We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Red Hook B&Bs / inns

Hearthstone Motel

Save Saved
You added Hearthstone Motel to your Saves list
7958 Albany Post Rd, Red Hook, NY 12571-2159
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (16)
  • Photos (3)
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (3)
  • Location
  • More
Hearthstone Motel
Ranked #4 of 4 Red Hook B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Red Hook
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

16 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    0
    1
    2
    8
See reviews for
8
2
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

The motel is in a very scenic location and the service was great. Looking out the window is a great scene looking at the Catskill Mountains. The service was great and they were very nice and friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
papakim
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

My family stayed at Hearthstone Hotel while visiting Bard College. The experience was in a word - terrible. There were no signs of renovation beyond fresh paint on the cinder block walls. The furnishings were campy and dishelved; the bathroom door was so hard to open my son was "stuck" inside for 10 minutes. After reading the TA reviews I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul77_11, Owner at Hearthstone Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We value your business and wish to please every customer. While we are unsure as to what part of our TA responses are displeasing to you, we do wish to actually take the time to respond directly to your concerns. Generic responses are not helpful to either party nor our future customers as many reading... More

Travelers are raving about these Red Hook hotels

Clichy, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

When we arrived, we weren't sure that the hotel was even open as there was only one car in the driveway and no one at the front desk, when the management finally showed up, they turned out to be neither courteous nor hospitable. The rooms are that of a typical substandard American motel: cheap and not terribly clean. Given the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul77_11, Owner at Hearthstone Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our business. We value your opinion and wish to please every customer. When you stayed with us in the Fall, many of our customers are out apple picking, touring wineries, or admiring the local historic sites which is why you may not have seen too many cars in our lot. Customer service is our top priority... More

Plattsburgh, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Aweful!! I can do out-dated but this was beyond belief. Was told on the phone that only the most expensive "suite" was available.(room #8) The room was 139.00 plus 16.85 tax. There was only one other car in the parking lot all night long. Huge sign that said WiFi When I was told that I had to stand in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Manassas, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The rooms should look like the pictures. It is a dump. If I was going to spend any amount of time in the motel, I would have asked for a total refund. It smelled like smoke. Internest access was horrible and the place was filthy and dusty. It is certainly not worth $99.00 a night. Close the place up and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Paul77_11, Owner at Hearthstone Motel, responded to this review

While we try our hardest to please all of our customers, we cannot please those who come here to attend a funeral but get kicked out of the reception due to their attitude, like this customer was. We live in a small town and know the family, who did not want her around because they have had many problems with... More

local
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed here for just one January night as part of a family gathering in the area. We had three rooms. Everything was clean and it looks like they are trying to fix things up. We had the same toilet paper problem reported by others but the heat and water worked just fine. The driveway is a mess. The beds... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Paul77_11, Owner at Hearthstone Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad your stay was acceptable. We hope you will stay with us in the future as we have made many changes since you were here. More

Tampa, FL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We were lured to this motel by reviews posted here. The stay was late September and although cold weather came early, they would not turn on the heat. Very dated furnishings and linens. It was a sad environment. I would not recommend that you stay here unless you are desparate.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul77_11, Owner at Hearthstone Motel, responded to this review

Yes, the weather did drop down to 75 degrees which maybe someone from Florida would find to be a "cold" temperature. However we explained to her that since it was still the summer we would need to have a plumber come in to turn the whole system on (something we normally only do in the Fall/Winter) and since it was... More

Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

The only reason to stay here is that there aren't many alternatives in Red Hook. Years of deferred maintenance shows at every turn. Rooms are superficially clean, but don't look in corners or window sills (yuck!). Housekeeping neglected to provide any toilet paper (empty cardboard roll in the holder when we checked in). Axle-breaking potholes in the driveway that had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Philmont, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We had a great time staying at the Hearthstone and would definitely come back! The owner was very accomodating and the room was expecially clean. Fairly priced and worth every penny. Our family had come up to visit with relatives and were very impressed, especially with the location and the views of the Catskill mountains. I would 100% recommend the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul77_11, Owner at Hearthstone Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We have enjoyed having you as a guest for the last 3 years and am awaiting your arrival again this summer. More

Cambridge, MA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

We love it here. Our third trip to attend Bard graduation. We will return even after our daughter has graduated. If you want Holiday Inn, go to Kingston. If you want clean, safe, roomy logding in the 55 mph tradition of the Taconic go to the Hearthstone Motel, family owned and operated, surrounded by nature, on a rise overlooking an... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Paul77_11, Owner at Hearthstone Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your business and look forward to you staying with us again. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hearthstone Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hearthstone Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hearthstone Motel

Address: 7958 Albany Post Rd, Red Hook, NY 12571-2159
Location: United States > New York > Red Hook
Also Known As:
Hearthstone Hotel Red Hook

3 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hearthstone Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer