We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fountain View Motel

3607 US 20, Richfield Springs, NY 13439
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Fountain View Motel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

30 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Nashville
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

So, the furnishings are "vintage" and the TV not quite the latest model. So what! If you are looking for a CLEAN, INEXPENSIVE FAMILY-OWNED MOTEL, then Fountain View is a great choice in the middle of Baseball Hall of Fame tourist season. And, in off season, it is the best recommendation in the area as far as right on U.S.... More 

Helpful?
Thank TheLavieris
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
223 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2015 via mobile

Just dealing with the man on duty when I called for a room made me not even think about staying here. It was cheaper than other places in town but kindness goes a long ways. Just think if you are inconveniencing them over the phone just imagine how your stay will be. I highly recommend you stay elsewhere.

Helpful?
1 Thank robert f
FountainView1, Owner at Fountain View Motel, responded to this review

I was checking-in a guest when this reviewer called. Since we were almost finished, I asked the caller if I could put him on hold for a second but he said, "No." Okay, I was stuck. I answered the caller's many questions as politely as I could while the guest I was tending to was starting to do the "pee-pee... More 

Woodstock, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2015

Room was old and musty smelling! No heat. Hot water was verrry slow and then didn't last but 2 mins. The guy running the place was very unfriendly. Worst motel experience ever! Would never stay here again. Do yourself a favor and find somewhere else to stay.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry S
FountainView1, Owner at Fountain View Motel, responded to this review

Regarding the condition of the room, this guest inspected it thoroughly before checking-in and found no problem with it. This was during our "shoulder season" and if he preferred a different room or just wanted to stay elsewhere, no worries. He wanted to stay and took that room. If you have any problems, lose your key, trip the circuit breaker,... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2015 via mobile

This is an ideal place to stay if you're going to visit Cooperstown. It has a nice size room, fridge, and microwave. I also appreciated the $.60 sodas provided in the fridge as needed. I rated the full five stars because I inadvertently left my treasured white noise machine behind and Ed kindly returned it to me in just a... More 

Helpful?
Thank TravelinGirrrl
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2015

We have had many satisfying visits to this motel over the years-clean rooms, comfy beds, great value. Sitting on the porch in the evening and watching the storm move through, or watching the day break in the morning just adds to our relaxation. The proprietor is always so accommodating to us: "May we come early just to drop off our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bea N
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2015

While planning a quick overnight road trip in the summer in the Cooperstown area, many boutique motels and chain hotels are extremely pricy during the tourist season. Fountain View Motel is just a short, 20-minute drive to downtown Cooperstown and the price was just right. The outside is cute, rooms are a bit outdated --but it's cozy and fun for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Taylor R
Lake George, New York
Level Contributor
93 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2015 via mobile

My first impression was the man checking us in had no personality...contrary to other reviews posted here. The fountain across the street no longer looks like a fountain, the water gushed from the side. Our room was clean, the bathroom had been updated. The mattress was dreadfully uncomfortable. The wireless was spotty.so, having said all that, for 1 night it... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank juri62
Parsippany, New Jersey
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

My wife and I, while looking for a place to stay while we were visiting Cooperstown, NY. discovered this location on TripAdvisor. This is a 16 room, 60's/70's era motel that is dated but the price for the stay was very reasonable. It is very clean and the rooms are a great size. The 60Cent sodas in the in-room fridge... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hans h
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

When ever I am back in Richfield Springs area and there is space available I like staying at this place. Its a classic place to stay, good sized rooms, and a very friendly owner and operator. Ed is very helpful.

Helpful?
Thank Brian H
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2015

Years ago I would drive by the Fountain View at night and see the fountain with colored lights and the artifical swans and ask my father if we could stay there sometime. It looked so beautiful and peaceful. I have had the opportunity to stay many times since and find it a wonderful reminder of past days - even the... More 

Helpful?
Thank preceptjackie78
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richfield Springs
1.5 mi away
The Lake House
The Lake House
#3 of 4 in Richfield Springs
3.5 of 5 stars 131 reviews
13.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
13.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cooperstown Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
The Cooper Inn
The Cooper Inn
#2 of 17 in Cooperstown
4.5 of 5 stars 164 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Village Motel
The Village Motel
#1 of 4 in Richfield Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 28 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Otesaga Resort Hotel
The Otesaga Resort Hotel
#3 of 17 in Cooperstown
4.5 of 5 stars 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay