us! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. More 

Limoges, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

Arriving through the housing estate the front of the hotel is disappointing, it looks tired. The computer wasn't working and it took 15 minutes to get registered. The entrance to the hotel rooms is a bit bland and more like a squaddie's barracks entrance. I went to the bar, IPA (Greene King) is off, local beer, off. First 2 choices... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your feedback, I understand from your review that there are some areas of your stay that could be improved upon and we have taken your feedback on board. We had a particularly busy weekend on ales that was unexpected and we apologise that not all of them were available during your stay. We're glad that you found the... More 

Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

Room keys? Are you kidding me? No I am not. Actual keys, the ones that will get you in trouble if you lose them, that´s what you get in this hotel. The free breakfast choice was minimalistic, as in "very few things to choose from". The food, while ok, was pricey, and the rooms were old. The staff was helpful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your feedback, we're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and pride ourselves on our standard of food and competitive prices so we will be looking at ways to improve that further. We look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

I booked this hotel because it was very close to a wedding venue and the price was good considering it included breakfast. We had a very good night's sleep and enjoyed the power shower. The breakfast was absolutely delicious - I really rate the Eggs Benedict! In fact, I enjoyed the decor of the restaurant. However the bedroom needed urgent... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your feedback. We are really pleased that you enjoyed breakfast with us! We are working to fix the issues in our rooms and hope to welcome you back soon More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Address: Riverside Drive, Branston, Burton upon Trent DE14 3EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent > Branston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Staffordshire

70 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (58)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay