We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Gideon Putnam

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
4.0 of 5
Hotel website
24 Gideon Putnam Road, Saratoga Spa State Park, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866 (Formerly Gideon Putnam Hotel and Conference Center)
The Gideon Putnam
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Saratoga Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
MasyaJack New York City, New York
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    176
    91
    58
    42
See reviews for
98
256
15
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (597)
  • Mar-May only
    (141)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (149)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (179)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (128)
All months
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We loved it all!!!! Spa services were great. Staff is very friendly and eager to help. I enjoyed a 60-min Swedish massage by Alex (Thank you, Alex!!!) Mineral Bath is soooo relaxing. Overall, it was a great experience. Can’t wait to do it all over again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

If you want old style accommodations and incredibly friendly, solicitous staff with access to a beautiful park and free shuttle service to downtown Saratoga this is the place for you. Plenty of space to rest and relax out of the room.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Allendale, New Jersey
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed at the Gideon to attend a wedding which was being held there. Had pre-booked the room through the wedding party. The rate seemed to be reasonable for the type of accommodation and considering it was the Memorial Day weekend. We had a very nice room which was clean with a very comfortable king size bed. We had a view... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, and I'm glad to hear how much you enjoyed the wedding. We can in return say that we enjoyed having you all here - the wedding was beautiful, everyone was so nice and seemed to be having a great time! Please come see us again. More 

New York City, New York
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The ambience was wonderful. The staff was wonderful. The location superb for my purposes. The room satisfactory. The mattress....not so much. Terrible really....felt like cardboard. Sounded like cardboard. I really don't think I ever fell asleep. I appreciated the fact that everything was washable on the bed and was very clean. The shower.... Fine for a body shower but glad... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review

Congratulations. And thank you for taking the time to review us. I am sorry to hear you did not find the mattress comfortable, and I wish I knew which room you were in - most of our guests tell us how comfortable they find the beds. Again, my apologies, and I hope you will find occasion to give us another... More 

Weston, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Old world charm. My second stay at this hotel and spa. This time we were here for the Skidmore College graduation. It's perfectly located as the graduation is held at SPAC which is walkable or use the hotel shuttle service . Would stay here again when in Saratoga Springs .

Was this review helpful? Yes
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to recommend us to others. We hope that post-graduation, your family will still find reasons to visit us here at The Gideon Putnam. More 

New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The Gideon Putnam is a gracious old hotel which could use a facelift. It is located in the beautiful Saratoga Spa State Park which is great for walking, playing tennis and golf and relaxing at the spa. The hotel staff were very pleasant, but more personnel was needed at the front desk. We had upgraded to a deluxe room but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are a unique, historic hotel set in a beautiful park setting. We are not perfect, but we work hard everyday to improve the experience of our guests. Please come see us again - you will continue to see upgrades to the hotel. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

this hotel is absolutely stunning! rooms are beautiful and grounds are gorgeous.Very accomodatig and casino is a five minute ride. shopping in town is also a lot of fun with beautiful shops and restaurants

Was this review helpful? Yes
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share the wonderful experience you had at The Gideon Putnam. We hope to see you again. More 

Saratoga Springs, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our fourth visit to the Gideon Putnam. We have a son who just graduated Skidmore College and we have made a point of trying to stay at the Gideon Putnam at least once a year since he was a freshman. This is one part of the Saratoga experience everyone should have. The setting in Saratoga Springs State Park... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review

Thank you very much for staying with us these past years while your son attended Skidmore. Our location here in the Saratoga Spa State Park is truly special, and what sets us apart from the rest. We, as the management company/caretakers, and The State, as owners, work tirelessly to maintain this National Historic Landmark. There are always projects going on... More 

Kinnelon, NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Can't say anything about the hotel because we did not stay there. We did go there for their Sunday Brunch which was very disappointing. There is a decent selection of meats, (steak, pork, lamb) which seemed a bit heavy for brunch, an omelette station, a selection of steam-table breakfast items and some other fish and salads, some of which were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I'm very sorry the service for brunch was below our standards. We have received several comments about this in the past two weeks. We will be discussing this with our staff. I am sorry we let you down, and hope you will consider us again in the future. More 

Potsdam, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff is great and very attentive. The facility was good although could use some paint and new carpeting. The food was terrible in the hotel and from the delivery vendors. Go downtown to eat if you want a nice meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at The Gideon Putnam, responded to this review

Our staff is wonderful, thank you for saying so! The front of the hotel was painted and repaired in 2014. We will do the same to the back of the hotel in 2015. We agree, new carpets are necessary, and will be coming. And very exciting, we have a new Executive Chef, John Jackson, who just started this past weekend.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

92 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (83)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (28)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay