We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Stockade Inn

Hotel website
1 North Church Street, Schenectady, NY 12305
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Stockade Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

100 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2015 via mobile

As we drove through town to get there already was getting a bad feeling. When we parked in the lot I was afraid to leave anything in the car for fear it would get broken into or stolen. Walked into the hotel and checked in, received a key from the owner but had to ask how to get to the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tiffany A
North Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
100 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2015

I drove to Schenectady for a weekend to catch a show at Proctor's, and as this was my first time in town I wanted to stay someplace with a bit of local color rather than some by-the-numbers Hampton Inn. And that's just what the Stockade Inn provided. Despite arriving early, check-in was a breeze and our room was ready: a... More 

Helpful?
Thank aaronclark
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2015

The Stockade Inn is a great old restored historical inn and a must stay when in town. When you enter the main lobby you can see the history and the architecture, the wood working is so detailed. The bar is great so are the martinis. We had a third floor room, or I should say a suite, there are two... More 

Helpful?
Thank michaeljackk
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2015 via mobile

Spent just one night but wow! Such history and beautiful room. Loved the atmosphere. I'd stay again. We had a corner room with a great view from the second floor. Rich interiors. Cool elevator. The staff was great. Elegant and peaceful. Loved the billiard room

Helpful?
Thank Clyde L
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2015 via mobile

I travelled in for two nights on Business and was booked at the Stockade Inn. Knew that the history of the area was integral to the founding of this country and the industry I work in. The Inn is steeped in history and taking a walk in the area yields a treasure trove of buildings that date back to the... More 

Helpful?
Thank MR03
Esmont, VA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2015 via mobile

We were extremely pleased with our stay at the Stockade Inn. History of building and surrounding area is amazing! The inn is well decorated, clean and friendly. We had a suite - could of had a dance in it! Unfortunately they do not offer a restaurant any more as they are concentrating on wedding/function business but you can order off... More 

Helpful?
Thank SNMBFL
Cortland, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2015

We were riding bikes along the Erie Canal Trail from Buffalo to Albany and had a blind resertvation here. Almost rode past it because the sign said, Mohawk Club.This is an old "Men's Club" transitioned into a hotel. I actually spoke there more than 35 years ago. They were more than accommodating. They gave us a seperate room for our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Roger F
Green Cove Springs FL
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2015

If you want to break away from the chain-hotel habit, this *might* fill the bill. But unfortunately, the Stockade Inn's charm was offset by a feeling of benign neglect. First I must say that I had no idea that Schenectady would hold any particular interest for me, but the Stockade district was just oozing with charm and interesting architecture. The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Crabcakegirl
East Lansing, Michigan
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2015

The worst hotel I've been in my life. Check in didn't have my reservation and it took then almost 1h to figure out something even I showing them my confirmation number from here. Room was supposed to be non-smoker but it was filled with a lot of smoke, tried to get rid of it with air freshener but it wasn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank CarlosFndes
StockadeInn, Manager at The Stockade Inn, responded to this review

We are a completely non-smoking hotel and charge a $75 fee if anyone smokes in our rooms. In the last 30 days we have had this happen twice, the guest was charged, the room was ventilated and inspected by management before being reused. In reviewing our records we do not have a guest named Carlos from East Lansing, Michigan that... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

Staff is very nice, and the place is historic, with a bed-and-breakfast feeling. But don't get too excited about the "breakfast" part -- there is no hot breakfast, it's mainly shrink-wrapped muffins and pastries like you'd get at a gas station. But then, there are plenty of nice restaurants not far away. If you want a nice breakfast, try Perreca's... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jeff Y
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (5)
Viewed
0:30
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schenectady
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Schenectady
Hampton Inn Schenectady
#2 of 12 in Schenectady
4.5 of 5 stars 394 reviews
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Schenectady
2.6 mi away
Mallozzi's Belvedere Inn
Mallozzi's Belvedere Inn
#3 of 12 in Schenectady
4.0 of 5 stars 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Parker Inn & Suites
The Parker Inn & Suites
#4 of 12 in Schenectady
4.0 of 5 stars 76 reviews
3.1 mi away
Quality Inn Schenectady
Quality Inn Schenectady
#7 of 12 in Schenectady
3.0 of 5 stars 12 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay