We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Three Village Inn

150 Main Street, Main St. on the Harbor, Stony Brook, NY 11790
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Three Village Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Three Village Inn
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    37
    15
    15
    15
See reviews for
23
41
5
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (104)
  • Mar-May only
    (25)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (32)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (28)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
LONG ISLAND, NEW YORK
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
35 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Have been here several times, and love the cottages, and the area. The staff could not nicer, and more helpful. The grounds are under constant repair, but constant. We stayed in cottage 22, very nice, great view, fireplace, but the shower head, maybe a water saver but too light of a spray. The blinds are bent and didn't work, no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

BEWARE people! There were Bed Bugs the size of a peppercorn in the main hotel! I booked the room the same day for one night, they said the hotel was all booked for a wedding except for one room. After checking in and getting into room 3 on the second floor of the main building I decided to sit down... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carrie B, Manager at Three Village Inn, responded to this review

Dear SCaprifogli, We apologize you had an issue with bugs in your hotel room. Thank you for bringing the issue to our attention immediately. Please know we did take your complaint of bed bugs seriously. The room was taken out of service immediately until evaluated by a pest management professional. First, a trained member of our hotel staff, along with... More 

Travelers are raving about these Stony Brook hotels

NJ
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

Full disclosure this review is regarding the brunch option of their restaurant. We had our brunch wedding reception at the Three Village Inn last August and we were extremely satisfied with our experience. First off the staff were very accomodating and helpful. We were far from easy to deal with but they were always smiling. Also as a same sex... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carrie B, Manager at Three Village Inn, responded to this review

Dear Blabberbrain, Congratulations on your recent marriage! Three Village Inn was honored to be a part of your special day and are so happy you were pleased with the outcome of your big day. We look forward to seeing you again! More 

New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

I realize that this is a very old Inn and I do appreciate the charm and character but I do feel the rooms need an update. The bathroom definitely needs updating. It took to cold showers to finally get hot water. The ceiling needed much repair. The bridal suite (we stayed there because we were in a bridal party) could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carrie B, Manager at Three Village Inn, responded to this review

Dear Olive54, We are glad you enjoyed the charm and character of your room in the main house of the historic Three Village Inn. The main house was established in 1751 and we strive to keep the history the Inn offers to the Stony Brook area. We are currently in the process of renovating the bathrooms of the hotel rooms... More 

Charlotte
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
198 hotel reviews
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

There are some issues at the Three Village Inn, but this is often to be expected for an historic property. The inn is located right across the street from the harbor, and also across the street from the quaint shopping area of Stony Brook. The location and historic character of the inn gives it a real New England feel. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carrie B, Manager at Three Village Inn, responded to this review

Dear Ichjr, We are happy to hear you and your friends enjoyed our historic location in quaint Stony Brook. It is also nice to hear you enjoyed your cottage hotel room, complimentary breakfast in the Tavern, and dinner in Restaurant Mirabelle. We are sorry the television and cable box were not properly synced upon your arrival, but glad a front... More 

Albany, New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014

My husband and I were fortunate enough to spend a lovely early autumn weekend here and will definitely be returning. We stayed in a Townsend cabin with a beautiful stone fireplace. So romantic! The room is spacious and the view was lovely. Breakfast in the morning was delicious. Wonderful warm choices as well as cereals, breads, and fruits. Every member... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Carrie B, Manager at Three Village Inn, responded to this review

Dear Upstatenyfan, Thank you for sharing your lovely stay at Three Village Inn. We are happy to hear you enjoyed a romantic night in a cottage room with a fireplace and also enjoyed the complimentary breakfast in Mirabelle Tavern. We look forward to seeing you again! More 

new jersey
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
51 hotel reviews
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

We stayed one night in one of the cottages at the inn, which is where our wedding reception was held 46 years ago. The inn , built in 1751 is in a beautiful setting , but does need some TLC here and there. . It is charming and provides great areas for a wedding service and reception. Our cottage which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carrie B, Manager at Three Village Inn, responded to this review

Dear Jocar99, Three Village Inn was honored to be a part of your wedding 46 years ago and are happy to be a part of such wonderful memories! Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Three Village Inn and we appreciate your comments and suggestions. We look forward to seeing you again! More 

Poznan, Poland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014 via mobile

Spent two nights at the three village inn in a lovely cottage with harbor view. Cottage was clean but maintenance was poor. Toilet seats were loose and door stops fell from the wall. Beds were very good and the separated sitting area very comfortable. The breakfast was the poorest ever in the US. No bread, no cheese, no fruit. Cannot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carrie B, Manager at Three Village Inn, responded to this review

Dear Roland K, We are happy you enjoyed your cottage hotel room and found the beds comfortable. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the selection of the complimentary hot breakfast items (eggs, bacon, sausage, home fries, french toast, etc.). We also offer a variety of other items such as yogurt, croissants, and cereal. Thank you for... More 

Boca Grande
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

As I mentioned in my Marabelle Tavern Review, I would not consider staying anywhere else when in Stony Brook. The location, history and ties to my youth demand it. With that said this is a small town property with its own set of charming deficiencies. looking for a 4 seasons or Ritz experience? This is not it. However if open... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Carrie B, Manager at Three Village Inn, responded to this review

Dear RealtorKevin, We are so glad you had a charming stay at the Three Village Inn and enjoyed the history of the Inn and its location. We are also happy to hear you enjoyed the harbor view from your cottage hotel room, the customer service, and dining in the Mirabelle Tavern. Thank you for sharing your stay and we look... More 

Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We were attending a family reunion in Smithtown and had the good fortune to stay at this lovely Inn while others were stuck in the usual hotels just off the LIE for the same price!. We chose a small cottage which worked well for us. The room is mostly taken up by the bed, but it's a lovely very comfortable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Carrie B, Manager at Three Village Inn, responded to this review

Dear Beth2555, We are happy to hear you enjoyed the Three Village Inn and its charming and beautiful location! We are glad you enjoyed the comfortable bed in your cottage room, complimentary hot breakfast served in the Tavern, and peaceful walks by the harbor. Thank you for taking the time to share your stay at Three Village Inn and we... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question