We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Stony Brook

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
3131 Nesconset Highway, Stony Brook, NY 11720
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Stony Brook
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

208 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
New York City, New York
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here not by choice. Will never stay here again unless the entire hotel gets a overhaul. The bed was full of lumps/bumps. The shower faucet was full of calcium and there was a complete lack of water pressure. Breakfast is included? I had no desire to eat the food but I looked at it just to see. Very low... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael C
Lauren K, Social Media Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stony Brook, responded to this review

Dear Michael C, Thank you for reviewing our property. I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your recent stay with us but appreciate your comments as it allows us to make further improvements to our property. I do hope you provide us with another opportunity to make your stay great the next time you are in our area. We... More 

Long Island New York
Level Contributor
107 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My fiance and I wanted a little bit of an experience as if we were going away on New Year's but couldn't afford anything much beyond a staycation, so we chose to spend the holiday night here, just a few minutes from home. Overall, no major complaints about our stay, The room was spacious and clean, the bed was comfortable,... More 

Helpful?
Thank comsewogian
Lauren K, Social Media Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stony Brook, responded to this review

Dear Comsewogian, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am happy to hear you chose to have your staycation with us for the new year. I hope you were able to relax in our indoor heated swimming pool during your stay as well. We look forward to seeing you again. Sincerely, Lauren K. Social Media Manager More 

South Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2016

We needed a place to sleep on Christmas night to avoid a long drive home, so booked a room at the most convenient hotel near where we were visiting. I didn't expect much, but the hotel exceeded my expectations. We had two rooms, and they were quite spacious. The bathtub was bigger and nicer than the usual bargain hotel tub.... More 

Helpful?
Thank jeannie2nyc
Lauren K, Social Media Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stony Brook, responded to this review

Dear Jeannie2nyc, Thank you for reviewing our property. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us and found your guest rooms spacious and perfect for relaxing. I appreciate your comments about our property as it allows us to make further improvements to our property. We look forward to seeing you again. Sincerely, Lauren K. Social Media... More 

New York City
Level Contributor
56 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2015

Been a year since I've visited this place and a great deal has changed - and not for the good. First, check-in took a long time. However, the young man at the front desk was quite pleasant. The real problem started the first morning I was there when I tried to take a shower. The shower wouldn't work. I turned... More 

Helpful?
Thank ProfessorCool
Lauren K, Social Media Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stony Brook, responded to this review

Dear ProfessorCool, Thank you for reviewing our property. I am sorry to hear about the inconvenience you experienced during your recent stay with us. I do hope you provide us with another chance to make your stay great the next time you are in our area. We look forward to seeing you again. Sincerely, Lauren K. Social Media Manager More 

waterford ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2015

It is over a year since myself & my wife travelled from Dublin but it was only today I came across a business card from Tommy Prakas , the beverage manager/driver. Great guy with a Greek background who made our holiday , dropped us in & out to Port Jeff & we had some great chats. Best wishes Tommy ,... More 

Helpful?
Thank davem25
Lauren K, Social Media Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stony Brook, responded to this review

Dear davem25, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to take advantage of our complimentary shuttle service. We look forward to seeing you again. Sincerely, Lauren K. Social Media Manager More 

Warrenville
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2015

Stayed 5 nights for a meeting at Stony Brook. I am generally happy with an HIX breakfast and this one was fine. The breakfast area was a little small. One day they opened another room, but it didn't look as comfortable. The elevator was really slow and if one was "on its way" the other wouldn't come. You have to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sharon G
Lauren K, Social Media Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stony Brook, responded to this review

Dear Sharon G, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I appreciate your comments about our property and am glad to hear you chose to stay with us while attending a meeting at Stony Brook University. We look forward to seeing you again. Sincerely, Lauren K. Social Media Manager More 

Farmingdale
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2015 via mobile

Very nice, clean hotel with an excellent breakfast buffet. Rooms were clean and well done. Lobby is beautiful, with big screen TVs. Close to Port Jefferson, where we were doing the Victorian Christmas weekend. Staff was very accommodating and friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Tonysgal215
Lauren K, Social Media Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stony Brook, responded to this review

Dear Tonysgal215, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us while visiting Port Jefferson. I hope you were able to utilize our complimentary shuttle service to and from Port Jefferson for your convenience. We look forward to seeing you again. Sincerely, Lauren K. Social Media Manager More 

ny
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2015

We reserved a large block of rooms for our daughter's wedding at the Old Field Club. Thanks to Maryanne Hess for working so well with us. She kept adding rooms to our block, as needed and communicated regularly with us during the months of planning. Once we checked in, she was congenial, professional and very helpful.The atmosphere was relaxed and... More 

Helpful?
Thank ibfinetwo
Lauren K, Social Media Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stony Brook, responded to this review

Dear ibfinetwo, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am happy to hear you chose to reserve a block of rooms with us for your daughter's wedding. I hope your guests were able to enjoy a variety of our amenities while staying with us, including our 24 hour complimentary coffee and tea service in... More 

Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2015

We stayed here for a wedding. Hotel was clean and the staff friendly. But this site could be noisy at time. And very disappointed with the breakfast. The eggs were cold and hard. Not fast enough with restocking the food. They had NO maple syrup. They said that the day before they got their order and no syrup came and... More 

Helpful?
Thank authorwhoenjoyslife
Lauren K, Social Media Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stony Brook, responded to this review

Dear authorwhoenjoyslife, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am sorry to hear about the inconveniences you experienced during your recent stay with us. I hope that you provide us with another opportunity to make your stay great the next time you are in our area. We look forward to seeing you again. Sincerely, Lauren K.... More 

Niteroi, RJ
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2015 via mobile

A great hotel to spend with the family It has a large room with two beds and a sofa bed. It also has a laundry room and a place to make barbecure and relax. The swimming pool is indor so you can enjoy during the winter. The breakfast is very good! It has a free parking that make easy to... More 

Helpful?
Thank isadandrea
Lauren K, Social Media Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stony Brook, responded to this review

Dear isadandrea, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am happy to hear you were able to enjoy a variety of our amenities during your recent stay with us. I hope you were able to relax in our lobby art gallery during your stay as well. We look forward to seeing you again. Sincerely, Lauren K.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stony Brook
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Stony Brook
4.4 mi away
Danfords Hotel & Marina
Danfords Hotel & Marina
#1 of 2 in Port Jefferson
4.0 of 5 stars 361 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Island
Hyatt Regency Long Island
#1 of 4 in Hauppauge
4.0 of 5 stars 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Marriott Islandia Long Island
5.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Long Island MacArthur Airport
3.5 mi away
Three Village Inn
Three Village Inn
#3 of 3 in Stony Brook
3.5 of 5 stars 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay