We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Stamford B&Bs / inns

Catskill Bed & Breakfast Spa

3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   156 West Main Street, Stamford, NY NY 12167
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Catskill Bed & Breakfast Spa to your Saves list
Catskill Bed & Breakfast Spa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
16%
Ranked #4 of 4 Stamford B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
  • Overview
  • Reviews (12)
  • Photos (4)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (2)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

12 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    1
    3
    6
See reviews for
1
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
WEST STOCKBRIDGE
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

When we showed up at this B&B at 6:30 in the afternoon and the owner told us that our room was not yet ready, I realized that I should have researched this B&B on Tripadvisor before making the reservation. Now that I have read the reviews, I can honestly say that the overwhelmingly negative reviews are accurate. The word that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

From a distance the building looked as beautiful as the website photograph, but this was very misleading. The paint on the wood cladding needs renewing, and some of the wood is rotting. But the worst is inside - terrible bedrooms and shocking service. Our room was the "Herb Garden View". The view did not justify the title - an unkempt... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ronks, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The pictures we viewed on the website were beautiful, but found the B & B to be totally disappointing when we arrived. Room not ready, outside of property very disappointing, not at all like the pictures on their website. The breakfast served was average. The information we were sent stated there was a room including a big screen TV with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Stumbled upon this place during their "estate sale" Labor Day weekend. AKA, an excuse for them to sell off the entire contents of the house and assorted DVDs, his wife's shoes, cheapo sunglasses, etc. the owner, who was accurately described in the negative reviews below gave us a tour of the place. Not impressive. Dirty and in need of some... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CatskillsBandB, Owner at Catskill Bed & Breakfast Spa, responded to this review

Sometimes I am amazed by how people see negative even in the positive and miss the obvious while seeing the negative. Based on this review this guest who says she “stumbled upon” our B &b did not read our website and made assumptions that would not have been made if she had. We did have an estate sale. We always... More

Salem, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I had the pleasure to stay and enjoyed Lily and Louis. The house is decorated with period pieces suited to the era of the home. If you are looking for a new BB then one should book a room at the Hilton. I always try to remember this is someone sharing their home.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CatskillsBandB, Owner at Catskill Bed & Breakfast Spa, responded to this review

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. :lewis and Lila More

Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

OMG - What a nightmare of a stay! Nothing like the website and definitely not worth that price! I should have read reviews on this! All the bad reviews were right! We gave it our best try, but couldn't sleep all night! We snuck out right behind the other 3 guests early in the a.m. so not to have to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CatskillsBandB, Owner at Catskill Bed & Breakfast Spa, responded to this review

We prepare our food fresh from whole food ingredients. We do serve chips for our guests. We sadly are not able to make our potato sticks from scratch so they do come from a can. There are no external locks on our rooms but they can be locked from within .This is stated on our website and in an e-mail... More

Fairport, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Oh I wished that I had gone to Tripadvisor before I booked this site. I had recently gone through exploratory surgery with negative results. Wanted to take my wife on a potential last trip before next set of medical treatments. Just a short get away. This place was everything your other negative reviewers stated. No Air conditioning on a 90... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LewisHarrison, Owner at Catskill Bed & Breakfast Spa, responded to this review

This is an unfair review. What this guest left out in their review was 1. They booked through Hotel.com and the information on Hotels.com site did not mention air conditioning though our website says we do not have AC. We supplied them with 4 fans but they said this did not work. 2.. These guests never even stayed with us.... More

East Windsor, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

My wife and I had a very enjoyable weekend in the Catskills. The accommodations were fine, the food was good, and the hosts were gracious. We prefer the intimacy of a small setting like this rather than a large, impersonal hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
LewisHarrison, Owner at Catskill Bed & Breakfast Spa, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind review. We are a small B & B and do everything to make our guest's stay pleasant and memorable in all the best ways More

Syracuse, New York, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

The owner of this B&B asked me to not write a review unless it would be positive; however, I believe in giving honest and unbiased feedback. I think that to truly do well in the service industry you need to put your customers needs and wants first and to be open to feedback and criticism, not just dismiss it or... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
LewisHarrison, Owner at Catskill Bed & Breakfast Spa, responded to this review

we appreciate this review. All feedback enables us to offer better customer service. We offer simple "gourmet" vegetarian fare and a choice of Red, White or Rose. We have different types of rooms here some filled with antiques and other more basic furnishings for those seeking something simpler who who may have children. I am glad they liked their accomodations.... More

NY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The building is a beautiful old mansion in a very quaint town. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The innkeeper is a somewhat overbearing host. He is a nice guy but seems to forget that we are his guests and not his audience. During breakfast with other guests, he had a tendency to both interrupt and monopolize the conversations,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Catskill Bed & Breakfast Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Catskill Bed & Breakfast Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catskill Bed & Breakfast Spa

Address: 156 West Main Street, Stamford, NY NY 12167
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Stamford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Catskill Bed & Breakfast Spa 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Catskill Bed & Breakfast Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

4 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
5

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer