We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gideon Putnam Resort & Spa

GreenLeadersSilver level
Hotel website
24 Gideon Putnam Road, Saratoga Spa State Park, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866 (Formerly Gideon Putnam Hotel and Conference Center)
Gideon Putnam Resort & Spa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Saratoga Springs
GreenLeadersSilver level
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Susan R Charleston, South Carolina
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    163
    85
    56
    42
See reviews for
83
242
15
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (551)
  • Mar-May only
    (95)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (149)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (179)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (128)
All months
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Spent a weekend at the Gideon Putnam...roaring fires in the lobby and beautiful decor reminded me of a lost era. The staff were extremely accommodating and the Sunday brunch was not to be passed up. Would highly recommend if you are visiting Saratoga Springs.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at Gideon Putnam Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for spending a weekend with us. And while we agree that the roaring fires in the lobby are great... we are definitely ready for some warm weather! We hope you will visit again when our back patio, and all The Park amenities, are open for the Summer season. More 

west norriton, pa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

we purchased a travel computer deal which turned out to be an extraordinary experience the hotel is in the middle of a state park and even in the midst of winter the vistas were gorgeous can't imagine what spring will bring the hotel is elegant in a way you rarely get to see today the staff is incredibly welcoming if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at Gideon Putnam Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking advantage of our offer, and for taking the time to share your wonderful experience with all of us. We look forward to your return. More 

New Haven, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel is a lovely old hotel on park like grounds. We really enjoyed mineral baths at the spa and exploring the grounds. I highly recommend the Sunday Brunch! It has an enormous selection and the food is delicious.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at Gideon Putnam Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting The Gideon Putnam, located within the Saratoga Spa State Park. We appreciate you sharing how much you enjoyed your visit. Please know that we take great pride in caring for this National Historic Landmark Hotel, and we are never without multiple, large-scale projects. Should your plans lead you back this way, you will continue to see... More 

Madison, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our first visit to Saratoga Springs. The Gideon was perfectly located, complete with free snowshoes to explore the expansive grounds. We found several springs hidden in the woods, including one spout 15 feet high. Our stay included breakfasts and spa access, both of which we enjoyed immensely. The close-by visitors center helped us to make the best of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at Gideon Putnam Resort & Spa, responded to this review

It is wonderful to hear you will be back! Thank you for sharing your Winter escape with us. More 

Pine Plains, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I strongly recommend this hotel which is a vacation within itself. Do avoid it in August during the horse racing season when the town is jam packed. The hotel and spa are very well run and maintained. Do pamper yourself in the spa and also study the life of GIdeon Putnam.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at Gideon Putnam Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for strongly recommending us! This is perhaps the greatest compliment we can receive, because it means we are doing our job. More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Loved our stay! Very quiet! Very close to everything! Employees were very friendly and knowledgeable of the area! The grounds are beautiful! We were there in the winter and the trees were beautiful! Loved our stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at Gideon Putnam Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for making us a part of your plans, and for taking the time to recognize our wonderful staff. Please come see us again. More 

NYS
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Pleasant get-a-way hotel. Location is simply beautiful in the Saratoga State Park. Lovely walking paths adjacent to the hotel. Great place to stay for the night of a concert at SPAC. Walk to and from the concert, so convenient. Restaurants/Cafes located in hotel and during the summer more selections are open on the grounds of the park, within walking distances.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at Gideon Putnam Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Our location within the Saratoga Spa State Park is an ideal location for many activities, any time of the year. We hope you will consider staying with us again in the future. More 

Weston, Connecticut
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Arrived at the hotel for a 2 day stay to see my daughter at Skidmore. Snow shoes by the front door. The hotel has a beautiful lobby with fireplace. My room was a great size with a updated bath true to the period of the hotel. Comfortable , clean and updated - what else could you want. Will be back... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at Gideon Putnam Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We look forward to seeing you for graduation in May. More 

Hartford, New York
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a wonderful stay at the Gideon Putnam. All we needed was an affordable and clean room and we certainly got it. The shuttle service was an excellent surprise to get us to where we were going. The grounds surrounding the Gideon are beautiful. The snow shoes out front would have been a nice extra treat if we had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at Gideon Putnam Resort & Spa, responded to this review

It makes us feel great to hear that you would stay with us again, and that you would recommend us to others. It means we are doing our job! Thank you for sharing your experience. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Alex, the doorman/shuttle driver was awesome. He was very friendly, accommodating and efficient. He is an excellent representation for the hotel and should be acknowledged as such. I look forward to returning. Mary Beth Clark

Was this review helpful? Yes
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at Gideon Putnam Resort & Spa, responded to this review

We couldn't agree with you more. Alex is an excellent representative of The Gideon Putnam. Thank you for taking the time to recognize him! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

90 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (81)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question