We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   875 Route 9, Schroon Lake, NY 12870
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Tumble Inn to your Saves list
Tumble Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
88%
Ranked #5 of 7 Schroon Lake B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
MT5700 Hamlin, New York
  • Overview
  • Reviews (44)
  • Photos (5)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (8)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    6
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
8
27
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hamlin, New York
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
33 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had no previous reservations and just by chance went to Schroon Lake and spotted vacancy sign at the Tumble Inn, Nancy and Larry are wonderful hosts! I eat gluten free (not by choice), Nancy was so accommodating it was amazing. She revised the eggs made for breakfast so I could enjoy them. She even went out of her way... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Albany, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Nancy puts on a quite a spread at breakfast. On our latest visit we started with in-season fruit topped with yogurt and granola. Next was a goat cheese quiche with asparagus and tomato. Truly elegant. Our next course was an incredible apricot french toast, served with locally cured bacon and sausage. For 'dessert" we indulged on a bacon pineapple upside... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mammabell50, Owner at Tumble Inn, responded to this review

Thanks Steve and Dawn. Sorry I didn't get to say goodbye to you as I thought you would still be there after I got back from church. It was fun seeing you again and thank you for the nice review. We know we will see you again. More

New York City, New York
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Nancy and Larry are perfect innkeepers. They and their house are open to their guests. If you speak with them, you will be rewarded with intelligent, articulate dialogue about the region. If you wish to keep to yourself, you can enjoy solitude. The house is spotless, the breakfast is delicious and more than ample (you will skip lunch), and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mammabell50, Owner at Tumble Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time from your busy day to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope you will come again. Thank you for letting other travelers know about our inn. We do strive for constant improvement. More

Alta Loma, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

My husband and I booked the Tumble Inn for 3 nights over the 4th of July weekend and we couldn't have been more pleased. My husband isn't a big B & B guy, but had no complaints. We stayed in the Winter Room which was fun as it was decorated with 1980 Winter Olympic memorabilia. Since my husband was at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mammabell50, Owner at Tumble Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time for the nice review. We know that since you were from CA, we may not see you again, but you are always welcome. We enjoyed your company and were glad that you got to witness home town fun for the 4th! We always strive to do our best, but as we are human, some... More

Cambridge, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
48 hotel reviews
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

When we arrived in the late afternoon we found a note on the door. Nancy would not be back until 8:30 pm but come in and find our room in the empty house. When we tried to enter, 2 dogs were inside the door barking at us. We had skipped lunch so went out for an early dinner. Larry was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Queensbury, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Today I had a hard time finding rooms in the Schroon Lake Area in the AM and decided to call this place for vacancy. Not only was the owner rude to me and planned on over charging me for the night, she argued with me about me being allowed to come stay there. I was made to feel unwanted and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mammabell50, Owner at Tumble Inn, responded to this review

What you failed to mention is that you called at 2:30 AM. An innkeeper at a small inn has no night desk clerk, I was sound asleep and was awoken by your call. I cannot turn my phone off at night due to a medical issue of a family member. I am usually quite pleasant, but 2:30 AM is not... More

NYC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Have stayed here a couple of times the past few years. Recently stayed the first weekend in May. It was off season for Schroon Lake, so there were a couple of spare rooms. Our hostess asked if we wanted to upgrade to a king-sized bed at no additional cost. Of course! It ended up being the room we'd stayed in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Tumble inn is the first b&b I've been to. So there is literally no comparison ,but the host made the house and all in it comfortable and invited a relaxing atmosphere for all. Breakfast is great just simply put absolutely great. Also dishes were made gluten free for some of the guests. very impressed overall and would recommend a stop... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mammabell50, Owner at Tumble Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our inn. We were sorry for the circumstances that brought you to us (a funeral), but are pleased that you found enjoyment with us in your time of sorrow. Hope you all got back safely. Perhaps we shall meet again. More

Kennebunkport, Maine
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
15 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We just stayed for two nights at the Tumble Inn. Normally we don't stay at B and Bs but the reviews of the breakfasts definitely lured us in and we were not disappointed. Each morning Nancy went over and above our expectations. French toast stuffed with apples, quiche, little ricotta tarts, homemade applesauce-- I could go on, but leave it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mammabell50, Owner at Tumble Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review. We are glad you enjoyed your experience with us. I can't move the house and there is road traffic. I have put ear plugs in all room. We will investigate other options. More

Booneville, Mississippi
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
43 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We are not really into B and B but this was really a pleasant experience. Nancy does an excellent job of taking care of you from start to finish. It is really great in this impersonal world to stay where you really feel that a real person cares for you. The rooms are a little small but certainly adequate. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mammabell50, Owner at Tumble Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. Thanks for the positive feedback about our service to you and fellow marathoners. We consider our rooms adequate in size. They are not the suites of box hotels, just what we advertise as; i.e., a country farmhouse inn kept true to the character of the original 1870s home. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Tumble Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Tumble Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tumble Inn

Address: 875 Route 9, Schroon Lake, NY 12870
Location: United States > New York > Schroon Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tumble Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Tumble Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

5 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Schroon Lake with
any amenities

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Tumble Inn B & B offers 4 rooms, each representing a season in the Adirondacks. Rooms include AC, private baths w/ clawfoot tubs (modern plumbing) and fireplaces. Our living room features a fieldstone fireplace and arts and crafts decore. A "no lunch" breakfast is served daily. We have a wraparound porch(with screened area), cable TV, wi-fi, gardens, views, a picnic table and an outdoor hot tub. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
4

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Tumble Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer