We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Howard Johnson East Syracuse

1.5 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
6590 Thompson Road North, NY Thruway I-90 Exit 35, Syracuse, NY 13206
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Howard Johnson East Syracuse
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #26 of 30 Hotels in Syracuse
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    20
    24
    28
    25
See reviews for
31
31
13
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (107)
  • Mar-May only
    (30)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (26)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (37)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Rome, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The rooms were very clean. The sink had no strainer or plug, needed a frame around the overflow. One room had a frig but no coffeemaker or TV remote. We had only one hand towel, two washcloths and four bath towels in my room.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vermont
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The entire hotel appeared run down. The sign on the building was a *banner* but the one on the road was permanent. Weird. The desk clerk was dead asleep when we walked in and I had to bang loudly to wake him up! The desk clerk was very terse and not welcoming at all. The entrance was weird. The inside... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very good accommodation for the cost. Quiet. Comfortable, Convenient location. Good breakfast.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Howard J, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson East Syracuse, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey and share your experience. It is great to hear of how you enjoyed the value and the convenient location of our hotel. We hope to impress you again during your next visit and we thank you for sharing your experience. More 

Flint, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Came all the to syracuse to watch our beloved alma matar MSU kick some serious butt on their way to the final 4. We booked this place due to its closeness to the carrier dome. only about 15 minutes away, which gave us more time to pregame. fit 4 big guys pretty comfortably. The prices were a little high but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Howard J, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson East Syracuse, responded to this review

It's great to hear from you and we're so glad that you enjoyed a five star experience with us! Thank you so much for acknowledging the efforts of our staff, Alam, to make you feel comfortable and at home. I have shared your compliments with him and the rest of our team and thank you for giving me the opportunity... More 

Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here because I was "won" this hotel as part of a Priceline deal. It is not nice. It seemed clean enough, but the room reeked of smoke (even though it was non-smoking). I called the front desk to ask if they had any other rooms available but they were booked up for the weekend. Also, in the morning... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Howard J, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson East Syracuse, responded to this review

I regret to discover that you weren't thoroughly impressed with us during your most recent stay. Unfortunately, despite our efforts to ensure that nobody smokes in non-smoking rooms, it does occasionally happen and I hope you’ll accept our sincerest apologies for the smell of smoke that you experienced. We apologize for the issue with the water supply as well. We... More 

Poughkeepsie, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Unfortunately, we had to take a smoking room since all others were booked, so that we knew would be an unavoidable issue. However, there were burn holes in the bedspread that were the size of golf balls, the toilet was falling through the tile and was tilting, the bathroom was clean but needed repair DESPERATELY, the carpet was filthy, there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Howard J, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson East Syracuse, responded to this review

It is disheartening to learn that you were not impressed with our accommodations, amenities and services. I do apologize for the issues that you mentioned. It is important to us to hear from you on the issues that you experienced so that they can be quickly addressed. Thank you for bringing to our attention your experience and comments regarding your... More 

Weare, New Hampshire
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The room was ok, but there was a truck depot behind the hotel and trucks would come and go throughout the night and kept me up. Also the heater would not shut off at the right temperature so we would have to unplug it 2-3 times during the night. So you would get cold and hot. It did have hot... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Howard J, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson East Syracuse, responded to this review

I'm glad that you enjoyed our room, hot water and breakfast, though I do apologize for the issues with our amenities lived up to your expectations.and especially that we were unable to take care of that for you right away. We appreciate how you have let us know what areas of our service impressed you and which were lacking. I... More 

Mexico, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

Flight to Atlanta was cancelled due to snow storm. Was forced to find accommodations at the last minute. Came across the Howard Johnson from the airport directory. Main reason was the short distance to the airport and second was the fair rate. I've seen hotels jack their rates up when flights get cancelled due to snow storms. This hotel's rates... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Howard J, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson East Syracuse, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing this heartfelt review of our hospitality and accommodations. I have shared your compliments with our staff and thank you for giving me the opportunity torecognize them for a job well done. Thank you again for your feedback and kind words regarding the five star service and accommodations that you received during your most recent stay with... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question