We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Stockade Inn

Hotel website
1 North Church Street, Schenectady, NY 12305
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Stockade Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

92 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    33
    37
    11
    9
    2
See reviews for
10
34
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (92)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (32)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (34)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
Green Cove Springs FL
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you want to break away from the chain-hotel habit, this *might* fill the bill. But unfortunately, the Stockade Inn's charm was offset by a feeling of benign neglect. First I must say that I had no idea that Schenectady would hold any particular interest for me, but the Stockade district was just oozing with charm and interesting architecture. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
East Lansing, Michigan
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2015

The worst hotel I've been in my life. Check in didn't have my reservation and it took then almost 1h to figure out something even I showing them my confirmation number from here. Room was supposed to be non-smoker but it was filled with a lot of smoke, tried to get rid of it with air freshener but it wasn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StockadeInn, Manager at The Stockade Inn, responded to this review

We are a completely non-smoking hotel and charge a $75 fee if anyone smokes in our rooms. In the last 30 days we have had this happen twice, the guest was charged, the room was ventilated and inspected by management before being reused. In reviewing our records we do not have a guest named Carlos from East Lansing, Michigan that... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

Staff is very nice, and the place is historic, with a bed-and-breakfast feeling. But don't get too excited about the "breakfast" part -- there is no hot breakfast, it's mainly shrink-wrapped muffins and pastries like you'd get at a gas station. But then, there are plenty of nice restaurants not far away. If you want a nice breakfast, try Perreca's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2015

Our room was large and clean. The elevator was scary. Hallways smell musty. The "continental breakfast" is ridiculous. Muffins in cellophane bags from the local deli -- come on, can't you do better than that? It's okay for a night. Staff was pleasant.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Niskayuna, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2015

Absolutely adorable, super comfortable and very historic. We had so much fun staying here when we visited! Definitely recommend it for visitors. Plus it's very close to state street which has several bars and restaurants, as well as Proctors Theater.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015

Stayed here for just one overnight while visiting someone in Schenectady. The room was clean, shower was amazing. I was 8 months pregnant and it was a nice little get away. While there are not a lot of options I would definitely recommend this hotel, but the fact no staff is on at night and we could only ever find... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2015

This hotel is not a super fancy place. It's clean, the architecture is very interesting, the neighborhood is walkable/jog able and the bartender was a really nice guy. That's all I ask so as long as you are not looking to have this miami-style trip experience and accept Schenctady for what it is, the hotel is fine and if I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2015

This is a lovely old building in a lovely old area. The hotel reflects the style of former grandeur and is well decorated. I imagine it would be a good venue for events as there are large reception rooms. The staff were helpful. A continental breakfast was provided but was average. The internet was good. Our room was large and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
los angeles, ca
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2015

We stayed at the hotel overnight recently. The building is amazing, in the historic part of Schenectady. The first floor of the hotel is gorgeous with a bar and restaurant and space for private events. Our room was ample size, good bed, clean. But a few things were lacking. When we arrived, we had no shampoo or conditioner in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level Contributor
100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

I stayed for two nights on business, and found the hotel perfectly acceptable, if not very inspired. The exterior is beautifully restored--an 1818 building that has served in a variety of capacities, including as a private club (the Mohawk Club, whose plaque near the door can confuse the visitor looking for the inn). There is no reception desk to speak... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
StockadeInn, General Manager at The Stockade Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for passing on your experiences of your stay at The Stockade Inn. It is unfortunate that we have a small reception area but we try to utilize the beautiful space for the customers as much as possible and would hate to take up a large space of the hotel with a reception area. With regards to the double... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
0:30
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schenectady
2.6 mi away
Mallozzi's Belvedere Inn
Mallozzi's Belvedere Inn
#2 of 12 in Schenectady
4.0 of 5 stars 82 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Schenectady
Hampton Inn Schenectady
#1 of 12 in Schenectady
4.5 of 5 stars 361 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Parker Inn & Suites
The Parker Inn & Suites
#5 of 12 in Schenectady
3.5 of 5 stars 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Quality Inn Schenectady
Quality Inn Schenectady
#6 of 12 in Schenectady
3.0 of 5 stars 9 reviews
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Schenectady
9.8 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay