We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hearthstone Motel

7958 Albany Post Rd, Red Hook, NY 12571-2159
Hearthstone Motel
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    0
    1
    2
    8
See reviews for
8
2
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (17)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (6)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (4)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
New York City, New York
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

We stay here every year and are never disappointed. I bring my family so we can visit friends in the area and take in some history. The local farmers market down the road is also part of the reason why we come! The motel is located within a 5 minutes drive from every place we visit. The beds are probably... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

I see that there are almost all negative reviews here, and I should have checked this site before staying at the Hearthstone. The rooms were filthy, and the owners were extremely surly about the fact that we were arriving after 9:00 at night. We were traveling with dogs for a sheepdog trial, and when one of the dogs barked a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Paul77_11, Owner at Hearthstone Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review. We have thoroughly enjoyed reading it! Now, of course, we would love to address all your concerns but will start with your reference to how we respond to customers on TA. We are thankful for all our customers and aim to please each and every one. Unfortunately, in life (and especially as a small,... More 

Travelers are raving about these Red Hook hotels

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

The motel is in a very scenic location and the service was great. Looking out the window is a great scene looking at the Catskill Mountains. The service was great and they were very nice and friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Clichy, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

When we arrived, we weren't sure that the hotel was even open as there was only one car in the driveway and no one at the front desk, when the management finally showed up, they turned out to be neither courteous nor hospitable. The rooms are that of a typical substandard American motel: cheap and not terribly clean. Given the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Paul77_11, Owner at Hearthstone Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our business. We value your opinion and wish to please every customer. When you stayed with us in the Fall, many of our customers are out apple picking, touring wineries, or admiring the local historic sites which is why you may not have seen too many cars in our lot. Customer service is our top priority... More 

Plattsburgh, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Aweful!! I can do out-dated but this was beyond belief. Was told on the phone that only the most expensive "suite" was available.(room #8) The room was 139.00 plus 16.85 tax. There was only one other car in the parking lot all night long. Huge sign that said WiFi When I was told that I had to stand in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Central Florida, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The rooms should look like the pictures. It is a dump. If I was going to spend any amount of time in the motel, I would have asked for a total refund. It smelled like smoke. Internest access was horrible and the place was filthy and dusty. It is certainly not worth $99.00 a night. Close the place up and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Paul77_11, Owner at Hearthstone Motel, responded to this review

While we try our hardest to please all of our customers, we cannot please those who come here to attend a funeral but get kicked out of the reception due to their attitude, like this customer was. We live in a small town and know the family, who did not want her around because they have had many problems with... More 

local
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed here for just one January night as part of a family gathering in the area. We had three rooms. Everything was clean and it looks like they are trying to fix things up. We had the same toilet paper problem reported by others but the heat and water worked just fine. The driveway is a mess. The beds... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Paul77_11, Owner at Hearthstone Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad your stay was acceptable. We hope you will stay with us in the future as we have made many changes since you were here. More 

Tampa, FL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We were lured to this motel by reviews posted here. The stay was late September and although cold weather came early, they would not turn on the heat. Very dated furnishings and linens. It was a sad environment. I would not recommend that you stay here unless you are desparate.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul77_11, Owner at Hearthstone Motel, responded to this review

Yes, the weather did drop down to 75 degrees which maybe someone from Florida would find to be a "cold" temperature. However we explained to her that since it was still the summer we would need to have a plumber come in to turn the whole system on (something we normally only do in the Fall/Winter) and since it was... More 

Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

The only reason to stay here is that there aren't many alternatives in Red Hook. Years of deferred maintenance shows at every turn. Rooms are superficially clean, but don't look in corners or window sills (yuck!). Housekeeping neglected to provide any toilet paper (empty cardboard roll in the holder when we checked in). Axle-breaking potholes in the driveway that had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Philmont, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We had a great time staying at the Hearthstone and would definitely come back! The owner was very accomodating and the room was expecially clean. Fairly priced and worth every penny. Our family had come up to visit with relatives and were very impressed, especially with the location and the views of the Catskill mountains. I would 100% recommend the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul77_11, Owner at Hearthstone Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We have enjoyed having you as a guest for the last 3 years and am awaiting your arrival again this summer. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

4 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities