We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shelter Island House

11 Stearns Point Road, Shelter Island, NY 11965 (Formerly La Maison Blanche Hotel)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shelter Island House
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
Shelter Island House
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    44
    20
    12
    5
See reviews for
23
109
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (178)
  • Mar-May only
    (31)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (80)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (53)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
There are newer reviews for Shelter Island House
See the most recent reviews
Bay Ridge, New York, United States
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

The first 2 days of our stay, it POURED! Thunder crashed, lightning flashed, rain pounded the eaves and gutters outside our room ... AND IT WAS GREAT! The room was beautiful - the bed was very high - you almost had to climb into it - and i really liked the featherbed mattress topper, which you really sink into. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
LaMaisonBlancheHotel, Owner at Shelter Island House, responded to this review

Dear eldee113, Many thanks for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of the property. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and in the meantime please feel free to follow us on Twitter and Facebook for upcoming special offers.... More 

NYC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We would give 4.5 stars if we could. We had a very enjoyable summer weekend stay, taking advantage of the relaxing pool, bocce courts, table tennis, and most of all a scenic bike around the island. We ate several meals at their restaurant and were never disappointed. In fact, we thought our dinner was superior to Vine St and much... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
LaMaisonBlancheHotel, Owner at Shelter Island House, responded to this review

Dear miss_mojito_nyc, Many thanks for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay but was disappointed to read your comments regarding the room. I will be reaching out to you to find out more details on this so that we can take care of any... More 

New Haven, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We were very happy with our stay at the Maison Blanche on Shelter Island. The staff was hospitable and the rooms were kept very clean. Upon our departure, the staff asked for our feedback on our experience so we would like to suggest the following: Coffeemakers in La Petite Maison – I enjoyed the walk from Petite Maison to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
LaMaisonBlancheHotel, Owner at Shelter Island House, responded to this review

Dear Palomitica29, Many thanks for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read that overall you enjoyed the property and I certainly appreciate your constructive feedback on some of the issues you experienced and I am working on rectifying them. We do plan on adding coffee machines to La Petite... More 

New York, New York, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

For those who want a sophisticated hotel but without the hype, this is the place for you. It's a small boutique hotel with cozy accents and attentive staff. A stone's throw from Crescent Beach and Shelter Island Heights, La Maison Blanche is perfectly situated on Shelter Island. Though, the restaurant is good enough that you may never need or want... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
LaMaisonBlancheHotel, Owner at Shelter Island House, responded to this review

Dear Adam U, Many thanks for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed both the hotel and our award winning restaurant. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and please feel free to follow us on Facebook and Twitter for upcoming special... More 

Paramus, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Nice place for rest and relaxation. Room five is a little small but quiet and well appointed. Nice pool, friendly staff. Ate lunch poolside...salad was a little brown perhaps they don't do enough food sales toaintain freshness?

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LaMaisonBlancheHotel, Owner at Shelter Island House, responded to this review

Dear bckathleen1982, Many thanks for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay with us. I was pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay but I was disappointed to read about your salad. I wish you had brought it to our attention. We are a very busy restaurant (even more so in the month of... More 

Ridgefield, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed at Le Maison blanche from Mon-Friday the first week in August and could not have had a better experience. It felt like a combination of an inn and boutique hotel. Our room #8 was amazing! So spacious and the cleaning and turn down service was exceptional. The new pool was lovely. The staff was so friendly and available... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
LaMaisonBlancheHotel, Owner at Shelter Island House, responded to this review

Dear DinaZ, Many thanks for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed both our award winning hotel and restaurant. Given that we are "kid friendly" we look forward to welcoming you back either with the family or just yourselves in the very near future. We will... More 

Astoria, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for a long weekend for my husbands birthday. The bocci court & bikes (although dirty/rusty) were a great touch. The room was nice and clean. However the AC did not work and it was at least 15 degrees difference from the rest of the hotel. The bakery was a closet stuffed w deli quality items. Good if book w... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
LaMaisonBlancheHotel, Owner at Shelter Island House, responded to this review

Dear Kimberx, Many thanks for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay with us. I was disappointed that we fell short of your expectations. Please feel free to reach out to me to discuss some of the issues further so that we can get them resolved: alistair.maclean@maisonblanchehotel.com I look forward to hearing back from you in... More 

Us
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Great room, great location but service bordering on amateurish. We were somewhat disconcerted at checkout to be told that our account would stay open until housekeeping checked we "hadn't taken anything from the minibar". Other places we have stayed usually ask the guest whether they've purchased, not "taken," anything from the minibar, and then I presume, housekeeping discreetly checks anyway.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
LaMaisonBlancheHotel, Owner at Shelter Island House, responded to this review

Dear UsDiner, Many thanks for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay with us. I was pleased to read that you appreciated the room and the location but was disappointed to read about your comments regarding our service as it is something we are constantly working on to improve and we take great pride on the... More 

New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I’ve stayed at La Maison three times and being a fan of everything French, I think this is the perfect little Provencal escape for New Yorkers - less than two hours drive from Manhattan. La Maison is an eight room boutique hotel - rooms are chic and airy, with simple modern decor. No need to stray from the hotel for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
LaMaisonBlancheHotel, Owner at Shelter Island House, responded to this review

Dear MindyJoyce, Many thanks for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed both the hotel and our award winning restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back for a 4th visit very soon and in the meantime please feel free to follow us on Facebook and... More 

London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We hesitated between staying at Sunset Beach and LMB and we are very pleased with our choice. Sunset Beach is great but so crowded and loud. Winning combination is to stay at LMB, enjoy the bikes, the pool, the yoga, the tranquility, the food and go for fun nights out to SB which is 5 minutes away from LMB. About... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
LaMaisonBlancheHotel, Owner at Shelter Island House, responded to this review

Dear CocoCTLondon, Many thanks for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed both the hotel as well as our award winning restaurant. We look forward to welcoming the whole family back in the near future and in the meantime please feel free to follow us on... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

68 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question