We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 32 Saratoga Springs hotels

Gideon Putnam Resort & Spa

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Gideon Putnam Road, Saratoga Spa State Park, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866 (Formerly Gideon Putnam Hotel and Conference Center)
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Gideon Putnam Resort & Spa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Gideon Putnam Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Saratoga Springs
GreenLeadersSilver level
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Pam6242009 Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    157
    85
    56
    42
See reviews for
78
235
14
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (535)
  • Mar-May only
    (79)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (149)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (179)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (128)
All months
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars NEW

The Gideon Putnam is a treasure. The hotel transports you back through time to a grand era. The grounds are beautiful and extensive. We loved snowshoeing, and then to take a warm mineral bath and massage afterwards was heaven! Looking forward to enjoying this charming place the other 3 seasons.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at Gideon Putnam Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Great review! I am thrilled to hear you were able to recharge at The Gideon Putnam. See you soon. More 

New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I spend 50-60 night a year in various hotels around the world. This is the worst breakfast I have seen in years. Not a single healthy item. "Do you have fresh berries?" I asked. I was directed to a compote of mostly watermelon with strawberries. No eggs or omelette except scrambled eggs No fresh cottage cheese - only chemical yogurt.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at Gideon Putnam Resort & Spa, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear you were not happy with our breakfast selections. I will pass your feedback along to our Director of Food & Beverage. Thank you. More 

Dresden, Germany
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This has been our fourth time at the Gideon Putnam Hotel. If you are in the area and you do like the charming atmosphere of a well kept vintage hotel, you may want to top off your time with staying at this hotel. The hotel is neatly tucked away off the main roads within the Spa park area. Being inside... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at Gideon Putnam Resort & Spa, responded to this review

You traveled a long way (four times) from Germany to visit our hotel. Thank you for finding us, and for your wonderful, eloquently written review. You described the experience we want all of our guests to have. More 

Wingdale, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

From the start the bellman took care of our bags, the shuttle carried us around Saratoga and the Spa relaxed us. We were treated to an old school resort vacation we loved by the staff at Gideon Putnam. The building and grounds are beautiful, the room very comfortable and the lobby fireplaces are a great place to have a drink.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at Gideon Putnam Resort & Spa, responded to this review

A review like yours does not get old! I am glad to hear you had a perfectly wonderful, relaxing escape at The Gideon Putnam. Please come see us again. More 

Hamden, Connecticut
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent an overnight stay at the Gideon with the wife to visit our son at school. the staff and surroundings were beautifully coverage in a fresh coat of snow. Travelling down the Avenue of the Pines on our way to the Resort felt almost mystical.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at Gideon Putnam Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for finding us. I am glad to hear you had a terrific experience. We hope to be a part of your plans throughout your son's college years. More 

Ocean Gate, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a magical anniversary weekend. Roaring fire and Snow and spa and wine and cheese!! Lovely historic resort in a state park in Saratoga Springs NY. Nearby stores and restaurants. The park grounds are very beautiful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at Gideon Putnam Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Happy be-lated anniversary! Thank you for including us in your plans - I'm glad your experience with us was a special one. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very unique place because it's actually in a state park. Friendly staff and clean rooms. great mineral baths. The facility is nice and we didn't need to leave the state park for anything as it is available on the property. The one complaint is that hotel is VERY noisy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at Gideon Putnam Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. How wonderful to hear that we exceeded your expectations! I am sorry it was loud - I am wondering if you stayed with us during the busy holiday week, or if the hotel was full, or if there was a conference in-house? The guest floors are generally very quiet, but... More 

Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

To start I just want to say that the hotel portion of Gideon Putnam was very good. We loved the staff and everyone was helpful. The hotel is very pretty and rooms are clean. They offer free shuttle service until 11:00 pm (drop off and pick up) which was great. The bar closes very early (9:00pm) which was inconvenient since... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DelawareNorthCos, Manager at Gideon Putnam Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on your most recent visit and interaction with the Spa. I apologize that we were not more empathetic when you tried to make additional spa reservations. You stayed with us at the start of a very busy holiday week. We had a waiting list of over 50 guests, and we were fully committed all week,... More 

new york
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

i traveled to the GP Resort for a wedding in Feb 2015. I stayed 2 nights and was very pleased with the accomodations. The hotel is what i would describe as vintage. it has a feel like you are in an old mansion. The rooms feel like home. If you are looking for a modern feel you wont find it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at Gideon Putnam Resort & Spa, responded to this review

This has been a particularly cold Winter, but I am glad to hear you had a comfortable stay, and that you appreciated our free shuttle service into town. Thank you for staying with us, and I hope you have the opportunity to visit us again when the weather warms up. More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Pleasant stay. Hotel was clean staff was friendly and accommodating. Hotel a little tired and could use some updating but it was very charming and relaxing. We would definitely stay again. .....................................

Was this review helpful? Yes
DelawareNorthCos, General Manager at Gideon Putnam Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We love when our guests recommend us, and/or let us know that we will see them again in the future. With each visit, you will continue to see improvements to the hotel. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Gideon Putnam Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gideon Putnam Resort & Spa

Address: 24 Gideon Putnam Road, Saratoga Spa State Park, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866 (Formerly Gideon Putnam Hotel and Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Saratoga Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gideon Putnam Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gideon Putnam Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gideon Putnam Saratoga Springs
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#3 Spa Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#5 Family Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#6 Romantic Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#6 Business Hotel in Saratoga Springs

88 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (79)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay