We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown

Hotel website
Hotel deals
70 State Street, Rochester, NY 14614
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

17 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Sharpsville, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
112 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is my first trip to Rochester and the experience was a good one. The room and service was great, but there was very limited parking due to some construction. Overall good experience, but I will stay outside of the city next time unless I have need to be downtown early.

Helpful?
Thank Stephan C
Joanne G, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We understand and apologize for the inconvenience caused by the construction. All of our outside construction has been completed and we continue to improve enhancements to deliver a more comfortable stay for all of our guests. We hope for the opportunity to make this up to you the next time you are in the area.... More 

Canandaigua
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2015

The previous hotel, Rochester Plaza, has been hosting our association's annual Christmas party for years - it's a BIG group, but they somehow always managed to provide good food (better than average buffet, with plenty of options for those of us who don't eat red meat), and usually more than enough for the several hundred guests. The Holiday Inn bought... More 

Helpful?
Thank keerasel
Joanne G, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your candid review. The management and staff sincerely apologize that your recent event did not meet your expectations. We have addressed the issues and have put corrective actions in place regarding our staff, cooks, and other personnel to ensure these issues don't happen again. Not meeting Holiday Inn standards is not acceptable to us and therefore we... More 

Lewiston, NY
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2015

I have been following this hotel since it was built in the 80's. It was really a jewel. Then it seemed to fall on hard times, going through many different managers. It's recent reincarnation as a Holiday Inn is certainly an improvement. Even though is has gone through a renovation, there is still a feeling of things being unfinished. The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank larn796
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this review

Dear larn796, Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you have chosen our hotel as your accommodation preference and you liked the comfortable rooms. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and... More 

Bossier City, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2015

I spent 25 days at this hotel in November and the hotel was very nice. The staff was very friendly and the shuttle service to the hotel was excellent. The steak at the restaurant was cooked to perfection and the taco salad excellent. The location of the hotel was great!! The view from my room overlooked the river and downtown.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tony M
Joanne G, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Tony M. Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to enjoy the river room and our poolside rooms! We hope you will visit us again so we may continue to exceed your expectations! Sincerely, Joanne G Director of Sales More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2015 via mobile

The reviews had me nervous, but this is a nice hotel. Not sure what it looked like before the renovation, but the room was immaculate and well appointed. The common areas were attractive and the business resources were top notch. The staff was excellent and accommodating. I was in town for one night on business and the hotel was close... More 

Helpful?
Thank David G
Joanne G, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. As we continue to finalize our renovations, we look forward to having you back in the future so we can exceed your expectations. Warm regards, Joanne G. Director... More 

Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2015

I stayed here for two nights when in Rochester for work. Though the hotel had been recently renovated, it was just ok. It did feel fairly clean. However, I arrived on a Friday afternoon and left on Sunday, and one of the two elevators was out of order my entire stay. For a large hotel, it seems as if elevator... More 

Helpful?
Thank kerry p
Joanne G, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Kerry P, Thank you for your candid review. We apologize that your recent stay did not meet expectations. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. We are in the process of getting the elevator replace and waiting for the the part to be installed from our... More 

:�gD��#
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2015

our girls hockey team traveled down to Rochester from Durham region we stayed at this hotel . They were great . not only to our girls but also to the parents making sure we were having a good time . we couldnt asked for a better place to stay . Everybody enjoyed the road trip we cant wait to go... More 

Helpful?
Thank scottbK6214BE
Joanne G, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. We look forward to hosting your team again next year! Sincerely, Joanne G Director of Sales More 

Haddonfield, New Jersey
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2015

I am currently staying at this hotel and have been freezing most of the time. It's 52 degrees outside, and the only way we've been able to keep the room temp at 72 is to keep the drapes closed and all of the lights on. Was going to ask for a different room, but the maid said that all the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jan H
Joanne G, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Jan H. We have been trying to contact you regarding your room temperature. Please contact our front desk and ask to speak to the Director of Sales and please accept our sincerest apologies for the disturbance you have experienced during your stay due to the room conditions. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We value your... More 

stratford, ontario
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2015 via mobile

Where to start. 1st night guy blowing leaves on the front yard at 720am. 2nd night fire alarm goes off at 6am. I stayed 3 nights and my keys did not work on two occasions and I had to go get new keys. Only one elevator working for he entire hotel and it was sold out. Terrible beds, pillows and... More 

Helpful?
Thank fromOntarioCanada
Joanne G, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this review

Dear OntarioCanada, Thank you for your candid review. We apologize that your recent stay did not meet expectations. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. Our landscaper was informed to not start work prior to 8am so we do apologize for his early start ion that morning.... More 

New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2015

Stayed at the hotel for one night while in town for a wedding -- pretty sure we won't be back. Lots of little problems added up to a very negative impression. Among the big ones: - Desk lamp wouldn't turn on until we unplugged the microwave, which was plugged into the same power strip, along with a mini fridge. Seemed... More 

Helpful?
Thank CJ8484
Joanne G, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Rochester Downtown, responded to this review

Dear CJ8484. Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the disturbance you have experienced during your stay due to the room conditions. We were able to determine which room you had and have already corrected the issues that you experience in your room and with the elevator. We... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Rochester
Hyatt Regency Rochester
#16 of 31 in Rochester
4.0 of 5 stars 671 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Rochester Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Strathallan - a DoubleTree by Hilton
1.0 mi away
The East Avenue Inn & Suites
The East Avenue Inn & Suites
#11 of 31 in Rochester
4.0 of 5 stars 196 reviews
0.6 mi away
Inn On Broadway
Inn On Broadway
#15 of 31 in Rochester
4.5 of 5 stars 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay