We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Southampton Inn

Hotel website
91 Hill Street, Southampton, NY 11968
Special Rate
Midweek Specials
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Southampton Inn
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
Southampton Inn
Add Photo Write a Review

225 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    42
    57
    43
    30
    53
See reviews for
59
74
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (225)
  • Mar-May only
    (32)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (106)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (62)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (25)
All months
wilson ny, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

If you like a coffeemaker in your room, bring your own. Rooms are small, only one hard wooden chair in room but the matress on the bed is wonderful. You can open the windows to let in fresh air BUT...watch out for the teeny tiny spiders, they seem to crawl right through the screens. Lovely Soames and Gilchrist toiletries, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Location is excellent. You can walk to town. The rooms are clean and the grounds are lovely. The Plaza Cafe restaurant across the street is excellent. It is not a cafe, but it is a lovely restaurant. The $35 dinner is very well worth it. Ask for when it is served.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oakland, MI
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were driving east on Long Island and couldn't locate a decent place to stay for only one night, during the week. A gentleman at the local McDonald's recommended the Southampton Inn. They had a large room for us and it seemed as if we had no neighbors to provide any distraction. The front desk people were delightful as was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Englewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our third visit and our least enjoyable! The upstairs room we had was supposed to have feather pillows which they were not, very uncomfortable. The blinds are bad and we were supposed to have blackout shades which were not there and they ran out of them? The shower pressure was terrible. The front desk help with the exception... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SouthamptonInnNY, Manager at Southampton Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for being a repeat guest at the Southampton Inn. We are not sure why you expected blackout shades, down pillows and some other amenities you mention and we are very sorry for your disappointment. The Inn is very proud to have Tempur Pedic mattresses and luxe linens and we rarely receive complaints about the quality of the beds... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The location of this hotel is fantastic. It is a few minutes to Main Street, a few blocks from a fantastic playground for kids. It is in a quiet residential area which is great. The hotel room we had was up a flight of stairs. The room was MASSIVE. 30x30. It was a renovated and well decorated room. The hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SouthamptonInnNY, Manager at Southampton Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your compliments! We love being located in the village. We sincerely apologize for the noise issues and are happy to hear they were dealt with to the best of our ability. The weekend of your stay also happened to be prom weekend, which is not our usual clientele. We have completed soundproofing on 60 out of our... More 

Level Contributor
78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

The Inn has clearly seen better days. While the facilities are clean, the furniture is old and tired, the room layouts are small and the bathrooms even more so. If you're looking for a place to sleep, and don't mind sometimes hearing your neighbors come and go, this is a fair choice - but I would not look to this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SouthamptonInnNY, Manager at Southampton Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry to learn did not enjoy your stay. Next time you visit, please request one of our larger rooms, as they are all unique and it seems yours was a bit small for your liking. 60% of our guest rooms have been renovated this past winter with extensive sound proofing, new ceilings, floors and furniture. Over 72% of... More 

Travelers are raving about these Southampton hotels

Lewisburg
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2015

Very disappointed with our stay. I know Southampton,NY is in the high rent district,but the accommodations are just about average and probably equivalent to a three star hotel. Really nothing special except it is clean. Avoid the very high priced breakfast as it also is just ordinary and you can do better in town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SouthamptonInnNY, Manager at Southampton Inn, responded to this review

That is exactly correct, we are a clean, three star hotel in Southampton, NY. 90% of our guests (many repeat guests) come to enjoy our quaint getaway in the village and all its special amenities such as our heated pool, outdoor lawn games, and our continuously voted “best of the best” breakfast. We hope you join us again and have... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

An especially surly reservations staff. I should have had my antenna up when I made the initial reservation. When a family wedding was canceled two months prior to the reservation, these cheats pocketed $100 of my deposit. Clearly, they will rent that room during the high season and keep my money. I can't imagine this is the right way to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SouthamptonInnNY, Public Relations Manager at Southampton Inn, responded to this review

While we are very sorry that this reviewer was unhappy with the cancellation policy, it is clearly expressed in the confirmation and protects the company (and other potential guests) from frivolous reservations. It is also unfortunate that the wedding was called off. We actually altered our usual procedures in setting up a special room block for this wedding group that... More 

Wayne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2015

First off, I want to clarify that my stay was during March, so my feedback will only be based on a time that "nothing happens" in the Hamptons. I reserved a double-size bed for my family and I. We also brought our dog. The hotel and rooms are lovely, clean, no pet-odors and very comfortable. The beds are really great!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

Reservation cancelation policy is brutal. Lost a couple hundred $ for rooms with almost two months out. I totally understand the needs for a cancelation policy that doesn't refund a room a week or two out but not two months.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
SouthamptonInnNY, Manager at Southampton Inn, responded to this review

Since we are located in the one of the most desirable destinations on the east coast, it is crucial that we have a cancellation policy in place to prevent individuals from booking and holding rooms that may go unused at no penalty. Our cancellation policy refunds the cost of the reservation, less a cancellation fee for all nights canceled. Our... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
1:53
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (36)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay