We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Shelter Island hotels

The Pridwin Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   81 Shore Road, Crescent Beach, Shelter Island, NY 11964
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Pridwin Hotel to your Saves list
The Pridwin Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
63%
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Shelter Island
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
bean0906 New York
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    43
    19
    17
    20
See reviews for
40
58
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (144)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (80)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (45)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel staff was very nice and accommodating. The views are stunning. The rooms at Pridwin are showing their age. And they are very small. Bathroom was updated but again very small. Really no place in room to sit and enjoy the view. I haven't seen a TV that small or old in years. The noise from the bathroom plumbing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is a quaint old hotel with spectacular views of the bay! The rooms were small but clean with a very comfortable bed and bedding. Such a treat to lie in bed gazing out on the water! Towels were small and thin but the bathroom was otherwise well stocked with amenities. The staff was friendly and helpful. Continental breakfast was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bronxville, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First of all, we went after Labor Day. No food served except for a horrible breakfast buffet consisting of defrosted plain bagels and English muffins, some cut up fresh fruit, yogurt and cold cereal......of course there was fresh oj and tea/coffee..........The place has been in business since 1928 and there were plenty of items that were still being used from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Miller Place, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Here on September 9, 2014. Here on the upper deck watching the sun go down. Could not find a better spot to watch the sun go down except maybe for Aruba. Very quiet here. I may be the only guest here this time of year. The hotel itself is very nice. It must be crazy here during the summer. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
New York, New York, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice hotel, great location. Staff is very nice and helpful - most of them from the UK in the country for the summer season. A family property, you would feel like your are living in the 50s. Rooms are small but clean. Great view from the restaurant and front lawn.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a quietly elegant hotel, retrofitted from times when people were smaller. The bathrooms are minuscule (but nicely done).The guest rooms are attractive, but they should certainly have two night tables! The Pridwin has a lovely private beach and a marvelous restaurant--you'll love both, if you can find the hotel. You see, there are two Shore Roads on Shelter... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ThePridwinHotel, Manager at The Pridwin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review. We have taken your comments on board and appreciate your honesty! We are aware with the problems with GPS on the island, unfortunately we have two Shore Roads on the Island, and some GPS companies send our guests to the wrong one. We apologize that you were not informed of the lack... More

2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

There's a message on the notice board at the Pridwin that reads "It's nice to be important but more important to be nice" if this chimes a note with you then you will hopefully love it here. If not then you should stay at Sunset beach down the road, that's packed to the rafters with the important. The Pridwin on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
ThePridwinHotel, Manager at The Pridwin Hotel, responded to this review

We love that you were able to take from the message we have on our board. Thank you for such a kind review, and we are so happy you recognized the timeless feel of The Pridwin. We hope to welcome you again in the close future, and hope you enjoy the remainder of your summer. More

anonymous
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were very pleased with the courtesy and compassion of the staff, since I arrived after having an accident, and was limited in my mobility. Although we arrived after the kitchen was closed, when the front desk heard we came directly from the hospital, they quickly contacted the chef who then cooked dinner for my husband. The water view room... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ThePridwinHotel, Owner at The Pridwin Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the wonderful review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your trip at The Pridwin Hotel. We would also like to thank you for the kind words about our staff. We hope you feel better soon and that the remainder of your summer is enjoyable. More

New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the Pridwin in late July and I delayed writing a review as I thought my negative reactions to the place would have been mitigated by the passage of time. Well, they haven't been. The hotel presents well in its website photo, and it has an appealing patio for outdoor dining if you don't mind an armada of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
ThePridwinHotel, Manager at The Pridwin Hotel, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear that your stay at The Pridwin Hotel did not meet with your expectations. To address some of your concerns, we are aware that a seagull sometimes perch on the roof of our hotel. We do have signage suggesting to take a plate cover to cover your food when you are away from your table.... More

2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The Pridwin is not a cookie-cutter, corporate hotel, but a unique family-run place, and that is it's charm. The hotel is a grand dame of a place with a stunning view and the kind of family feel that calls to mind the hotel in "Dirty Dancing" minus most of the organized events ( we did go to the Wednesday night... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
ThePridwinHotel, Manager at The Pridwin Hotel, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for the kind words you shared of our hotel! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and found your room comfortable. The breakfast proves to be ever popular, boasting our wonderful home made donuts and crepes! We hope to welcome you to our hotel in the future and hope that you enjoy... More

Do you own or manage The Pridwin Hotel?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Pridwin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pridwin Hotel

Address: 81 Shore Road, Crescent Beach, Shelter Island, NY 11964
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Shelter Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pridwin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Pridwin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pridwin Shelter Island
Pridwin Hotel Shelter Island

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (33)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Near The Pridwin Hotel

Enlarge Map
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby
18 Bay
18 Bay
Italian
Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Mashomack Preserve
Mashomack Preserve
Nature/ Wildlife Areas