We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Riverside Hotel

Riverside Drive, Branston, Burton upon Trent DE14 3EP, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riverside Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

277 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    78
    90
    58
    32
    19
See reviews for
39
134
12
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (277)
  • Mar-May only
    (74)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (73)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (71)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (59)
All months
Staffordshire england
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Went to the Riverside for Sunday lunch. Walked in there was only a small group of people in there, there was nobody behind the bar and one girl sorting out cutlery. We asked the girl if they were serving lunch she said yes and to find a seat. Ten minutes later no one came to us the girl just stood... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

I appreciate your comments on The Riverside and we are very sorry that you did not find your experience to be the High Standard that we require. I am investigating fully the reasons behind the issues with my team to ensure this does not occur again. More 

Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We spent three nights at The Riverside earlier this month and found the hotel to be very good value for money. We booked through a well known supermarket which enables you to increase the value of vouchers and part pay for hotels. This made our visit The Riverside a low cost break with the price coming down to £15 per... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Your kind words have been passed onto our team. I am glad you found our hotel to be great value for money. We hope you come and stay with us again soon. More 

Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed at this hotel when visiting family in Burton on Trent. I was surprised at the cost of 70GBP for a single room - but expected a very nice 'inn' style room - as the rooms are sold through the English country inns website. The actual pub / restaurant area is very nice, lovely garden area too. The room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that our accommodation was not what you were expecting. We are due a refurbishment in the near future. Our accommodation rates are based on our occupancy levels and best available rates. We hope you return again in the future to enjoy our beautiful garden. More 

Travelers are raving about these Branston hotels

Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Arrived around 9pm for a one night stay. Made welcome at desk and went straight for dinner. Lovely lasagne at a reasonable price. Soft drinks around £2.50 each. Room was on ground floor and was suitable for the price paid which was only £50 for B&B. Bathroom was rather tight for space but not a big issue.Breakfast was very nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Your kind words have been passed on to Natalie. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found everything to be value for money. We are due a refurbishment in the near future. We hope you come and stay with us again soon and get to enjoy our beautiful gardens in the... More 

Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We came for dinner on Tuesday 23rd June, it was a beautiful evening so we decided to dine alfresco. We got talking to SAM outside and what she recommended from the main menu was delightful. She was a breath of fresh air and what an amazing presence she has with people....until I overheard someone sarcastically comment on her talking too... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Your kind words have been passed on to Sam, we are so glad she delivered outstanding and friendly service for you. We hope you continue to come and dine with us. More 

Snettisham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Recently we were fortunate to spend a weekend here, the view of the river from our room was amazing, the room was basic but clean, the bathroom was clean but small and a little shabby and dated looking. The evening meal was reasonably priced and delicious, the breakfast was cooked beautifully.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you had a lovely stay with us and we hope you come and stay with us again soon. The hotel is to undergo a refurbishment in the near future. More 

UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great food with service from Sam & Hayley excellent. Unfortunately the bar closes at 11pm and for hotel residents this is not acceptable. Other than that the location of the hotel overlooking the river is fantastic

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Your kind words have been passed onto Hayley and Sam regarding the excellent service they delivered. Sorry you could not continue drinking past our licencing times, but we do not break our terms and conditions of our operators and premises licence. More 

Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Don't be fooled,you arrive at the rear or the hotel. We had a pleasant 4 night stay. Quiet, in spite of a party and a wedding while we were there.Food was good and plenty of it,breakfast served by Sam was good. It is in eàsy reach of the national arboretum memorial. Beer was cheap too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review about your stay at The Riverside. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit and I have passed your comments onto Sam who supplied great service. More 

Holmfirth
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Spent 2 nights here to visit the National Memorial Arboretum but sadly that visit was aborted owing to a special unveiling of a new memorial from Camp Bastion which meant restricted access. From reading previous reviews I expected small but clean rooms and was not disappointed. Ample tea and coffee plus individual biscuits. Forceful shower over bath with plenty of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review about your stay at The Riverside. We accept your comments about our Hotel which we are working hard towards improving and the good news is that the hotel is to undergo a refurbishment in the near future. More 

Oxford
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for two nights in June and found the hotel friendly and welcoming. The room was small but clean. Bathroom was also a bit small but okay for a couple of nights. The hotel could be so much improved by Greene King investing in a good overhaul of the rooms and renovation outside. The grounds are beautifully kept and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review about your stay at The Riverside.We accept your comments about our Hotel which we are working hard towards and also continuing to improve our grounds. The good news is that the hotel is to undergo a refurbishment in the near future. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

90 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (78)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay