We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Howard Johnson Inn Suffern

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
17 North Airmont Road, Suffern, NY 10901
Special Offer
Free High Speed Internet
Howard Johnson Inn Suffern
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Suffern
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Gen B Chicago, Illinois
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    34
    31
    33
    29
See reviews for
54
25
17
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (170)
  • Mar-May only
    (47)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (37)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (56)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (30)
All months
SE Michigan, U.S.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff was friendly, and got us the last room in the area. Paid for a Jacuzzi, but didn't use it - heart shaped; somebody will like that. Unfortunately the bed was quite hard, and there was a slight cigarette smell throughout the room. Also, I had to phone the desk to stop whoever was starting and running their motor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liverpool, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The room quality/cleanliness could have been rated higher if we didn't find a damp washcloth on the back of the bathroom door. I can't fault the hotel for the drunks coming back from the bar at 2-3 AM running up and down the hall sounding like a heard of elephants while, laughing & knocking on the doors... but it takes... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
dipatrip G, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Suffern, responded to this review

Our motto is guest satisfaction and we believe in providing our guest with clean rooms and good night sleep. We apologize for the lopsidedness of the housekeeper. We do have guests coming on social visit over whom the hotel has little control. Inconvenience caused is highly regretted and we wish to make your future stay with us a pleasant one. More 

California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had two rooms reserved, and our written cancellation policy said, we could fully cancel a room by 6pm. When we needed to cancel one room because a business associate could not make it, this motel would not honor their written cancellation policy. This is a very poor business policy. We will no longer stay at this hotel, when we... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
dipatrip G, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Suffern, responded to this review

Thanks for enlightening us on your experience .You made the reservation on line and not with the property directly and the cancellation policy received by you is not generated at our end .Our cancellation policy associated with each reservation is very clear about 24 hours prior cancellation .We have already taken the matter with our head office .Inconvenience caused is... More 

Peabody, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

Needed a night to relax before heading back to New England. Room clean, staff pleasant, hotel easily accessible. Overall a great experience. Thank you.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
dipatrip G, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Suffern, responded to this review

Our hotel is very near the highway making it convenient for the travelers on the go. Our staff is hard working with pleasant disposition.We always try to meet our guests needs.Hope to see you again. We appreciate your review. More 

Delray Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

You could stay elsewhere for a lot more, but if you just need a place to sleep this is fine, and, the added benefit of such nice people working there! I've stayed there several times over the past few years and it's always clean and warm. The decor was a bit dated, but for an overnight stay, who cares? Breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
dipatrip G, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Suffern, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. Management and staff highly appreciate it. Our endeavor has always been guest satisfaction. We refurbish our property at periodic intervals and we are in the process. Hope to see you again. More 

A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015

The room was nice. Nice bed. Nice sized room. Nice TV. But lousy shower. The common areas are BADLY in need of updating. The breakfast was very below average - even for free hotel breakfasts.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
dipatrip G, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Suffern, responded to this review

Thank you for your review .We take our customer concerns seriously and always try to implement constructive suggestions from our guests. .The lobby outlook has been changed and some shower heads have already been replaced and are working on other areas and sure to be completed in a short time. Inconvenience caused to you while your stay with us is... More 

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

The front desk was great and helpful, but the facility needs new carpeting and a general refresh. Windows were old and cloudy, and the place needed a paint job. A strange thing is that the door to the room was crooked and not flush, so it seemed that it could be broken into (I pushed something up against it for... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
dipatrip G, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Suffern, responded to this review

Thank you very much for staying with us. Our motto has always been guest satisfaction and guest security has been our prime conceren. We always assure our guests secured stay at all times. The property is refurbished every year so as to keep it in good shape. We are in the process this time of the year and are already... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities