We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Gideon Putnam

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
4.0 of 5
Hotel website
24 Gideon Putnam Road, Saratoga Spa State Park, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866 (Formerly Gideon Putnam Hotel and Conference Center)
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Gideon Putnam
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

676 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    251
    205
    106
    66
    48
See reviews for
116
296
17
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (676)
  • Mar-May only
    (142)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (227)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (179)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (128)
All months
Massapequa Park, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Checked in to the Gideon Putnam for the weekend and from the start thought it was going to be wonderful. It is a beautiful historical hotel with a very attentive staff. (except for one bartender on Saturday night). My room was ready early and my cousin's was not. My standard room appeared to be recently renovated and was clean. Air... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Checked in and hotel staff very friendly and helpful. This is our first time here. For a modest additional $50 we were able to upgrade to a Jr Suite. While the grounds, location to SPAC, and old world hotel charm is appealing, the hotel room accommodations are VERY disappointing for over $400 per night. A Hampton Inn room type. Stained... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review

It was a pleasure having you as our guest. I am happy to hear you found our staff friendly and helpful, and that you loved our food, and the grounds. I am sorry you were disappointed with your room. We are in the design/approval/bidding stage for many interior projects. We agree with you - it is time. Care for a... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Our experience began with the poorly trained, ill kempt, unaccommodating front desk clerk who (a) didn't know the times, admission fees, viewing, or dining options at the race track - - that is the major attraction of the Saratoga Springs area, is it not? From a service perspective, the hotel is due for some significant re-training from Relais-Chateau, Ritz Carlton,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Staten Island, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The Gideon has always proved to be the highlight of the racing season at Saratoga and year round. Everyone who goes, returns and brings more friends. The spa itself is an experience. The ambiance is 1800s but the services and amenities and 21st century and terrific.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review

Thank you for your patronage. I am happy to hear that, once again, you had a great time at The Gideon Putnam. We appreciate your great review. More 

Quincy, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We upgraded to a executive suite once we saw the deluxe room. The suite was perfect,, enough area to relax and unwind. The deluxe room was small and cramped. We loved the rocking chairs at night. So peaceful to sit and be still. Spa was delightful and refreshing. The pool was pristine and refreshing, we were under the impression it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review

It sounds like you had the quintessential Saratoga experience! Thank you for making The Gideon Putnam your vacation destination. Please come see us again. More 

Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Here are a few pointers to help you decide if the Gideon Putnam is for you: The grounds are peaceful and serene so if you're looking for that this is for you. Stunning and centrally located to everything! We came here as a private couple vacation but if you're looking for a nightlife you won't find it here. Most people... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest, straightforward feedback. I am so glad you had a relaxing vacation at The Gideon Putnam. Please come see us again! More 

New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Hotel is classic but not grand. Setting in nationally historic state park is wonderful and service is good. Lots of amenities and culture in the park. The breakfast outside is especially nice. We went into town for all other meals given the excellent places in Saratoga Springs. Biggest problem is the bathrooms. The ones in the rooms are perfectly serviceable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review

Thank you for your great feedback. Our bathroom fixtures are originals, and as a National Historic Landmark, we want to keep it that way. It sound like you enjoyed your stay otherwise, and we hope you will visit us again in the future. More 

Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed here while visiting Skidmore College. The hotel is conveniently located with beautiful surroundings and walking distance to town. Plenty of trails for walking or running and the concierge was able to describe several good runs for me based on the distance and terrain I prefer. The room was clean and nice. The hotel staff was very helpful and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience at The Gideon Putnam. If you were here visiting Skidmore, perhaps we will see you many more times in the future! More 

Upstate NY
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stayed here for business, and normally wouldn't have stayed here at all since I'm relatively local but wanted to save on additional driving during track season. Sadly, this hotel has seen much better days. While I appreciated the 5th floor view, didn't appreciate the two floor air conditioner units. Worse yet, the plumbing issues in this room sank any appreciation... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review

I am very sorry. Yours was not an acceptable experience, and definitely not in keeping with standard practice. If a maintenance issue is reported, we send someone to fix it. I hope we took care of you at check out - if not, please feel free to call me. More 

Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

While we enjoyed most of the Gideon Putnam hotel, we were unable to take part in the spa. This was a business trip and we booked the Gideon Putnam for its proximity to the Performing Arts Center. The room we received was small and the bed was far too soft for our comfort. The food in the dining room was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad to hear that, for the most part, you enjoyed your stay with us. As with all comments we receive, we will use yours to continue to improve The Gideon Putnam experience. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

121 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (112)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (31)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saratoga Springs hotels
2.0 mi away
Saratoga Arms
Saratoga Arms
#1 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
5.0 of 5 stars 429 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Saratoga Springs
Hampton Inn & Suites Saratoga Sp...
#2 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
5.0 of 5 stars 901 reviews
1.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratoga Springs
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratog...
#3 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs
Holiday Inn Saratoga Springs
#9 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 368 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pavilion Grand Hotel
Pavilion Grand Hotel
#4 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 132 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Saratoga Hilton
The Saratoga Hilton
#15 of 32 in Saratoga Springs
3.5 of 5 stars 836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay